We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good deal in Manhattan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Warwick New York Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Warwick New York Hotel to your Saves list
Warwick New York Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #77 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A good deal in Manhattan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

I hesitated between average and very good because of the noise which happens to be a problem in NYC regardless of sound proof windows. But you do not need to hesitate to stay at the Warwick if you need a pleasant stay in New York. The location is super!!! Just in front of the MOMA (which has a free admission on Fridays afternoon). And the architecture of the Hotel is very European and refined. I did not have time to dine at the restaurant which apparently has a very good reputation. As for the room, it was comfortable and big. I did not like the bathroom though which had not real bathtub (although it was presented to me like one). The hotel staff was very efficient and responded quickly to my demands. Doorman always smiling, what else can you ask?

The rooms on the 6th Avenue are nicer than the ones in front of the elevators. However these rooms can be noisier. Had to change from the 8th floor because of the noise. The room in a higher floor was much better when it regards street noise at night.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us recently and for taking the time to provide your feedback. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,257
    851
    221
    83
    51
See reviews for
587
833
98
350
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Warwick is a very good hotel in Midtown. 54th seems to be in the centre of the universe, I mean Manhattan....but isn't it the same? Not so big, clean with quite big rooms (take plus option). The staff are helpful and professional. The breakfast place is mervelous - the murals are so great. However the choice for breakfast not so big. Like this hotel very much and definitely p when asked I could give my reccomendation. Hope to say again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you so much for writing about your recent stay with us and for recommending us to others. We were very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and wish to thank you for having chosen The Warwick. Please come and stay with us again in the future.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I booked my room through American Express Travel using my reward points. When we arrived, the front desk was very efficient and polite. Told us the room would be ready in an hour, but we could put our bags in their storage room. So, we went for a walk.

When we returned, we received our room key and the concierge brought our luggage to our room.

The room was clean, nice fluffy, soft queen beds. Fabulous pillows. Nice decor. We had a 3rd floor room towards the corner facing the street.

Our room was not as large as I thought it should be for the price, but after all, it is location location location. We were hardly indoors anyway so the room was perfect for our needs.

Easy walk to Times Square, 5th Ave, Rockafeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, etc.

Check out was easy, except they almost charged us for a beverage out of the refrigerator because I was taking stuff out and moved it around. I told her I didn't drink anything and what I had done and she didn't charge me.

Overall, our experience was very pleasant and smooth.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us recently and for writing about your positive experience. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Beautiful, spacious rooms. We stayed for a few nights with some friends and were truly impressed by the rooms. The staff at the hotel were top-notch, helpful and very friendly, Joanna in particular. Location is great and was close to everywhere we needed to be.

The minibar was impeccably stocked with good stuff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review following your stay from this past April. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

My wife had booked a twin bedded room for herself & our teen age daughter for a 3 night stay, first visit to New York. When they arrived the check in staff advised that none were available saying 'Oh we're not bound to adhere to these type of bookings' & the only solutions on offer were:- a double bed and a 'roll away' bed at $30 extra per night or sleep in same bed. The lady checking in, in front of my wife, had asked/booked a twin bedded room & was given same story by the check in girl 'Oh we're not bound to, none available etc etc'. No attempt was made by the check in staff to either see if any twin bed rooms were actually free or to try and match up the two guest's requests and then swop rooms. The staff in this Hotel have forgotten the fundamental principle 'that the Customer comes first'. The air con in the room only had an on/off control with result being very noisy if left on or the room became stifling hot - plus side....room was good size. Issues with the toilet not flushing were reported to maintenance.
After a lengthy debate in the check-in area the $30 was eventually waived but not a nice first time welcome to NY. My wife completed a feedback review sent to her by the Hotel Management a few days later but so far....no response from them!

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you very much for having chosen The Warwick for your recent first time visit to New York. I am terribly sorry that we were not able to provide you with the bedding set up you desired when you arrived. Our entire inventory of rooms is subject to the daily fluctuations of guests arriving and departing as reserved and scheduled and sometimes these fluctuations result in our inability to honor requested room types. Should you decide to give us another try when you plan your second visit to New York, please do not hesitate to contact me directly so that I can personally handle your reservations.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed for one night for a quick weekend trip to New York to see Jersey Boys. It was a quick walk to the theater - just a few blocks. The staff was very pleasant upon arrival and departure. Everyone was quick to lend a hand if needed. The room was spacious and nicely decorated. Breakfast, although delicious, was extremely pricey - $31 per person for the buffet. I think this is high - even for New York! We were able to store our luggage after checkout, while we toured the City for a few hours. Overall, it was a good experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you very much for having chosen The Warwick as your hotel in New York when you recently visited Manhattan. We were glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

An oasis of peace and calm on entering, friendly and helpful staff, and a nice old-style elegance help to form a good initial impression. We had a spacious room, very adequate for a family stay, and quiet at night, with the bonus of a decent view down 6th Avenue. Jog to Central Park in the morning, easy walking to mid-town, especially MoMA, meant this was a great location to stay. We didnt eat in (too busy!) and had pretty good breakfasts at Fluffy's (54th -55th & 7th Ave), just a short walk away past the London (see which pop group are staying today).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you very much for your recent visit and for posting your feedback. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us we hope to see you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Warwick New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick New York Hotel

Address: 65 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in New York City
#51 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#57 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#79 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Warwick New York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic 426 room Warwick New York Hotel is located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Only steps away from must see attractions including 5th Avenue shopping, the Museum of Modern Art, Broadway, Central Park, Carnegie Hall and Rockefeller Center. The hotel and its staff provide an oasis of quiet luxury for Business and Leisure travellers alike in the heart of the greatest city in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Jetsetter, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Warwick New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Hotel New York City
New York City Warwick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warwick New York Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.