We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Warwick New York Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Warwick New York Hotel to your Saves list
Warwick New York Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast & internet
Ranked #74 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at the Warwick. The staff was very nice and the room was clean, roomy (as far as NYC rooms go, especially!), and well appointed. Can't beat the location as well. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: If you are there for a special occasion, let them know in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us recently, for posting your review and for stating that you will not only return but also recommend us as the hotel of choice in New York City. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,209
    833
    213
    82
    49
See reviews for
562
805
95
345
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

This was my second time staying at the Warwick with my daughter. The location really cannot be beat: close to theaters, shopping, Rockefeller Center, Central Park and more. We stayed in a large room which, unlike our room last year which faced a brick wall, had a view of Sixth Avenue. My only complaint about the room (which seems common here) is the bathroom size. Our room was fairly enormous for New York standards and we would never have noticed a few square feet taken away from it and allocated to the bathroom. The bathroom was comically small and I was happy my daughter is too young to need to spend any time primping yet! In defense of the bathroom - it was spotlessly clean and everything was in great working order.

The staff was amazing from our arrival until well after checkout when we came to retrieve the luggage we had stored with them. They even sent up a plate of chocolate dipped strawberries for my daughter's special day. Little touches such as those will keep us coming back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us again recently. We were very happy to hear that you had another enjoyable visit and that you will be coming back again in the future. We look forward to seeing you again then.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Warwick to have a mother daughter weekend, for a show, shopping and art, and this jewel of a hotel provided a memorable experience. The decor of not only the room, but the entire hotel, was elegant and well appointed. We enjoyed the color scheme, the lighting fixtures throughout the hotel, pictures of the hotel's historical past, as well as, the size of the room/bathroom. The staff, especially Joseph, was accommodating with both early and late check out. As far as location goes, it met all of our needs (a few blocks to Central Park, shopping, MoMA, good delis). The only drawback was that the thermostat was set a bit warm and we either didn't know how to adjust it or adjusting wasn't an option.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you very much for selecting The Warwick as your hotel of choice for your recent mother/daughter get away. We were very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. We are making corrections to our heating system to make temperature regulation easier to accomplish.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Across the street from the MOMA, Central Park and Fifth Ave. just a few blocks away, this hotel offers one of the best locations in NYC. Travelled with wife and kid, the room was decent size, but it did not have a nice view. The lobby is kind of small, but the second floor lounge area is large and very chic, so I recommend to go up and enjoy a bit for a relaxing lounge time. The old Hollywood glamour and history is a nice plus to experience at this hotel. The staff was always professional and attentive. I even had to extend our visit by a couple of days and they were very serviceable with my request despite the fact that they were busy and I had booked on-line with a consolidator. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay last August, we certainly appreciate it. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

From check-in to check-out, I thoroughly enjoyed my one night stay at this hotel. Arriving late in the evening, myself and a colleague were warmly greeted by the doorman and within a matter of minutes, with key in hand, I rode the vintage-looking elevator to my room on the 21st floor. I had booked an internet rate room and expecting a rather run-of-the-mill, smallish room, I was super-pleasantly surprised by its large size, the overall level of furnishings, and the overall décor. Plus – a balcony with a small table and two chairs!! Unfortunately, the 18 degree outside temp was not inviting for morning coffee, but the view of the nearby buildings and traffic on the street was all New York to me.
From the front desk receptionists, to the bell-people and the barman in the adjoining bar, everyone was very pleasant, helpful and attentive. Exemplary service!
Add a great location, quiet ambience in the public areas, interesting photos of celebrity guests adorning the walls - I will definitely book this hotel for a future business or pleasure trip to New York City.

Room Tip: Room 2115 has a balcony and is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you very much for the review of your recent short stay with us. Too bad the weather wasn't more conducive to taking advantage of the balcony, maybe next time... We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Close to everything, (shopping wise) this hotel was so central and quiet at the same time. Walking distance to all the pretty stores and to some attractions. The staff was ok, the concierge was a little snobby (or looked and behaved like that). The rooms were clean, not tiny, quiet, a little warm (despite being october/november). We stayed here 4 nights and had no problem. Everything worked.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you very much for having stayed with us recently. We were very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our central location. I have shared your comments with my concierge staff and thank you for your observations. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Business/pleasure trip. We got to our room and after getting settled there was a problem, that I don't feel it's fair to post, but we were concerned that a "room cleaning" would not cut it. There was also a "makeup mirror", with had no light bulb in it. If you moved it from the bottom, you would have placed your finger in the empty socket. The Mgr., moved us to a bigger room. This room had some problems too. Safe would not operate, no batteries. The thermostat was also flashing, low battery. Took about 1 1/2 hours to get a refrig, that we ordered when we checked in. Went to get ice for our cooler and had to go 2 floors to get it, ice machine broken. Staff was friendly. Had a business hiccup, so we needed a later check-out, which they did accommodate us. When we arrived to pick up our car, it took about 45 minutes. Carlos the bellhop was very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Check your room, thoroughly. Under the bed, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us and especially for taking the time to share your feedback, as painful as it was to read about the deficiencies you encountered. I wish to apologize to you for this fact; you should have been provided with a perfect room, not one that needed so many items corrected. When you decide to stay with us again in the future, would you please let me know? This way I can prevent a similar situation from happening.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Warwick New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick New York Hotel

Address: 65 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#56 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#62 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Warwick New York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic 426 room Warwick New York Hotel is located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Only steps away from must see attractions including 5th Avenue shopping, the Museum of Modern Art, Broadway, Central Park, Carnegie Hall and Rockefeller Center. The hotel and its staff provide an oasis of quiet luxury for Business and Leisure travellers alike in the heart of the greatest city in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Warwick New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Hotel New York City
New York City Warwick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warwick New York Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.