We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and memorable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Warwick New York Hotel

Save Saved
You added Warwick New York Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Warwick New York Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 453 Hotels in New York City
1 review
“Elegant and memorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Warwick to have a mother daughter weekend, for a show, shopping and art, and this jewel of a hotel provided a memorable experience. The decor of not only the room, but the entire hotel, was elegant and well appointed. We enjoyed the color scheme, the lighting fixtures throughout the hotel, pictures of the hotel's historical past, as well as, the size of the room/bathroom. The staff, especially Joseph, was accommodating with both early and late check out. As far as location goes, it met all of our needs (a few blocks to Central Park, shopping, MoMA, good delis). The only drawback was that the thermostat was set a bit warm and we either didn't know how to adjust it or adjusting wasn't an option.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you very much for selecting The Warwick as your hotel of choice for your recent mother/daughter get away. We were very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. We are making corrections to our heating system to make temperature regulation easier to accomplish.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,121
    792
    195
    77
    48
See reviews for
537
745
88
319
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Across the street from the MOMA, Central Park and Fifth Ave. just a few blocks away, this hotel offers one of the best locations in NYC. Travelled with wife and kid, the room was decent size, but it did not have a nice view. The lobby is kind of small, but the second floor lounge area is large and very chic, so I recommend to go up and enjoy a bit for a relaxing lounge time. The old Hollywood glamour and history is a nice plus to experience at this hotel. The staff was always professional and attentive. I even had to extend our visit by a couple of days and they were very serviceable with my request despite the fact that they were busy and I had booked on-line with a consolidator. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay last August, we certainly appreciate it. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

From check-in to check-out, I thoroughly enjoyed my one night stay at this hotel. Arriving late in the evening, myself and a colleague were warmly greeted by the doorman and within a matter of minutes, with key in hand, I rode the vintage-looking elevator to my room on the 21st floor. I had booked an internet rate room and expecting a rather run-of-the-mill, smallish room, I was super-pleasantly surprised by its large size, the overall level of furnishings, and the overall décor. Plus – a balcony with a small table and two chairs!! Unfortunately, the 18 degree outside temp was not inviting for morning coffee, but the view of the nearby buildings and traffic on the street was all New York to me.
From the front desk receptionists, to the bell-people and the barman in the adjoining bar, everyone was very pleasant, helpful and attentive. Exemplary service!
Add a great location, quiet ambience in the public areas, interesting photos of celebrity guests adorning the walls - I will definitely book this hotel for a future business or pleasure trip to New York City.

Room Tip: Room 2115 has a balcony and is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you very much for the review of your recent short stay with us. Too bad the weather wasn't more conducive to taking advantage of the balcony, maybe next time... We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Close to everything, (shopping wise) this hotel was so central and quiet at the same time. Walking distance to all the pretty stores and to some attractions. The staff was ok, the concierge was a little snobby (or looked and behaved like that). The rooms were clean, not tiny, quiet, a little warm (despite being october/november). We stayed here 4 nights and had no problem. Everything worked.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you very much for having stayed with us recently. We were very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our central location. I have shared your comments with my concierge staff and thank you for your observations. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Business/pleasure trip. We got to our room and after getting settled there was a problem, that I don't feel it's fair to post, but we were concerned that a "room cleaning" would not cut it. There was also a "makeup mirror", with had no light bulb in it. If you moved it from the bottom, you would have placed your finger in the empty socket. The Mgr., moved us to a bigger room. This room had some problems too. Safe would not operate, no batteries. The thermostat was also flashing, low battery. Took about 1 1/2 hours to get a refrig, that we ordered when we checked in. Went to get ice for our cooler and had to go 2 floors to get it, ice machine broken. Staff was friendly. Had a business hiccup, so we needed a later check-out, which they did accommodate us. When we arrived to pick up our car, it took about 45 minutes. Carlos the bellhop was very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Check your room, thoroughly. Under the bed, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us and especially for taking the time to share your feedback, as painful as it was to read about the deficiencies you encountered. I wish to apologize to you for this fact; you should have been provided with a perfect room, not one that needed so many items corrected. When you decide to stay with us again in the future, would you please let me know? This way I can prevent a similar situation from happening.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This our go-to hotel when staying in NY city. It's close to all the action in midtown within walking distance of Time Square and the theater district. The staff is always helpful and friendly. The building/rooms have a retro, roaring '20s feel. While not having the amenities that some high-end hotels have, the atmosphere and staff really make up for it. If you can afford it (though not as expensive as you'll find at most NY hotels), stay in one of their corner suites, they are roomy with a wonderful, large living room. When not busy, they offer some great deals on suite upgrades, we only paid an extra $132 for the upgrade. The standard rooms are a little small but this seems to be common with older NY hotels. They are nice however, with comfortable beds. My only ding with the suite was that the bathrooms are a little tight.

Room Tip: If you can afford it get the corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us recently and for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We are very happy that you enjoyed our hotel and all it has to offer and we look forward to your return in the near future.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I have reviewed this hotel about two years ago--but I cannot resist from once again writing to thank the staff and management of this hotel for offering such a wonderful place to stay in New York.The building is historic and beautiful with a perfect location very close to Central Park and Columbus Circle as well as Fifth Avenue shops, Radio City Music Hall, and so much more. Comfortable and elegant with a refined and quiet feel in the midst of the city. The bar is a great place to join friends and relax, and the breakfast room offers an outstanding buffet as well as menu items. The very best feature,however, is the staff--quiet and efficient and so helpful with all of our needs. We were made so comfortable with beautiful rooms for ourselves as well as our daughter traveling with her husband and one month old baby. I highly recommend this hotel and hope to stay here again in the near future.It feels like a safe and quiet haven in the midst of this exciting city.

Room Tip: Upgrades are sometimes available--well worth it to have a room with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you very much for posting another review of our hotel, following your most recent stay with us, and thank you for recommending us to others as the place to stay in Manhattan. We appreciate your patronage and enthusiasm and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Warwick New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick New York Hotel

Address: 65 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#54 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#69 Family Hotel in New York City
#73 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Warwick New York Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic 426 room Warwick New York Hotel is located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Only steps away from must see attractions including 5th Avenue shopping, the Museum of Modern Art, Broadway, Central Park, Carnegie Hall and Rockefeller Center. The hotel and its staff provide an oasis of quiet luxury for Business and Leisure travellers alike in the heart of the greatest city in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Warwick New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Hotel New York City
New York City Warwick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warwick New York Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.