We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Warwick New York Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Warwick New York Hotel to your Saves list
Warwick New York Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #83 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I traveled to the Warwick with my 8-year old daughter for her first trip to NYC. The hotel staff made her feel very special upon check-in. The room was ready for us before the posted 3 pm check-in time which was greatly appreciated. The staff provided wonderful recommendations on appropriate dining options based on our specific cravings (Chinese one night, Italian another). Breakfast in-room was expensive but delicious, on-time and delivered with a smile. We would definitely return based on our experience with the staff and the wonderful location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,365
    905
    236
    84
    54
See reviews for
627
901
108
381
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and I LOVED IT!
The bed was really comfortable, the room was spotless and the whole "vibe" of the hotel is just awesome. So much history here!

The only downside were the painfully slow elevators and the computer room.
I wanted to check my email once a day but the computer rooms were always full, so it was a little inconvenient. The WIFI was also pretty pricey, at $11.95 a day.

Overall a very cool experience though... and the location couldn't be better!

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, ct
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at the Warwick to take in some of NYC, even though we live nearby. I had forgotten how interesting this part of the city is. The hotel has traditional charm and outstanding service at the front desk. The rooms are spacious and quiet. I can be fussy, but I found the sheets comfortable and clean and the room entirely odor-free. Most rooms have great views of the Manhattan skyline. I found it curious there was no coffee machine in the room. We dined at the restaurant, Randolphs, as it was too cold to look for another restaurant, and the food was delicious.

Room Tip: Some rooms face 6th Avenue, and have spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The Warwick only gets better. I have been staying here for nearly 20 years whenever I travel to NY. Rooms are lovely, comfortable, and impeccably cleaned. The bed and linens are special. The place has some quirks--you have to get them to crack the window when the room temps get too warm, for example. But the staff don't know the word "no," and staying there is always like staying at a friend's very nice house.

Room Tip: Spring for the "premium" rooms. They're worth the modest difference in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The Warwick is a great hotel. The story is that William Randolph Hearst built the place for his mistress, Marion Davies. The decor is a bit art deco with lots of old time movie photos, mostly of Davies, with scenes of NYC thrown in for good measure. By NYC standards, the room is quite large, although the bathroom is average sized. The bed are comfy, the staff is attentive and accommodating, and the location is pretty good. The hotel bar was crowded, but we did go down during the typical happy hour, so I wasn't too surprised. Would recommend to anyone looking for exceptional service, a spacious, comfy room, and a convenient midtown location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pntr6875
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed here for our 40th Anniversary. We ordered a suite and they upgraded us to a corner suite and sent us Champagne and strawberries as a gift. It was a pleasant surprise and we were thrilled.
We found nothing wrong with this hotel. Everyone was nice and tried to make our stay as nice as possible.
The room was beautiful.
We would go back in a minute.

Room Tip: Book a package with breakfast included as the prices are on the higher side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Warwick was outstanding for for a three night stay for business. The room was surprisingly spacious with a great desk and a comfortable side chair. There were some signs of wear in the room, but it was spotlessly clean (a rarity for NYC) and the linens, bedding, and towels were fresh and clean.

The room was too warm even on the lowest thermostat setting during this February stay, but one of the windows was easy enough to open a small amount to balance out the temperature. I would have preferred being able to actually suppress the heat, but that's a small complaint overall.

We ate one meal during our stay in each of the two restaurants located within the hotel (Randolph's for dinner and Murals on 56th for breakfast). Both were pricey, but convenient with good food.

Many convenient stores and restaurants nearby including a small grocery store one block north and three Starbucks within a block in nearly every direction.

Room Tip: The rooms ending in 07 through 17 face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Warwick New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick New York Hotel

Address: 65 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#53 Family Hotel in New York City
#66 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#89 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Warwick New York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic 426 room Warwick New York Hotel is located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Only steps away from must see attractions including 5th Avenue shopping, the Museum of Modern Art, Broadway, Central Park, Carnegie Hall and Rockefeller Center. The hotel and its staff provide an oasis of quiet luxury for Business and Leisure travellers alike in the heart of the greatest city in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Warwick New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Hotel New York City
New York City Warwick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warwick New York Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.