We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Time

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Time to your Saves list
The Time
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   224 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Snack and Save
Ranked #342 of 464 Hotels in New York City
A TripAdvisor Member
“Interesting stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

The location of the hotel is fantastic walking distance for theatres, subway, times square & central park.

It is a 2 elevator hotel to get to your room and if on a lower level it is VERY loud. The rooms are generous size for NYC but when paying over $AUD300 per night you expect more than a 3 star hotel.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    544
    303
    154
    111
See reviews for
212
514
103
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My favorite thing about Time Hotel is that besides it being right in the middle of Times Square- the decor's of the room is really cool- they're color coded in yellow, blue and red. I had a blue room. The room beyond the color was okay however- the bed spread was a bit tattered. The bathroom was really small- especially the sink area. I had a minor problem with one staff person's rude attitude during check in when my partner arrived to meet me- but the next day- had a really great staff person accommodate me and my partner with free drinks at the bar. I would not return here mainly due to the cost - the value was way steep to be a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel was under construction while we were there. Bypassed the elevator most of the time as waiting times were ultra slow due to construction. The worst thing was the noise at night. The windows are single glazed, so the noise at night is horrendous, especially the garbage collection in the early hours of the morning. Not a pleasant stay. On the plus side, the hotel is well located close to buses, the subway, Times Square and the theatre district

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hi stayed at this hotel from the 15th june until the 19th. Great central location, rooms not bad. A lot of construction work going on, couldn't use the elevators
Most of the time because of the work men using them. The worst part is that I had an expensive t shirt stolen while staying there. I didn't realise until I got to Vegas, and checked the (dirty) case.

Stayed June 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The time hotel was a lovely place to stay, the newly renovated rooms are great, it is close to Times Square and all your Broadway shows as well, would definitely recommend this hotel to people who want to see Broadway, or be near Times Square. The staff are very friendly and helpful as well.

Room Tip: The top floors are great, you can't hear any noise from the streets at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

stayed in this hotel one night. while the location was excellent there was building work going on. but not a problem. clean and comfortable good value. only problem some one put bathroom door lock wrong way round so if you pushed door shut it would open again lock on outside.

Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiya C, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Chris H,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our central Times Square location as well as our clean and comfortable rooms!

We hope to see you again once our renovations are complete! Please contact me directly with any future reservations, or if there is any other way that I can be of assistance.

Warmest Regards,

Leiya Cohen
Director of Front Office
lcohen@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
88 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's undergoing renovations &, even tho I had done my research for a hotel in the theater district, we knew we'd made a mistake the minute we walked in the door. While we didn't hear the construction, a blessing, there was plastic & dust everywhere giving a dirty appearance. I had meant to recheck before being locked in but life was too busy. On the trip to NYC, I found a rate at $100 less, with snack, for that night in this hotel on Trip Advisor. We mentioned it but, I believe, were given an upgrade to a suite instead of a price readjustment. We would rather have the rate lowered--this is not my 1st stay in NYC & this hotel is way overpriced for the condition of the place at this time!!! The pleasant staff & comfortable bed were the only redeeming factors.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiya C, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear MaJo D,

Thank you for sharing your candid feedback. As you mentioned in your review, our hotel is currently under renovation. We are making every effort to lessen the impact of this on our guests, and I truly apologize that your stay was disappointing due to the work being done. With regards to your rate, unfortunately, because you had booked through a 3rd party, we were not able to adjust it on our end. We had upgraded you to a suite because we felt that you might enjoy the extra space while you were here.

As our staff will remain the same, we would love the opportunity to welcome you back once our renovations are complete in September. Please feel free to reach out to me directly if there is any way that we can be of assistance in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Leiya Cohen
Director of Front Office
lcohen@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Time? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Time

Address: 224 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#186 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Time 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel located in the heart of Time Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Time reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Time Hotel New York City
Time New York City
Time Hotel New York City
Time Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Time, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.