We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick trip to NYC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Time

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Time to your Saves list
The Time
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   224 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Snack and Save
Ranked #338 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Stuarts Draft VA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quick trip to NYC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed at The Time on a quick trip to NYC. Picked for price and location. Good price, right off time square, close to the subway, and right next to our theater. Our room was small, but very comfortable. Had a delicious desert in the restaurant after our show. Overall a perfect fit for our needs.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    532
    293
    150
    111
See reviews for
207
494
104
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My friends and I stayed over night and had a amazing time. The hotel was beautiful and well kept. The room was just as nice. The room was quiet large and beautiful set up. All the workers were all very nice and and gave us many suggestions to do while in the city for our short stay. This was the prefect hotel to enjoy a night out with friends. I suggest everyone check out this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I absolutely enjoyed my stay here at The Time Hotel. It was extremely comfortable and spacious as well. I most definitely felt at home during my visit, both snacks and wine were included in with the purchase of the room which was a nice treat. Both rooms im the suite as well as the bathroom were very clean. I also loved the fact that the hotel was located in a decent spot in the popular center of the city. Whoever stays at this hotel will not be disappointed, this was an amazing and enjoyable stay!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

From the get go I was not impressed with this hotel at all. The hotel was being renovated when I was staying there and no facilities/area were available for us. Our room was not ready on arrival. The hallway leading to our room was filthy and had food on the floor. The room was dirty which I brought to the managers attention yett the matter was never looked into and rectified during my stay. It is very over priced and not worth the money.

The only positive about the hotel the doorman, he was very helpful and effieicient and the location. I have been to New York several times and this is the worst hotel I have stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I traveled with my husband to New York for vacation and to visit some friends. It was our first time visiting New York and we didn't know what to expect. We chose The Time because of its central location to all of the touristy attractions and the affordable price. We stayed for 4 nights last week.

Since the moment we arrived, the hotel staff was more than eager to offer us a helping hand or any advice about what to do in New York City. The front desk associates couldn't check us in early but they stored our bags and told us all of the best places to shop nearby.

We got a red room which we thought suited our romantic getaway. The bed was comfy and suited our needs. We had a view of the church across the street and saw all the hustle and bustle of Broadway but still slept soundly. We really just wanted to be out exploring the city. The concierge helped us with planning every excursion including a comedy show in the village, Book of Mormon Tickets, and a reservation at their restaurant Serafina. The rooms were cleaned well everyday.

We had an issue with our tv not working and it a technician came up and fixed it within minutes. The decor needed a bit of updating but we didn't mind.

The design was a pretty retro chic. We made ourselves at home in the lounge and enjoyed a game of pool. We heard that the hotel is being renovated and would like to see the results.

We had a great experience overall. The next time we come to New York we will definitely be coming to The Time!

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiya C, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Sandy M,

Thank you for staying with us at The Time Hotel, and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are honored that you chose The Time for your first visit to New York, and are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed both our prime Times Square location and our helpful staff.

We hope to see you again the next time you travel to NYC! Please feel free to reach out to me directly with any future reservations, or if there is any other way that I can be of assistance.

Warmest Regards,

Leiya Cohen
Director of Front Office
lcohen@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights recently. Room was very comfortable but we did miss having coffee and tea facilities in the room. This was our first visit to NYC so we don't know if "no coffee facilities" is standard or not.
Jack at reception was a complete delight whilst we checked in and even phoned the room a bit later to check we were happy before he went off shift.
All the staff were very pleasant and approachable and we felt very comfortable asking them for dining and drink recommendations.
This hotel is in a superb location very close to Times Square and only a few blocks away from Rockefeller Plaza.
The restaurant on the ground floor was very pleasant too.
The only criticism would be the lifts, on the last 2 days there were workman on some of the higher floors and the lifts were very slow as a result of this.
We would definitely book again.

Room Tip: It's in the city that never sleeps so don't expect a quiet night!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiya C, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Sian B,

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are delighted to hear that Guest Service Agent Jack took such good care of you. We have passed along your kind words, and he is truly appreciative of the recognition. In addition it sounds like you took full advantage of our central Times Square location as well as our restaurant Serafina.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Time on your next visit to New York! Please feel free to reach out to me directly with any future reservations.

Warmest Regards,

Leiya Cohen
Director of Front Office
lcohen@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Curragh, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

the hotel is in a great location for time square and the subway is nearby,we had a room at the back of the hotel so noise was not much of a problem but as it is New York sirens could be heard most of the time. The staff where very friendly and helpful,of all the staff the doormen had to be the best ever, pointing out a nearby store that had a nice coffee area with friendly staff and doing the haggling for us for the taxi back to JFK had to be the cheapest fare I ever paid from New York to JFK.
The down side was that the carpets through out the hotel are a bit worn and need replacement.
WiFi is free in the public areas and quite good, but has a charge in the rooms,

Room Tip: email the hotel before travel and look for a room on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiya C, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Dec60,

Thank you so much for your review. We're thrilled to hear that our doormen could be so helpful!

I hope that you will stay at the Time again on your next visit to New York. Please feel free to reach out to me directly if there is any way that I can be of assistance in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Leiya Cohen
Director of Front Office
lcohen@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Time? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Time

Address: 224 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#176 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Time 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel located in the heart of Time Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Time reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Time Hotel New York City
Time New York City
Time Hotel New York City
Time Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Time, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.