We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time Trip To New York” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Time

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added The Time to your Saves list
The Time
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   224 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #332 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Newcastle upon Tyne
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“First Time Trip To New York”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Got to this hotel early evening checked in first appearances were ok but soon went down hill. The bedroom was tiny the photos used on Internet are a bit like the rooms themselves but have been airbrushed or something. Beds are comfortable enough but there is hardly any where to put clothes some can be hung up but no drawers or cupboards. There were no tea or coffee facilities in the rooms which would have been nice to have. Twice we tried to get in the bar for a drink in the evening but could not get in as there was a private event on and we had to show our room key and they had to check if we were allowed in when we did get in the only chair available was broken on an other occasion we came back at 10.30pm and thought we would have one last drink before bed and the bar was closed completely. Also the carpets in our bedroom was threadbare in places and the bath was so small you can't stretch out in it. Overall holiday was great but hotel was a bit of a let down considering the cost and where it is placed in the city.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    490
    272
    141
    104
See reviews for
185
454
101
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Westwood, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I gave this hotel 1 point for location and I point for the good night sleep I got the comfy bed. I might have given it a 3 if it weren't for the tiny bathroom with all the mold in the very tiny shower. The staff were very all very nice and friendly. I was only staying one night so I didn't bother asking for another room. My room was clean so I was comfortable sleeping. No coffee pot in the room. The 9th floor hallway was filthy, there was so much dust on the molding that I thought it must be some type of fax finish and I run my finger on it to check ..nope it was dust! Earlier posts about long dark hallways were accurate. I picked this hotel because it was under $300' not an easy find in The Times Square area. It does seem like they are trying to fix the place up but I probably won't stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I’s like to preface this review by saying that the staff manning this “hotel” were uniformly charming and pleasant, they were making the best of a horrible job, having said that let’s begin… It is testament to how insane New York hotels are that the Time hotel can get away with charging $250 a night for this dump. The location is excellent…nothing else is.

The first room we were offered should have been condemned. The ceiling was sagging from previous water damage, the carpet was stained and damaged in multiple places, it smelt horrible and the bathroom was straight out of a death camp. After protest we were moved to a ‘suite’ which was less horrible…but not by much. Let’s take a look at what this hotel doesn’t have…
No clean anything…pretty much anything was dirty, worn-out or limp. The walls are grey from dirt the carpets are disgusting.
No coffee in the rooms….none.
No ice…no machines and when I requested it was promised but never delivered.
No pictures on the walls…no art or attempt at art.
No draws, neither room we saw had any draws or storage of any kind, the closet is a rail with hangers you will put your stuff on a shelf (if there is one)
No adequate AC….we visited in the fall so the outside temperatures were modest…even then the loud AC in the room struggled to keep it habitable…lord knows what it’s like in a New York heat wave.
No service elevators, which means that you will frequently travel in the clunky and unreliable elevators with maids, janitors, dirty laundry and mops.
No TV worth anything. The TV and cable was horrible, awful channel selection, no premium channels and no sound on several channels at all.

In short this is at best a hotel offering hostel level accommodations. If you are an eighteen year old backpacking across the world this is a place to park your pack and rest your head. The overall ambiance is 'Soviet Era Chic' or 70's European youth hostel, dirty, tired and drab. What made it worse is that from out window we could see into the hotel next door which positively glowed with warmth and luxury. I checked the rate and it was $80 a night more, had I known I would have happily paid the difference and had a much more enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
387 reviews 387 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This property is in a great location steps away from Times Square. The staff is great and friendly. It is a 3-star property and as such make sure you manage your expectations. The rooms are on the smaller side, perhaps a bit dated but the rooms are clean and quiet. They charge for internet but ask if they can waive it and there is a a chance that they will.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiya C, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Reslimpan,

Thank you for staying with us at The Time Hotel this November! We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed both our central Times Square location as well as our friendly staff.

We hope to see you the next time that you are in New York. I hope that you will contact me directly for any possible future bookings, as I would love to personally make sure that you are well taken care of.

Warmest Regards,

Leiya Cohen
Director of Front Office
lcohen@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wife and myself spent four nights in New York and for a tourist the Time could not be better located, just off Broadway and Time Square with a subway one block away. Rooms i would not call large but well layed out, bed was comfortable and clean, fridge was well stocked with a variety of drinks. Air conditioning worked well and the bathroom had a good shower.We did not eat at the hotel as there is so much variety on your door step but the restaurant always seemed busy when we passed. Staff at the hotel were helpful and always polite with any request from leaving luggage to printing airline boarding passes. I would recommend this hotel for a stay in NY.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiya C, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Alan H,

We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Time - from our central location to our personable staff. Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience!

We hope to see you the next time you visit New York, and hopefully you'll be able to try our restaurant Serafina as well! Please make sure to contact me directly for any future reservations.

Warmest Regards,

Leiya Cohen
Director of Front Office
lcohen@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

6 consecutive nights - yes that good
The cast were brilliant. From the concierge to the front counter to the doormen and all the staff we met in the lift they were genuine and as friendly as can be.
We created a problem for ourselves which could have been a disaster, but the assistant manager sorted it out efficiently and without making us feel stupid.
Location - across the street is Chicago next door Book of Mormons. Subway - blue and red lines a short walk.
Only cons. There are only 2 lifts and are not big, and get very busy at times, and are also used by all staff. Air con bit noisy
Its nothing compared to this Broadway Star.

Room Tip: Our 10 floor room was quiet and a good size with King bed. If you are staying over 2 nights make sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiya C, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Insearchofit,

Thank you so much for staying with us at The Time Hotel and for taking the time to write about your experience on TripAdvisor! We're thrilled to hear that you were well taken care of our team, and that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Time the next time you're in New York. Please feel free to contact me directly with any future reservations.

Warmest Regards,

Leiya Cohen
Director of Front Office
lcohen@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fantastic location just around corner from Times Square. Had suite for 3 of us which was little cramped when using sofa bed. Room was clean and staff friendly. We had cake and wine in the room as I'd previously emailed asking for nice room as we were celebrating two milestone birthdays, which was a lovely touch.

Room Tip: Email hotel before your trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiya C, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Showers6,

Thank you for spending such a special occasion with us! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and are appreciative that you've taken the time to write about it on TripAdvisor.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Time soon! Please make sure to reach out to me directly again with any future reservations.

Warmest Regards,

Leiya Cohen
Director of Front Office
lcohen@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Time? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Time

Address: 224 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#166 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Time 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel located in the heart of Time Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Loews Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The Time reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Time Hotel New York City
Time New York City
Time Hotel New York City
Time Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Time, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.