We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top location, small and old rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Time

Save Saved
You added The Time to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Time
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   224 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #326 of 452 hotels in New York City
Cyprus
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top location, small and old rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Amazing location , three minutes from the time square but very old and small room. First day the aircondition brake and the room was full of water. Bad experience but the hotel update us to the king suite for the rest of the week. Bigger room but still very old ...
Good if you gonna stay for a night , but not comfortable if you gonna stay more.

Room Tip: Rooms are very small so be prepared.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh S, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. I am so sorry to hear about the unfortunate ac issue but I am glad to hear you enjoyed your king suite. We will be starting renovations at the beginning of next year and we would love for you to come back. This way you can see the changes and what a difference the property is. We look forward to seeing you in the future!

All the best,
Josh
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    279
    465
    256
    135
    105
See reviews for
173
427
101
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed at The Time Hotel for a night and had a wonderful time at this cute hotel. Great hotel with a prime location convenient for everything with parking garage right across from it. The staff at the front desk was just lovely and very helpful, we got a room on the 15th floor and it was very comfortable, clean and without any noise even though we were in a busy area.
The hotel is located close to different subway lines with countless dining options. We lunched at the Serafina restaurant on the street level which serves really good Italian food and actually gives hotel guests a 20% discount. And the Inc Lounge located in the hotel is a good option to grab some drinks before heading out for the night.

We were really happy that we made the decision to stay here and will definitely come back to The Time.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh S, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you sharing your recent experience with the Trip Advisor family. It is so good to hear that our wonderful staff made your TIME here into a positive one. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Josh
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 3 Nights in this over-priced dump. Rooms haven't been update for 20 years, and probably not cleaned in as long. Son had to sleep on the floor because the pullout couch sagged so badly and had springs poking thru. Criminal to advertise as sleeping 3 adults. Stay away. Disgusting.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh S, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

We sincerely apologize the hotel was not up to your expectations. We will begin renovations this January and be done by May. David Rockwell group will be in charge of our renovations and we promise a pristine property. We would appreciate the opportunity to earn your business back and have you see the difference once renovations are complete. Please email me directly at jsims@thetimeny.com for any future reservations.

Warm Regards,
Josh
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had an awesome time while in NY, the perfect location,the rooms were very clean, and the service was spectacular.I love how close we were to everything, location is everything and staying here had it all. My next visit I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh S, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear what a wonderful time you had while visiting. It is great to hear that our location and staff made your trip even better. We look forward to your upcoming reservations and making your time here in NYC very special.

All the best,
Josh
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I live in NY, had family come in from out of town and put them up at The Time Hotel from a recommendation from a friend. To say they had a great time would be an understatement! The were in the heart of NYC, were raving about how accomodating the staff was, and the rooms were perfect for what they needed. Not to mention the prices were much better than most other hotels in the area.

I would recommend to anyone else.

Room Tip: 3 different rooms were booked at the same time and they were all excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh S, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear your family enjoyed there recent stay with us. It is great to hear that our staff made your stay special. We look forward to seeing you and your family back at The Time Hotel in the future!

Warm Regards,
Josh
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rate and location was great considering average price of hotels in Time Square. It was my first experience staying in a boutique hotel and I was disappointed. The hotel is rated 4-4.5 stars however it is really more like 3-3.5 stars. We stayed in a suite on the 14th floor and the walls, carpet, pull-out mattress on sleep sofa and furniture were all soiled and/or damaged. The television in the sitting area required the cable box to be changed four times to work as a result we did not have a television in that area our first night. They have one engineer serving the entire hotel and there are no ice/soda machines. If all boutique hotels are like this, I will continue to stay at commercial hotels ad pay the extra cost...

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh S, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear about the experience you had with us recently. I will look into this issue and the other issues you brought to our attention. I would like to invite you back once renovations are complete to see what a difference the property is and hopefully give us another opportunity. Please email me at jsims@thetimeny.com for future reservations.

Warm Regards,
Josh
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location is excellent, just off Times Square and in walking distance of lots of attractions, there is also a subway station very close by. However the hotel is in desperate need of refurbishment. All of the furniture is worn and many chairs in the lobby are ripped or threadbare. All of the carpets I saw were threadbare in many places. The bar didn't open once during our stay. The air conditioner in our room leaked making the carpet wet and causing a smell of damp. We reported it to reception and the staff were very friendly and it was repaired very quickly however the super fan which was used to dry the carpet was left in our room long after the carpet was dry despite us letting reception know twice. The 12th floor corridors were permanently littered with vacuum cleaners and dirty laundry bins.
I feel confident there is better accommodation available in Manhattan for the price we paid.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh S, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to give me your feedback on your recent stay at The Time in New York.

I apologize for the inconveniences experienced during your stay at The Time. We will be starting renovations shortly and would love for you to stay again once they are complete to see the difference. For future reservations please email me directly at jsims@thetimeny.com.

Sincerely,
Josh
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Time? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Time

Address: 224 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Time 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel located in the heart of Time Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Loews Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Time reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Time Hotel New York City
Time New York City
Time Hotel New York City
Time Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Time, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.