We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Nice Staff but Terrible Hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Time

Save Saved
You added The Time to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Time
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   224 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #327 of 452 hotels in New York City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Location, Nice Staff but Terrible Hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed 3 Nights in this over-priced dump. Rooms haven't been update for 20 years, and probably not cleaned in as long. Son had to sleep on the floor because the pullout couch sagged so badly and had springs poking thru. Criminal to advertise as sleeping 3 adults. Stay away. Disgusting.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    278
    463
    255
    135
    105
See reviews for
173
424
101
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Had an awesome time while in NY, the perfect location,the rooms were very clean, and the service was spectacular.I love how close we were to everything, location is everything and staying here had it all. My next visit I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I live in NY, had family come in from out of town and put them up at The Time Hotel from a recommendation from a friend. To say they had a great time would be an understatement! The were in the heart of NYC, were raving about how accomodating the staff was, and the rooms were perfect for what they needed. Not to mention the prices were much better than most other hotels in the area.

I would recommend to anyone else.

Room Tip: 3 different rooms were booked at the same time and they were all excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The rate and location was great considering average price of hotels in Time Square. It was my first experience staying in a boutique hotel and I was disappointed. The hotel is rated 4-4.5 stars however it is really more like 3-3.5 stars. We stayed in a suite on the 14th floor and the walls, carpet, pull-out mattress on sleep sofa and furniture were all soiled and/or damaged. The television in the sitting area required the cable box to be changed four times to work as a result we did not have a television in that area our first night. They have one engineer serving the entire hotel and there are no ice/soda machines. If all boutique hotels are like this, I will continue to stay at commercial hotels ad pay the extra cost...

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh S, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear about the experience you had with us recently. I will look into this issue and the other issues you brought to our attention. I would like to invite you back once renovations are complete to see what a difference the property is and hopefully give us another opportunity. Please email me at jsims@thetimeny.com for future reservations.

Warm Regards,
Josh
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The location is excellent, just off Times Square and in walking distance of lots of attractions, there is also a subway station very close by. However the hotel is in desperate need of refurbishment. All of the furniture is worn and many chairs in the lobby are ripped or threadbare. All of the carpets I saw were threadbare in many places. The bar didn't open once during our stay. The air conditioner in our room leaked making the carpet wet and causing a smell of damp. We reported it to reception and the staff were very friendly and it was repaired very quickly however the super fan which was used to dry the carpet was left in our room long after the carpet was dry despite us letting reception know twice. The 12th floor corridors were permanently littered with vacuum cleaners and dirty laundry bins.
I feel confident there is better accommodation available in Manhattan for the price we paid.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh S, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to give me your feedback on your recent stay at The Time in New York.

I apologize for the inconveniences experienced during your stay at The Time. We will be starting renovations shortly and would love for you to stay again once they are complete to see the difference. For future reservations please email me directly at jsims@thetimeny.com.

Sincerely,
Josh
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hvidovre
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I expected a four star hotel, but it is rather like a two-three star hotel. When we arrived the elevator and corridors were dirty, and on the floor someone had forgotten some wineglasses which stood there for days before getting removed. The interior in the room was worn out, there were nothing "the little extra" (e.g. A boiler for making some coffee), the aircondition was really noisy, so we had to split it apart and lay something heavy on top of it to make it stop. Furthermore the do-not-disturb-mechanism in the door didn't work, so we had to write our own sign. The bed was nice and comfortable though and the staff was very kind and friendly.
But housekeeping wasn't as discrete as i would have found pleasant; one day one burst in to our room to give us some advertisement, but appologized though for not being able to hear that we were in there.. It was just a bit intimidating.
We didn't have internet in out room, but found out that there was free wifi in the lounge which was fine. Just until an evening where a party was held in the lounge (the whole 2. Floor is the lounge area), which meant that to get the information for the next days travel on the internet, aquired being an unintentional part of a party. Of course we could have researched for those informations earlier than last minute.
But our basic needs were met and we were overall happy during the stay, the location was nice and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh S, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to share your recent stay. We will start renovations in the beginning of next year and we think you will be pleasantly surprised at the changes.
We are addressing the housekeeping issue and will be sure to be a little more discrete.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed our great location and friendly staff. For future visits please reach out ot me personally at jsims@thetimeny.com.

Sincerely,
Josh
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

During our check in, the lady at the reception was not patient at all and when we were aksing several questions in order to understand whether we needed to pay for our rooms in advance by credit card together with the deposit she was very rude and she was not even listening to what we were asking in order to understand and answer specifically and cover our concerns. Also, it is unacceptable not to have free wi-fi in the rooms and only to have it in the lobby in a 4 star hotel. We needed to pay extra for the wi-fi to have it in our rooms.

The day of our check out, we went for a last walk in the town and we returned on 11:20, that is 40 minutes before the check out and we could not enter our room since the access in our cards was cancelled and when we asked the cleaning lady she said that most probably they were cancelled since at 12 o'clock we need to check out. They were cancelled 40 minutes before the check out!!!!! We also asked our bags to be held in the storage after the check out until the time our airport shuttle comes and there was a chage for it!!!! This is unacceptable for a 4 star hote and it is the first time that I met something similar. I certainly wouldn't recomment it and I will reconsider staying again.

Room Tip: Not sure if there are good rooms. We haven't seen them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh S, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guest,

I am so sorry to hear about your recent experience at our hotel. We are in the process of addressing the issues you brought to our attention. Please email me at jsims@thetimeny.com so I can go over wifi and the key cards in more detail with you. Thank you for your understanding and we discuss your future stays via email.

Sincerely,
Josh
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Time? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Time

Address: 224 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Time 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel located in the heart of Time Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Loews Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Time reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Time Hotel New York City
Time New York City
Time Hotel New York City
Time Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Time, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.