We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value, Charmed Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Time

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Time to your Saves list
The Time
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   224 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Wine&Wifi
Ranked #333 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Value, Charmed Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

My nine-year-old daughter and I flew to NYC for two nights to see Matilda, the Statue of Liberty and the holiday sights around Times Square. I got a great deal on this hotel via Qwikbook, figuring at most it would be clean and at least it would be close. The Time exceeded my expectations from the minute we checked in. Everyone on staff was ultra friendly and helpful, the room turned out to be a suite that was both clean and stylish, and Stella the concierge was very helpful and patient - she organized a car service to the airport for us that was very well priced - even more so because the didn't have a spare town car so it sent us a stretch limo for the same price! My only quibble was that the (free) wifi did not work well from the room, but I was able to surf on my phone, so it wasn't a problem. Bad weather caused us to spend much more time in our room than I had planned, and I vowed to add a review here because I was so happy with this hotel.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mvales, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Jbdtx,

I am so glad you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us. To see all the amazing sights New York has to offer, especially around the holidays is truly a moment to remember.

I will extend your kind words to Stella. She is such an asset here and as you can see, likes our guests to travel in style!!

if you ever find yourself coming to New York again, please let me know so that we may make your next TIME even more magical!

Mark Vales
mvales@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    495
    280
    143
    105
See reviews for
190
461
101
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I've stayed in many Manhattan hotels and while this one is not at the top, it's certainly not at the bottom. The best thing I can say is that the room was quiet. I was on the 6th floor and that close to Manhattan, not hearing the street noise is a big deal. The restaurant was very nice as well. The room was fine- about what you would expect- nothing much to say there. My only negative would be the absence of a lobby. On a business trip you often need to meet people or even have a short meeting in the hotel lobby. Not here. There is only a door at street level with an elevator up to 2nd floor where there is a very small check in desk. I know space is limited in NY but I still found it odd. I talked to a few guests who walked right by it a few times since from the street there is only a small door with a small sign above. Maybe that makes it a "hidden treasure" or something, :-)

Overall I would stay again on personal trip, but not business.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mvales, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Tulsabobt,

We are glad to hear that you had a nice quiet stay with us.

we are aware that on business trips you do require a space to have a quick meeting, which is why we have our guest utilize the INC lounge which is on the same floor as the lobby but more secluded. it makes for a nice quiet space to chat.

we are also glad that you liked our restaurant Serafina. i will surely let the manager know of your good experience

if you do find yourself visiting again in the future please feel free to contact me at my email below.

Mark Vales
mvales@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed at The Time on our first visit to New York City, and we were not disappointed. The staff was extremely helpful and willing to meet our every request. Yes, it is an older hotel, but can you say location, location, location? I think it was an incredible find at a reasonable price. Don't discount this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mvales, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Gigi,

Thank you so much for positive review.

We are so glad that our staff went above and beyond for you, and that our location allowed you to see all the sights you needed to see!!!

please contact me directly if you ever find yourself in NYC again!

Mark Vales
mvales@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Great location for a visit to midtown or Times Square. Theaters and great restaurants within easy walk. We found our room to be clean and well maintained. Very comfortable bed. Staff could not have been friendlier. They all made us feel welcome. This will be our hotel for future visits to the big apple.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mvales, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Billy S,

So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and have made us your home away from home for your next visit here!

please contact me directly once you know when you will be returning to us and we will give you a free upgrade (based on availability) for your next stay.

Mark Vales
mvales@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Amazing that this hotel does not have Wi-fi anywhere. Room was clean but in need of a refresh and the only real good thing was the comfortable bed. Staff was efficient and courteous and the location was good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mvales, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Daylove,

so sorry to hear that you were having a problem obtaining wifi.
the wifi in the lobby is free and if you like us on Facebook we will allow you to login for free!
if connection was the problem, please allow us next time to get it right and give you a room that guarantees good service!!

Mark Vales
mvales@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This is an excellent location neat theaters and Times Square. Our party consisted of 2 adults and 2 teens. Our king suite was perfect. I had seen a couple of reviews that caused me to contact the management before I arrived and they were extremely helpful. Thank you Allen. During our stay the staff was extremely accommodating.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mvales, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear bdg5556
I am really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I will let our entire staff know of the compliments you have said. We pride ourselves on great customer service so it is definitely good to hear some positive feedback. We hope you visit with us again soon!

Best Regards,
Mark Vales
mvales@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The Time, 5 nights, first room resembled a postage stamp. Nowhere to hang clothes, not even a hook or a frame around a door to make do! Eventually, room 3! Was fabulous. The rooms are a little tired and well used but clean and comfortable. The staff made it for us! Friendly (well, except for one receptionist who was a little frosty). Josh the porter was fantastic. Superb location. Come on The Time! Get some hooks and hangers in your rooms!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mvales, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Drifter9907,

Sorry that your first impression wasn't so good, but im glad eventually you we pleased with the accommodations. it is important to the entire staff here that we get it right!

Josh is awesome and i will personally extend your kind words to him!!

Mark Vales
mvales@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Time? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Time

Address: 224 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#168 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Time 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel located in the heart of Time Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The Time reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Time Hotel New York City
Time New York City
Time Hotel New York City
Time Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Time, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.