We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Include this property as you consider your NYC options” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Time

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Time to your Saves list
The Time
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   224 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Wine&Wifi
Ranked #332 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Alabama
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Include this property as you consider your NYC options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This is an excellent location neat theaters and Times Square. Our party consisted of 2 adults and 2 teens. Our king suite was perfect. I had seen a couple of reviews that caused me to contact the management before I arrived and they were extremely helpful. Thank you Allen. During our stay the staff was extremely accommodating.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mvales, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear bdg5556
I am really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I will let our entire staff know of the compliments you have said. We pride ourselves on great customer service so it is definitely good to hear some positive feedback. We hope you visit with us again soon!

Best Regards,
Mark Vales
mvales@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    495
    280
    143
    105
See reviews for
190
462
101
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The Time, 5 nights, first room resembled a postage stamp. Nowhere to hang clothes, not even a hook or a frame around a door to make do! Eventually, room 3! Was fabulous. The rooms are a little tired and well used but clean and comfortable. The staff made it for us! Friendly (well, except for one receptionist who was a little frosty). Josh the porter was fantastic. Superb location. Come on The Time! Get some hooks and hangers in your rooms!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mvales, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Drifter9907,

Sorry that your first impression wasn't so good, but im glad eventually you we pleased with the accommodations. it is important to the entire staff here that we get it right!

Josh is awesome and i will personally extend your kind words to him!!

Mark Vales
mvales@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We stayed here for our short break to NYC.
Didn't have a great start as hotel had organised car from airport & we had to dispute the price quoted - this certainly put a dampener on our arrival. The customer service at this point was not the best.
We went for a drink in the bar to relax but as it was late evening the bar was winding down (thought this was the town that never sleeps - it was way before midnight) the highlight of this was watching a mouse running round.
The room was very small & boiling hot - December & we had to open the windows. Our Bose radio didn't work & despite requesting it be repaired it took two further requests to get it sorted.There is no storage at all so bags have to hang around & as its so small they do get in the way.
Shower was powerful & hot.
Location was the best.
We didn't eat here - after seeing a mouse running around it was off putting.
The staff were all pleasant (apart from 1st night)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mvales, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Roastpotato,

I apologize for the inconveniences experienced during your stay at The Time. It is our objective and commitment to consistently exceed our guest’s expectations by providing a memorable experience.
We have already contacted Ecolab, our pest elimination company, they have taken various precautions and have given us their assurance that this will never happen again at this hotel.

It was a privilege to have you here as our guest and we look forward to your next visit. please contact me so that we may discuss discounts for your future stay.

Regards,
Mark Vales
mvales@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

First of all, the location is fantastic. Steps from Times Square, just a few blocks from Rockefeller Center and a short walk to the Subway. The staff was also very friendly. But, like some other commenters, the rooms look better in pictures than in person. We actually had to switch rooms because the first room we could not get the temp below 80 degrees. The second was warm as well. When we mentioned it to the staff they said to open the window. That's what we ended up doing the entire time...in December! It was the only way to keep the room below 80. Not sure what was up with their heaters. Our second room had moldy/broken tile and a dirty bench. The bathroom did smell clean like bleach but I can't help but think that it was just surface cleaned since there was still mold in the shower. Overall, the location and price are great. I think there is room for improvement in the rooms themselves.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mvales, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Grganne1,

First, thank you for taking the time out to write a review. feedback from our guests is very important to us
Secondly, i apologize for the heating issues. Our engineering staff work around the clock to assure our guests a comfortable stay. they will definitely take a look at this issue with the heating as it is important in the winter.
overall we are glad you enjoyed your stay. please reach out to me directly for any future plans.

Mark Vales
mvales@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

The location is fabulous, in the heart of the theatre district with bars and restaurants just a few steps away. Directly across the street is the Actor's Chapel and we attended an organ concert there late one night. A little further down you find Lillie's a great little place, and on the corner is the food emporium. Also, although the room is small, it was considerably nicer than what I've had to cope with at other hotels in the area. The staff are friendly and very helpful and it's great to have a restaurant and bar onsite. The price was also very competitive considering the time of year and location.

Room Tip: Next time I stay I plan to ask for a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mvales, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear katdarcy,

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

the next time you are in town, contact me directly at the email I have provided below and we will work on getting you a room on higher floor.

Mark Vales
mvales@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I spent ten days here from mid November. Great location in Midtown for everything. The staff were very friendly and always very helpful for a first time visit to New York. Serafina's restaurant was great also downstairs. My only regret was having to leave. The rooms were a bit small and looked better in the photos than reality, but I only spent time in the room to sleep as there was too much to do outside. Overall would certainly go back for a second visit.

Room Tip: Rooms were a bit small and would probably be more suited for couples/singles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mvales, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear John N,

Thank you for the amazing feedback

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! i wll relay all the wonderful comments to the staff. you may contact me directly if you have any inquiries!

we hope you can visit us again the next TIME you are in New York!

Mark Vales
mvales@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

GREAT LOCATION!!!! Literally on timesquare. The rooms are very small tho but that is something that you need to expect when coming to the Big Apple. Very close to everything. The AC was not working in our room so they moved us to another room where the AC was working and gave us breakfast vouchers to the restaurant downstairs. (nice gesture)
TIP: Im really anal about looking around the hotel and make sure there are no broken things before and after I leave because the last thing I want is the hotel charging me for something I did not break. The previous room we had, had a few scatches on the wall the door lock was also busted and the blow dryer was not working so I made sure to let them know. Otherwise, staff is really friendly and knowleadgeable. :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time and giving us your feedback, I am glad to hear our staff took care of you when you realized you had some issues with your room. We hope you visit us again in the future so that you could have a more memorable stay.

Best Regards,
Mark Vales
mvales@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Time? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Time

Address: 224 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#168 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Time 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel located in the heart of Time Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Time reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Time Hotel New York City
Time New York City
Time Hotel New York City
Time Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Time, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.