We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Time

Save Saved
You added The Time to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Time
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   224 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #325 of 451 hotels in New York City
Seattle
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great value, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

The location is fabulous, in the heart of the theatre district with bars and restaurants just a few steps away. Directly across the street is the Actor's Chapel and we attended an organ concert there late one night. A little further down you find Lillie's a great little place, and on the corner is the food emporium. Also, although the room is small, it was considerably nicer than what I've had to cope with at other hotels in the area. The staff are friendly and very helpful and it's great to have a restaurant and bar onsite. The price was also very competitive considering the time of year and location.

Room Tip: Next time I stay I plan to ask for a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mvales, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear katdarcy,

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

the next time you are in town, contact me directly at the email I have provided below and we will work on getting you a room on higher floor.

Mark Vales
mvales@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    275
    456
    247
    130
    104
See reviews for
167
417
100
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I spent ten days here from mid November. Great location in Midtown for everything. The staff were very friendly and always very helpful for a first time visit to New York. Serafina's restaurant was great also downstairs. My only regret was having to leave. The rooms were a bit small and looked better in the photos than reality, but I only spent time in the room to sleep as there was too much to do outside. Overall would certainly go back for a second visit.

Room Tip: Rooms were a bit small and would probably be more suited for couples/singles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mvales, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear John N,

Thank you for the amazing feedback

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! i wll relay all the wonderful comments to the staff. you may contact me directly if you have any inquiries!

we hope you can visit us again the next TIME you are in New York!

Mark Vales
mvales@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

GREAT LOCATION!!!! Literally on timesquare. The rooms are very small tho but that is something that you need to expect when coming to the Big Apple. Very close to everything. The AC was not working in our room so they moved us to another room where the AC was working and gave us breakfast vouchers to the restaurant downstairs. (nice gesture)
TIP: Im really anal about looking around the hotel and make sure there are no broken things before and after I leave because the last thing I want is the hotel charging me for something I did not break. The previous room we had, had a few scatches on the wall the door lock was also busted and the blow dryer was not working so I made sure to let them know. Otherwise, staff is really friendly and knowleadgeable. :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time and giving us your feedback, I am glad to hear our staff took care of you when you realized you had some issues with your room. We hope you visit us again in the future so that you could have a more memorable stay.

Best Regards,
Mark Vales
mvales@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Great location, perfect for walking to Time Square and Fifth Avenue shopping. Very handy to nip back with your shopping bags!!

Lovely staff, always willing to help.

Food in the Restaurant was delicious and nice for a treat.


  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your wonderful words about your stay at the time. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and the service of our staff. If you are ever in NYC, please feel free to contact us directly for future reservations,

Best Regards,

Allen Gallardo
agallardo@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This hotel is a classic example of something looking much better in an online advert than it does it reality. The location was great for Times Square and many other attractions, all within walking distance

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the location of the time, and I apologize the rooms did not meet your standards. If there is anything you would like to discuss about your previous reservation, please feel free to contact me direclty.

Best Regards,
Allen Gallardo
Agallardo@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Pros: Extremely close to Times Square, clean room, they will hold your luggage for you on your last day

Cons: WiFi was extremely slow (and it is $10 a day), no common areas to relax or meet with people, small room / bathroom

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time and giving us your feedback on your current stay. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the location of the Time Hotel and the cleanliness of our rooms. I do apologize for any issues you encountered with the Wi-Fi Connection. For your future reference if you ever find youself visiting the time again we do have suites which have a seperate living space from the bedroom. we also have a lounge area in the lobby floor where you could meet with any of your guests. If you have any questions regarding your past or future reservations please feel free to contact us directly.

Best Regards,
Allen Gallardo
agallardo@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Small hotel located 3-5 minutes from Times Square and 2 minutes from subway stations that are located on 50th and 7th or 8th and 49th.
Rooms are small wifi signal weak but service is good and staff very helpfull.
Recomended for a tight budget.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Hello,

I am happy to read that you enjoyed Time’s location. Like you, most of our guests are thrilled to discover that the hotel boasts one of the best addresses in NYC and is located within a short walk of all of the major attractions of the city. Receiving feedback like yours is what we strive for and this motivates our staff to do their best. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards,
Allen Gallardo
agallardo@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Time? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Time

Address: 224 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#159 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Time 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your The Time reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Time Hotel New York City
Time New York City
Time Hotel New York City
Time Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Time, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.