We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Time

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Time to your Saves list
The Time
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   224 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Timeless Summer 10% OFF
Ranked #334 of 468 Hotels in New York City
pittsburgh, pa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

By New York standards, this hotel is fine. Its location is key. Walking distance to so many activities. Our room was small, but clean and quiet. Appreciated the robes and hair dryer. We found the bed to be very comfortable after a long day of sightseeing. We were not in the room except to sleep and shower. Parking was 30.00 a day across the street and that was not bad for this city. We drove into the city so this was a big plus for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Pamahler,

Thank you so much for reviewing your stay at The Time Hotel! I'm glad to hear that you had a pleasant experience and we look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    558
    304
    156
    111
See reviews for
218
522
104
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Risking your health by staying at The Time Hotel! This place was absolutely terrible. The reception area seems modern and new, then when you get the key to your room and you enter the narrow dark corridor to the small dark lifts, the lighting is really dim, to hide how dirty these areas were. When we got to our room, it was tiny, barely any space to put 2 suitcases on the floor, there was no where to place toiletries in the bathroom, you could not open the blind as the view was basically nothing, making the room feel really claustrophobic. You could not walk on the carpet in bare feet, you would not shower in bare feet, the carpet was black from lack of shampooing and cleanliness, as was the so called lounge, you would not sit on it. The bathroom had mould. The Bedspread was supposed to be bright red, but was so dull as I wouldn't be suprised it had never been washed. The internet was terrible, after paying $15 a day for high speed internet, you could barely check emails. When we told reception the next day about our concerns and the hygiene problems of the room, they said they would upgrade us to a suite, we said we will check it first, it was basically a bigger dirtier room, so we checked out. Best thing we ever did. I would not recommend this place at all. Absolutely filthy!!!!! Funny thing is, when I went down to complain at Reception, there were 2 other people in the queue complaining as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Alan N,

I'm sorry we were not able to accommodate you during your recent stay to New York. Fortunately, since March we have completely reupholstered all the furniture with fabric. The bedspread you mentioned may have been faded due to being washed too many times as they are washed almost every day and not just in between guests, and we have replaced many of those since your stay as well. Again, I am terribly sorry we were unable to accommodate you in the past and hope that you may consider us in the future.

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The Time is an average hotel with a great location. We arrived late on Friday night. The first room we were given was an ADA room, so we requested a change. The second room smelled funky, had scuffed and dirty walls, and dirt in the corners and along the baseboards. Additionally, you could hear the second floor lounge until the early morning hours despite being on the fifth floor. I went to complain about the room and had a negative encounter with the man managing the desk (rude, short, and did not listen to what I was telling him). The next day I spoke with Betty, a manager, and she took great care of us and got us to a much better room. The room we finally settled in was pretty clean, but could have used some updating. The room, like the hotel, seemed a little tired and worn down. For example, our shower didn't drain fast enough and the shower curtain was too long, therefore we stood in a pool of water with a shower curtain floating by our feet. Our friends had a suite and the furniture was very worn, some of the furniture had holes in the cushions along with black magic marker scribbling on the cushions. We had some confusion regarding the wi-fi, but once connected it worked well.

The lounge on the second floor was okay. However, on Friday and Saturday night the music was very loud and far from relaxing. When we checked into the hotel, you could barely hear the front desk attendant because of the volume of the music. As stated earlier, you could hear the beat of the music in the rooms.

The best thing about this hotel is the location. The place is a short walk to Times Square and the Broadway shows. Overall, the hotel is OK and the location was great. I'd recommend staying here if you want a mediocre/average hotel that is moderately priced with a great location. This place gets two out of four paws.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear TheMaximus,

I am happy to read that you enjoyed Time’s location. Like you, most of our guests are thrilled to discover that the hotel boasts one of the best addresses in NYC and is located within a short walk of all of the major attractions of the city. I am very sorry and disappointed that you were not satisfied with the rest of your experience. Our ultimate goal is complete guest satisfaction. I apologize that we missed the mark. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide you with an experience that is memorable for the right reasons.

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stella Guerra who is the concierge of this hotel, was extremely helpful and concerned about helping me solve a delivery problem with a product I had bought from Amazon and was wrongly delivered to the same address at the same street, only in the east side instead of the west side where the hotel is located. Stella helped me out with canceling this order with Amazon that, at first, was very reluctant to accept their mistake. If all hotels could have someone like Stella to be their concierge, guests would feel a lot more satisfied

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Decio D,

I am so happy to hear Stella went above and beyond assisting you with your delivery issue. Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! We hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I have stayed many times in Time Hotel just because its a bad hotel amongst the worst hotels in this area. Hence a very good (4*) rating from me !

All hotels in Manhattan are outrageously priced with 0 service and value.

This hotel is still expensive but is ok for the quality.

Service is very very slow, but the location is very good.

If you prefer near times square as I do, then this is great.

Rooms are tiny, and better take a room which has a living room and a bedroom so atleast you can breath in it.

Just a place you want to crash in night , with average quality.

have also stayed in Marriot Marquis, but it gets too expensive sometimes and its better than Time Hotel but too much price to pay for not that much increase in value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear rishabh123,

Thank you for your very enlightening review of hotels in the Times Square Area. I am happy to hear that you are a repeat guest. Please let me know how to better your next stay with us. Please contact me at dgiandalone@thetimeny.com.


Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
107 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights recently. Rooms are small and clean. But I didn't come to New York to stay in a hotel. Used it just as a base to sleep. Beds were big and comfy enough and bathroom clean. Windows were a little dirty to the point you couldn't really see out of them. But it didn't really matter as I left the room early AM and didn't return until late.

Would use it again purely for its amazing location am value. Thanks again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear philm1981,

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit with us at The Time Hotel! Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Until next time, happy travels!

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This was our second time at this property and our overall experience has been pleasantly consistent. The hotel could not be in a more central location, if you're wanting to stay in mid-town. We initially found this place on Hotwire, but booked through the hotel's site for our second stay. The rooms are functional and similar in size to other properties where we've stayed in NYC. One of the other best features of this hotel is probably the second floor lounge, which is great for a pre-dinner drink or evening night cap. The staff is extremely friendly, hospitable, and willing to recommend restaurants and other points of interest in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear cwinston8384,

Thank you for reviewing The Time. I am very happy to hear you are a repeat guest and have been enjoying your stays with us. Please let me know the next time you return at dgiandalone@thetimeny.com We look forward to hosting you on your next trip!

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Night Times Square
Night Times Square
#328 of 468 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,243 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#349 of 468 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,128 reviews
Midtown
Night Theater District
Night Theater District
#200 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
TRYP by Wyndham New York Times Square
TRYP by Wyndham New York Times S...
#345 of 468 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#356 of 468 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 626 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#336 of 468 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 3,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Time? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Time

Address: 224 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#183 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Time 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Time New York offers travelers an urban lifestyle destination with a refined edge in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. The Time New York is undergoing a floor-to-ceiling renovation and redesign by the award-winning Rockwell Group, slated for completion Fall 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Time reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Time Hotel New York City
Time New York City
Time Hotel New York City
Time Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Time, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.