We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, average room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Time

Save Saved
You added The Time to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Time
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   224 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #328 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Geelong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location, average room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This hotel is in an amazing location right in Times Square. The room looked nothing like it did in the pictures, and was a shoe box at best. We didn't worry too much as we weren't in the room other than to sleep but considering we paid a decent amount per night for 6 nights, it added up and we really didn't get what we paid for. The room was always cleaned well but being an a fairly busy street (opposite Chicago) the rooms was never able to be dark at night due to the lights. No wifi but when I complained (which is rare) it was included for free.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Lauren B,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Time. As I mentioned in my email to you please let me know when you are back again and we will find a more suitable room for you away from the street noise. Thank you again for providing your feedback to us and we hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    474
    263
    135
    105
See reviews for
178
435
101
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The staff was fun, friendly, very professional and accommodating. The room was small-ish, but in NYC, that doesn't necessarily take away points from a hotel. The room was very clean. The bed was comfortable. Housekeeping was very flexible in working around my schedule. I went to the gym to work out for an hour and a half, asked a housekeeper if she could clean my room while I was gone, and I came back to a clean fresh impeccably restored room. The room was tastefully decorated with a designer feel. There were some signs of mild wear and tear, but overall, a cool space. Decent fitness center on the 4th floor if you want to get a workout in. Free weights, cardio equipment, multi-exercise machine. Fitness center included flat screen TV, filtered water machine, and fresh towels. In spite of the great but very busy location, the room seemed very insulated from street noise. The only sound that was a mild disturbance was the almost constant opening and closing of doors of nearby rooms. Oh--one thing that was really an issue is the elevators. Sometimes they took up to 10 minutes or more to open! There are only approximately 14 floors in the hotel, however, there is not a service elevator, so between guests and service staff using the same elevator to go from floor to floor, waiting ridiculously long for the elevator can be frustrating. I actually walked up to my room a couple times--11th floor. Great exercise, but not fun after a long day of walking the streets of beautiful NYC.

Room Tip: If you have a room preference, ask upon check in. I did, and the staff was very honest about what m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear RJ R,

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I am terribly sorry you had to wait so long for the elevator but incredibly impressed that you used the stairs up to the 11th floor. Please let me know when you are with us again I would like to upgrade you complimentary if possible at dgiandalone@thetimeny.com. We look forward to seeing you again soon.


Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Very good hotel, great location, great staff hospitality, room size is resanoble comparing with NYC hotels, room are clean. In general, it's good choice.

The below issues are there:
1. No breakfast with room booking.
2.hotel seem to be very old need and needs to be updated.
3. Internet is not free.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Ahmed J,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us at The Time Hotel, and we're thrilled that you had such an enjoyable stay. I'm happy to hear that you took advantage of the amenities we have to offer. I hope you'll be back to visit us again!

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I've been visiting NYC for many years for both personal and work travel. The Time is right by my home office for work so it's a nice location for work and pleasure. I've stayed at The Time about 4-5 times over the past three years and I've noticed the rooms have gone downhill. I won't complain about the room size as I've stayed at about 10 other hotels over the years and they have about average size rooms from what I've seen.

During my last visit, I've determined it was going to be my last until they start updating the rooms. First, the TV remote only works half the time. They didn't have the channels set up correctly so when you were flipping through, you had to go through a lot of "snowy" channels to get to a different channel you might want to watch and on top of that (at least in my room), three of the porn channels were not blocked. Not an issue for me but for someone with kids, parents might not want that issue happening.

Next, the furniture in the room is very worn. Lots of dents and paint missing. It looks like it came from a garage sale. The red cover on the bed is very faded and has some tears in it. The blinds for the windows had paint spots all over them and the air/heating unit is LOUD! Not during my last visit but a year before that in January, the heater was working over time and could not turn it off. I think it got to above 80 degrees in my room that time. I complained but about it during that visit but was told nothing could be done that week and had to deal with it.

Then when we get to the bathroom, there was hair on the floor around the sink, a HUGE hole in the wall that was never repaired and in the shower, the shower rod and shower head were very rusted plus it looked like mildew was in the grout and needed to be cleaned or even re-grouted at that point. Carpet is very worn and needs to be replaced.

Serifina's on the first floor which I've been too a few times is not that great and when I tried ordering a pepperoni pizza from room service, they said they do not have one on the menu even though they have other pizzas. Really, can't have a staple menu item for room service? I have not been to the bar on the second floor so can't comment on that.

I left a comment card when I left saying all this and was contact by email from one of the managers and they said sorry for my experience but they are working on getting permits to start updating the place. Until I see on their website that updating is happening or is done, I will not be staying here again. I had a choice between this hotel and one other for my trip in May and choose the other one.

Room Tip: If you can get a good rate and won't be in the room except to sleep, try and get a higher floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear JSchimmy,

I wanted to thank you again for being a repeat guest with us and for reviewing The Time. I apologize again for the inconveniences you experienced due to the condition of our rooms and certainly hope we will be able to have you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Great location but that's all you can expect! We stayed at The Time 4/12/13. We booked 2 rooms, 1 standard king and 1 suite. The rooms were very run down and dirty. The suite ran $237 a night for a broken down sleeper sofa and a king size bed. Shower head was so clogged it was like someone dumping a bucket of water over your head. Mold in windows, dirty glass left under end table. After seeing the lack of cleanliness in the rooms, there was no way we would consider eating in the restaurant. We asked the front desk for help getting a taxi back to the airport at the end of our stay. They lied to us telling us it was cheaper to use the hotel taxi. We found out later a taxi ride to the airport should run $35 instead we ended up paying $50 plus tip to the hotel. I seriously thought I was in a 3rd world country! Extortion!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Traci C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding the service at The Time Hotel. It is through direct feedback like yours we can improve our service standards. I apologize for any inconvenience you had and apologize for any confusion with the car service. The car services are not affiliated with the hotel but if you would like to discuss in further detail please contact me at dgiandalone@thetimeny.com and I can forward your concerns to whichever company was used to take you to the airport.

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

As others have noted, the location is wonderful-particularly if you are in New York to take in a show and the usual tourist sights. I took a dear friend and her two teenagers to the city for the first time and this hotel worked out very well- The room was a typical size for Manhattan and the king size bed was comfortable ( the kids were happy to have sleeping bags on the floor instead of spending an extra fifty dollars for two beds) It was clean and the staff was very pleasant, though it definitely could use an update on style and carpeting etc.
We were so busy we didn't spend much time in the room and didn't use the restaurant but it looked good! I also got the impression the lounge was popular and fun- though again we didn't have a chance to check it out. I would have no problem staying here again or recommending it, though it is not my first choice.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room even on a higher floor to minimize street noise at night. Remember this is th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear gmmmgp9,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding the service at The Time Hotel. It is through direct feedback like yours we can improve our service standards and we hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Time? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Time

Address: 224 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#162 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Time 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel located in the heart of Time Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Loews Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Otel and Agoda so you can book your The Time reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Time Hotel New York City
Time New York City
Time Hotel New York City
Time Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Time, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.