We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Needs a lot of updating” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Time

Save Saved
You added The Time to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Time
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   224 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #318 of 446 hotels in New York City
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Location, Needs a lot of updating”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I've been visiting NYC for many years for both personal and work travel. The Time is right by my home office for work so it's a nice location for work and pleasure. I've stayed at The Time about 4-5 times over the past three years and I've noticed the rooms have gone downhill. I won't complain about the room size as I've stayed at about 10 other hotels over the years and they have about average size rooms from what I've seen.

During my last visit, I've determined it was going to be my last until they start updating the rooms. First, the TV remote only works half the time. They didn't have the channels set up correctly so when you were flipping through, you had to go through a lot of "snowy" channels to get to a different channel you might want to watch and on top of that (at least in my room), three of the porn channels were not blocked. Not an issue for me but for someone with kids, parents might not want that issue happening.

Next, the furniture in the room is very worn. Lots of dents and paint missing. It looks like it came from a garage sale. The red cover on the bed is very faded and has some tears in it. The blinds for the windows had paint spots all over them and the air/heating unit is LOUD! Not during my last visit but a year before that in January, the heater was working over time and could not turn it off. I think it got to above 80 degrees in my room that time. I complained but about it during that visit but was told nothing could be done that week and had to deal with it.

Then when we get to the bathroom, there was hair on the floor around the sink, a HUGE hole in the wall that was never repaired and in the shower, the shower rod and shower head were very rusted plus it looked like mildew was in the grout and needed to be cleaned or even re-grouted at that point. Carpet is very worn and needs to be replaced.

Serifina's on the first floor which I've been too a few times is not that great and when I tried ordering a pepperoni pizza from room service, they said they do not have one on the menu even though they have other pizzas. Really, can't have a staple menu item for room service? I have not been to the bar on the second floor so can't comment on that.

I left a comment card when I left saying all this and was contact by email from one of the managers and they said sorry for my experience but they are working on getting permits to start updating the place. Until I see on their website that updating is happening or is done, I will not be staying here again. I had a choice between this hotel and one other for my trip in May and choose the other one.

Room Tip: If you can get a good rate and won't be in the room except to sleep, try and get a higher floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear JSchimmy,

I wanted to thank you again for being a repeat guest with us and for reviewing The Time. I apologize again for the inconveniences you experienced due to the condition of our rooms and certainly hope we will be able to have you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    267
    451
    234
    129
    99
See reviews for
157
383
91
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Great location but that's all you can expect! We stayed at The Time 4/12/13. We booked 2 rooms, 1 standard king and 1 suite. The rooms were very run down and dirty. The suite ran $237 a night for a broken down sleeper sofa and a king size bed. Shower head was so clogged it was like someone dumping a bucket of water over your head. Mold in windows, dirty glass left under end table. After seeing the lack of cleanliness in the rooms, there was no way we would consider eating in the restaurant. We asked the front desk for help getting a taxi back to the airport at the end of our stay. They lied to us telling us it was cheaper to use the hotel taxi. We found out later a taxi ride to the airport should run $35 instead we ended up paying $50 plus tip to the hotel. I seriously thought I was in a 3rd world country! Extortion!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Traci C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding the service at The Time Hotel. It is through direct feedback like yours we can improve our service standards. I apologize for any inconvenience you had and apologize for any confusion with the car service. The car services are not affiliated with the hotel but if you would like to discuss in further detail please contact me at dgiandalone@thetimeny.com and I can forward your concerns to whichever company was used to take you to the airport.

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

As others have noted, the location is wonderful-particularly if you are in New York to take in a show and the usual tourist sights. I took a dear friend and her two teenagers to the city for the first time and this hotel worked out very well- The room was a typical size for Manhattan and the king size bed was comfortable ( the kids were happy to have sleeping bags on the floor instead of spending an extra fifty dollars for two beds) It was clean and the staff was very pleasant, though it definitely could use an update on style and carpeting etc.
We were so busy we didn't spend much time in the room and didn't use the restaurant but it looked good! I also got the impression the lounge was popular and fun- though again we didn't have a chance to check it out. I would have no problem staying here again or recommending it, though it is not my first choice.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room even on a higher floor to minimize street noise at night. Remember this is th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear gmmmgp9,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding the service at The Time Hotel. It is through direct feedback like yours we can improve our service standards and we hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulsan, South Korea
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Right near Time Square and a couple places to catch a play. In easy walking distance to the Rock and Central Park. Staff was nice and attentive. room was small but this is NYC all the rooms are small and the place was clean. Bar on the second floor was good for a drink but AVOID THE RESTAURANT ON THE FIRST FLOOR. Hotel Solid 4/5

Room Tip: alot of the lower rooms look in to a brick wall 11th and above you should be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Wyatt P,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at The Time Hotel. We're thrilled that you enjoyed the amenities and comfort our rooms provided, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Of course, the location can't be beat if you are wanting to stay near times square! The staff were friendly and helpful. The decor is very modern, which I liked. The rooms are a bit small, but it in on times square! The placement of the TV is very weird, but there is so much to do within easy walking distance you won't care about the TV! Overall, we liked it quite a lot!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Melissa S,

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit with us at The Time Hotel! Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Until next time, happy travels!

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Just returned from a four night stay at The Time. From the minute I booked, I contacted the hotel for advice, directions etc and EVERY time the response was super fast!! SO courteous and always helpful. We arrived and were greeted at the door. Our luggage was taken to our room and all we needed was to check in. Every member of staff we encountered was super helpful and smiley. We got to our room and a bottle of wine and welcome note awaited us - which was so special. We were in a twin double. It is a boutique hotel so not masses of wardrobe space but plenty for two people for four nights! There was also a shelving unit and a dressing table/desk with a flat screen tv on the wall above it. Double shower, sink and lovely toiletries provided. Housekeeping was exceptional - rooms cleaned and changed every day and a lovely knock at the door each evening to check all was ok! There is a mini bar - but I needed to take meds with a milky drink each morning and they were fine about my keeping fresh milk in the fridge - even offering to move some items should I need more space! You're a block away from Times Square so unless you're on one of the very top floors you won't get a 'view' - but considering you only sleep in your room it would be wasted..... and the location is TREMENDOUS! I genuinely couldn't fault this hotel - yes it is in need of a refurb decor- wise but it is such a popular hotel I don't know when that could happen. It certainly didn't detract from our stay. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, it is lovely, but it is the staff that make this place so exceptional. Fabulous!

Room Tip: We stayed in a twin double for two people. Brilliant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Oosaboos,


Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at The Time Hotel. We're thrilled that you enjoyed the amenities and comfort our rooms provided, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!


Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The Time Hotel is right across the Ambassador Theatre where you can enjoy Chicago (the musical), so it is really convenient to cross the street and watch a classic broadway musical. You can walk to Time Square, the subway, the corner coffee shop (Bene) and a lot of fabulous restaurants in literally minutes. The reception staff is young, cool and really helpful. We had the pleasure of bumping into Griffin, a long time service employee, who is joyful, polite and the epitomy of a wondeful human being and New Yorker.
The rooms are small but clean and modern. Wi-fi is free in the reception area. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Traveller1425,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us at The Time Hotel, and we're thrilled that you had such an enjoyable stay and that our staff was attentive to your needs.I hope you'll be back to visit us again!

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Time? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Time

Also Known As:
The Time Hotel
The Time Hotel New York City
Time New York City
Time Hotel New York City
Time Hotel New York
Time Hotel
Time Hotel Nyc
Address: 224 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#157 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Time 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Loews Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Time reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Time, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.