We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Time

Save Saved
You added The Time to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Time
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   224 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #326 of 452 hotels in New York City
Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The Time is located in the heart of the Theatre District. This was the positive thing about the hotel. Pleased with housekeeping staff.

Our room was in desperate need of work. Damaged walls, worn carpet, dilapidated furniture. The fold out couch was not even usable. We asked for a mattress pad to cover the filth and maybe provide some padding but this was not available. A duvet was used as a pad but this only made the bed lumpy and still too thin to provide protection from the springs. The couch cushions were in disrepair and were so worn that it was unbelievable in a hotel where we paid $200 for one night.
The safe was broken and had to be replaced. The closet rods are located above the shelving unit so no room for clothes to hang down. No coffee maker in the room. Wifi service terrible. The sink plug was missing but a rubber stopper plug was available so large risk for losing things down the drain.
Concierge recommended private car service from hotel to Newark Airport as best value.... told the shuttle would take four hours. We ended up taking a $7 taxi ride to Penn Station and then took the train for $12.50 which included the AirTrain at the Newark Airport. Took less than 60 minutes for the whole trip.
Our room was at the back and noise was not an issue.

I suggest looking elsewhere for accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear nlw2.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent trip to The Time Hotel. I wanted to take a moment and apologize for the inconvenience you faced due to the condition of your room.I have responded to you via email regarding this and we are striving to improve our conditions. Thank You again for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    279
    465
    256
    135
    105
See reviews for
173
427
101
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Was definitely suprised and disappointed after reading the reviews and paying $300/night, I expected more. The rooms are old and worn. Bathroom grout and sylicone was missing, door stops broken, BR fan made noice, carpet old and worn, scratches and scrapes on walls...looked dirty.
Will never stay there again...there are better hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel...I tried 2 rooms and both were terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Leo595,

I would like to thank you for your recent stay in our hotel, and also for your feedback on your experience, it's crucial for us to identifying problems and addressing them.

My apologies for our properties short comings; we are striving to improve our service standards so each and every guest we encounter leaves on a positive note. If you would like to discuss in further detail please contact me at dgiandalone@thetimeny.com.

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed there last week, for my 1st time and i will be definately returning. The Location was perfect, smack in the middle of everything and about 2 minutes walk to Time sqare.The room was Fab and the service was top quality. Special Thanks to Jim who assited me with my reservation.

Room Tip: If you book here, go for the junior suite. Vey spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear NegusK,


Thank you so much for reviewing your stay at The Time Hotel! I'm glad to hear that you had such a pleasant experience, and we look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We opted to move to a suite. We had two rooms and for us it was nice but we did not not spend lot of time in the other room. The accommodations were very clean and the staff was very friendlyand helpful. The room was very contemporary but in need of some new paint and carpet. As in any boutique hotel in NY the rooms were small but having a suite gave us much room. The elevator was not my friend. Very small and I am claustrophobic so felt I was going to hyperventilate a couple of times and we were on the 16th floor! Overall, we would stay here again. Although, a brown bag to breathe into in the elevator might be a good idea!

Room Tip: The suite gave us extra room although we did not use it much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear cleo320,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at The Time Hotel. We're thrilled that you enjoyed the amenities and comfort our rooms provided, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

First time visit, scored a Living Social 2 night deal. Really was quite surprised! Very clean, comfortable & extra friendly staff! Shout out to Olivia Mosdzien who went the extra mile as all were willing to do! Will stay again. Front desk to housekeeping all ready to make it worry-free. Bring the family-very secure. Lots of bussle on the street so not a remote neighborhood but close to all the sights near Times Square.Staff made the stay a pleasure, thank you The Time!!

Room Tip: interior rooms probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear James A,


Thank you for taking the time to review The Time. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and our services provided. We look forward to hosting you in the future.

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Ideally located in midtown Manhattan. A walking distance from Times Square and other major attractions. Rooms are small but very functional. Price is reasonable for NYC. Note - WiFi is not included and is an extra $11/night. Breakfast is not included as well and is quite expensive at the in-hotel Serafina restaurant. Nevertheless, it is overall recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear galnachum,

Thank you so much for reviewing your stay at The Time Hotel! I'm glad to hear that you had such a pleasant experience, and we look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

After arriving in NYC our booked accommodation was not acceptable (see other review for Hotel Edison) so the very helpful receptionist solved our problem. We were greeted by Olivia and throughout our stay she did everything she could to make sure we had the best stay possible!! We were given a lovely, clean, spacious room which we immediately felt comfortable in. The hotel is very modern and has everything you need whilst in the city. Every time we walked through reception Olivia would check we were OK and that everything was ok with the room. After coming to the end of our stay we did not even have to ask at reception Olivia had already stated we needed a late check out and this was arranged. She also assisted us with checking in online for our flight home. 5 stars for comfort and 5 stars for customer service!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear lsimms49,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us at The Time Hotel, and we're thrilled that you had such an enjoyable stay. I'm happy to hear that Olivia at our front desk was so accomodating. I hope you'll be back to visit us again!


Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Time? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Time

Address: 224 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#163 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Time 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel located in the heart of Time Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Time reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Time Hotel New York City
Time New York City
Time Hotel New York City
Time Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Time, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.