We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New York Weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Time

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Time to your Saves list
The Time
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   224 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Wine&Wifi
Ranked #333 of 457 Hotels in New York City
NC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“New York Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We opted to move to a suite. We had two rooms and for us it was nice but we did not not spend lot of time in the other room. The accommodations were very clean and the staff was very friendlyand helpful. The room was very contemporary but in need of some new paint and carpet. As in any boutique hotel in NY the rooms were small but having a suite gave us much room. The elevator was not my friend. Very small and I am claustrophobic so felt I was going to hyperventilate a couple of times and we were on the 16th floor! Overall, we would stay here again. Although, a brown bag to breathe into in the elevator might be a good idea!

Room Tip: The suite gave us extra room although we did not use it much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear cleo320,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at The Time Hotel. We're thrilled that you enjoyed the amenities and comfort our rooms provided, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    495
    279
    143
    105
See reviews for
190
460
101
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

First time visit, scored a Living Social 2 night deal. Really was quite surprised! Very clean, comfortable & extra friendly staff! Shout out to Olivia Mosdzien who went the extra mile as all were willing to do! Will stay again. Front desk to housekeeping all ready to make it worry-free. Bring the family-very secure. Lots of bussle on the street so not a remote neighborhood but close to all the sights near Times Square.Staff made the stay a pleasure, thank you The Time!!

Room Tip: interior rooms probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear James A,


Thank you for taking the time to review The Time. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and our services provided. We look forward to hosting you in the future.

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Ideally located in midtown Manhattan. A walking distance from Times Square and other major attractions. Rooms are small but very functional. Price is reasonable for NYC. Note - WiFi is not included and is an extra $11/night. Breakfast is not included as well and is quite expensive at the in-hotel Serafina restaurant. Nevertheless, it is overall recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear galnachum,

Thank you so much for reviewing your stay at The Time Hotel! I'm glad to hear that you had such a pleasant experience, and we look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

After arriving in NYC our booked accommodation was not acceptable (see other review for Hotel Edison) so the very helpful receptionist solved our problem. We were greeted by Olivia and throughout our stay she did everything she could to make sure we had the best stay possible!! We were given a lovely, clean, spacious room which we immediately felt comfortable in. The hotel is very modern and has everything you need whilst in the city. Every time we walked through reception Olivia would check we were OK and that everything was ok with the room. After coming to the end of our stay we did not even have to ask at reception Olivia had already stated we needed a late check out and this was arranged. She also assisted us with checking in online for our flight home. 5 stars for comfort and 5 stars for customer service!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear lsimms49,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us at The Time Hotel, and we're thrilled that you had such an enjoyable stay. I'm happy to hear that Olivia at our front desk was so accomodating. I hope you'll be back to visit us again!


Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Pros were the room was clean, liked the festive decor, staff was very friendly and our bed was very comfortable. It had the best location and great value.

Con was rooms are small but our feelings were who cares because how little time we spent in our room.
Watch out for Fridge we had no idea it was on a sensor so if you removed anything for more than a few seconds you would be charged. We did remove things not knowing just to look at them but the front desk was very nice and did not charge us.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Karen P.

Thank you so much for reviewing your stay at The Time Hotel! I'm glad to hear that you had such a pleasant experience, and we look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Me and a couple of friends reserved a night here to celebrate a friends birthday in the city. My sister and I both work for travel agencies and agree that this is not a property we would recommend to clients. For $150 per night we ended up in an extremely small room with one queen bed. We specifically asked for 2 doubles as there were 3 of us staying in the room. We were told that all their double rooms were booked. Although disappointed, we continued our stay as we needed to get ready for the night. We went back to our room and were not happy with how outdated it was. The walls were dirty and the furniture looked very old. There was one light fixture that was not working properly and would pop everytime we turned the switch or disconnected from the outlet. Very dangerous. We finally went back down to the lobby to complain and demand another room. After a few minutes a double room was suddenly available at no extra cost. So we moved over to our new room and did a quick inspection to make sure everything was clean and working properly. First thing we found were crumbs on one of the beds! We were immediately disgusted but kept looking around. This time all the lights seemed to be working. But in the bathroom we noticed there was a bandaid, yes, a bandaid covering up a hole in the counter of the sink. And again the room was overall just outdated and dirty. Would not spend my money here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear christinamv1986,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on you recent stay. I apologize for your experience and I am truly sorry that you were not satisfied. I know that sincere words of regret and apology cannot make up for your disappointing visit. However, we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My main man Jack at the Time Hotel exemplifies what hotel service is all about! Upon check in he greeted me with a smile and an upbeat attitude. Not only was he personable, he upgraded my room and sent up a bottle of wine on the house. The Time Hotel sets itself apart with high quality staff like Jack!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Jeremy S,

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit with us at The Time Hotel! Thanks for taking the time to post your review. I will gladly share your comments with Jack. Hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Time? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Time

Address: 224 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#168 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Time 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel located in the heart of Time Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The Time reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Time Hotel New York City
Time New York City
Time Hotel New York City
Time Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Time, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.