We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap Price and it should be that way” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Time

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Time to your Saves list
The Time
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   224 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Wine&Wifi
Ranked #333 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Dallas, tx
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“Cheap Price and it should be that way”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed here b/c all the other hotels I usually stay in the area were booked up. It is pretty cheap for being this close to Times Square. I think the word "boutique" means very small rooms-even for NY. I was in a "large" room and I wouldnt want to have 2 people in it. My opinion is they put brigh colored bead spreads and fancy lighting in the room to distract you from the beat up furniture, old flat screen TV and small rusted out bathroom. The room just looked worn out. I will say the bed was comfortable but unfortunately my room backed up the the elevator bank and all night I could hear the elevators going up and down. I got a pretty poor nights sleep. I didnt go into the bar area, but it sounded like a night club in there. The gym was a nice size for the hotel.

I certainly would not stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear cseanmc,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on you recent stay. I apologize for your experience and I am truly sorry that you were not satisfied. I know that sincere words of regret and apology cannot make up for your disappointing visit. However, we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    495
    280
    143
    105
See reviews for
190
461
101
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is literally only 2 minutes walk to time square and therefore right in the middle of the theatre district. The front of house staff were always polite and helpful. The cleaning staff always did a great job and always said hello when we passed them in the hall. To be fair the rooms are on the small side, but the bed was comfy and they were clean. You got a complementary New York Times each morning which was a nice touch. There is a funky bar in the hotel and a restaurant, that we had a tasty breakfast two days we stayed. Some of the common areas need a lick of paint or a new carpet.

I would recommend this hotel to a young couple or people who want a base near the theartre district and they won't be spending much time in their rooms. We paid €95 per night for a double without breakfast, great value.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear cathal2008,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at The Time Hotel. We're thrilled that you enjoyed the amenities and comfort our rooms provided, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

For this price level, the Time hotel is just not enough.

The standard room is really tiny, even for New York standards, but even worse is the nagged bed cover, that makes you feel like sleeping in a run-down hostel, and hair that definitely doesn't fit the one on your head behind the door in the bathroom. For days.

On top of that, for a whole day the TV system didn't work and all answer received was "we called the service but they didn't come yet".

That the Wi-Fi doesn't automatically come free is impertinence.

On a positive note, if you book through iPrefer, their loyalty system, you get free Wi-Fi. And there's an iPod docking station and free TimeOut magazine in the room. End of positives.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear gsh_1975,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding the service at The Time Hotel. It is through direct feedback like yours we can improve our service standards. I apologize for any inconvenience you had to go and do hope that you will join us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The Time is ideally situated on W49th street , 100 yards away from all TImes Square has to offer - decent enough hotel probably a high 3 star/ low 4 star rooms are clean and comfy and I'd stay there again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear kopite7,

Thank you so much for reviewing your stay at The Time Hotel! I'm glad to hear that you had such a pleasant experience, and we look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights with my son in march. Hotel not cleanest I've stayed in but location wise for sightseeing very good. Stayed in Waldorf Astoria and intercontinental before and there is no comparison they are far superior in quality and cleanliness. Rooms at Time very small but fine as a base. Staff not as friendly as in other hotels but as usual u get what u pay for. My son at 18 loved this hotel as modern and central. Rooms just in need of tidy up paying attention to detail. Roll on next trip to New York.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Fiona H,

I am happy to read that you enjoyed Time’s location. Like you, most of our guests are thrilled to discover that the hotel boasts one of the best addresses in NYC and is located within a short walk of all of the major attractions of the city. I am very sorry and disappointed that you were not satisfied with the rest of your experience. Our ultimate goal is complete guest satisfaction. I apologize that we missed the mark. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide you with an experience that is memorable for the right reasons.

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at The Time for three nights in December. Our small group had two rooms, consisting of a one bedroom suite and a standard room. After reading many reviews before committing to this hotel we were expecting tiny accommodations, but we were pleasently surprised. The suite was very clean, with great water pressure in the shower. The fold out sofa was made with clean linen but the mattress had seen better days and would possibly give a very uncomfortable sleep for
Any one over 45kgs. Staff at the hotel were very friendly, and wonderfully helpfull but we actually didn't see a doorman until our last day so can't really comment on his effectivenes.All facilities - TV's, coffee machine, hairdryer,fridge,safe were in good working order for our entire stay.
The Time is all about the location, most major tourist attractions are within walking distance. We didn't use the bar or restaurant as this was our first visit to NYC and we were too busy racing around the city like the crazy tourists we are.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel if you want a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear chelle564,

Thank you so much for reviewing your stay at The Time Hotel! I'm glad to hear that you had such a pleasant experience, and we look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My sister and I spent 10 nights in NYC staying at The Time and couldn't have asked for a better hotel and location. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, especially for the New Year period. Although the room we stayed in was quite small you don't go to NYC to stay inside all day and it still offered us with a comfy queen size bed, television, mini bar, dresser and mirror, large wardrobe and a bathroom with shower/bath, toilet and decent sized basin.
We were in walking distance to many of the major sights NYC has to offer including Times Square, many of the Broadway theatres (less than 2 mins) the NY public Library (7min), Grand Central Station, 5th Avenue, Rockerfeller Centre, (10min) Central Park (15min) and 2 other subway stations (less than 5 min). For a first time visit in NYC you cannot ask for a better location.
The bar at the hotel offered us amazing cocktails and fine finger food for reasonable prices although being in the hub of NYC we never stayed at the bar for long. There are plenty of terrific restaurants around the hotel or else just a short cab ride away (never no more expensive than $15). The restaurant on the floor level offered an affordable and fulfilling breakfast for those mornings when we had an early start and staff were always timely and friendly.
Overall I would quite happily recommend this hotel to others, especially those wanting to travel around the Christmas/New Year period as the New Years in Times Square is literally around the corner!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Time, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Ria B,

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit with us at The Time Hotel! Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Until next time, happy travels!

Sincerely,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Time? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Time

Address: 224 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#168 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Time 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel located in the heart of Time Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The Time reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Time Hotel New York City
Time New York City
Time Hotel New York City
Time Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Time, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.