We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Time

Save Saved
You added The Time to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Time
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   224 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #325 of 451 hotels in New York City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The location was excellent close and convenient to theater. The room was very small but the service was great. We had a plumbing problem and the staff responded immediately and apologized profusely. The concierge took care of our every need. All of the staff was friendly and helpful. The room had no view but the hotel was less expensive than other Times Square hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Evcull,

Thank you so much for reviewing your stay at The Time Hotel! I'm glad to hear that you had such a pleasant experience, and we look forward to your next visit!

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    276
    456
    248
    131
    104
See reviews for
167
417
101
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
De Kalb Junction, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here 12/1/12 with my two daughters and two grandchildren. It was great! There is a parking garage directly across from the hotel where we parked our car and then we were able to walk to Time Square, Radio City Music Hall, Empire State Building and more. We had a king suite and were very comfortable. The staff is extremely friendly. Oh and we were able to leave our luggage even after we checked out for a small fee. We had dessert in the restaurant and it was amazing. The only negative was that our shower was only lukewarm.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Maryb433,

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit with us at The Time Hotel! Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Until next time, happy travels!

Best,

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is a value/budget-type hotel. If you know that going into it, you'll be fine. However, we expected something different after seeing pictures, etc and we were really disappointed.

My mom booked this hotel for a 4 night stay in NYC. She was really excited about staying in a boutique hotel right near the theaters since we were seeing some shows. The lobby and front desk staff upon arrival were great - I was excited to see the room. And then we arrived to something unexpected. Bare bones room, dirty carpet pulled up from the floor, random items lying around that made it clear it wasn't vacuumed (hair pins, etc), a moldy bathroom with a broken fan (yet very clean toilet), a TV that didn't work, heat that was stuck at a super hot temp, a closet with a broken rod and an ironing board lying on the floor. We asked to switch to a cleaner room, but after the bellman showed it to us, we realized the hotel is just old and in desperate need of repairs. As a minor solve, we actually went down to Old Navy and bought flip flops to use for the shower.

With all of that said, the hotel is super convenient to subways, transportation to the airport and of course the theaters. And the staff was very friendly. If they are able to renovate the hotel, it could be a good future option. But as of now, there are just too many options in NYC to choose from that are nicer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear withacy,

I am happy to read that you enjoyed Time’s location. Like you, most of our guests are thrilled to discover that the hotel boasts one of the best addresses in NYC and is located within a short walk of all of the major attractions of the city. I am very sorry and disappointed that you were not satisfied with the rest of your experience. Our ultimate goal is complete guest satisfaction and I apologize that we missed the mark. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide you with an experience that is memorable for the right reasons. Please contact me personally at ckatz@thetimeny.com, so that I can be of assistance with making the necessary arrangements.

Best regards,

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
groot ammers
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

bad rooms, super expensive for no worth,
false fire alarms in the mornings then an hour of brodcast to say it was a false alarm so all hotels resedents had an early wake up. no view at all, bad service, weired entrance and bad elevators

only good thing is the location but there are so many other hotels

dont stay here !

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Yariv B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on you recent stay. I apologize for your experience and I am truly sorry that you were not satisfied. I know that sincere words of regret and apology cannot make up for your disappointing visit. However, we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best,

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

good location
vvery very nery noisy rooms and also quite small
beds ok but nos sspace for luggage and clothes
topilets ok ,but also noisy
rooms near elevators are unaccpetable
front office with limited service
breakfast ok

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Jose R,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule, to provide us with your feedback from your recent stay. On behalf of the Time Hotel, I would like to apologize for our properties short comings and a stay that was less than satisfactory. If you should need anything in the near future, please feel free to reach out to me personally at ckatz@thetimeny.com.

Thank you,

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Six friends shared 1 big room. At first we were a bit concerned with size, but it worked out just fine for a 2 night stay. Had to roll out the futons ourselves and we were able to line up 5 futons side-by-side across the room. We each had a large luggage, but we were able to find room for all of our luggage to be laid out. We used every corner. With the futons laid out, we essentially were able to run across the mats, jump in the air, and pretend to do crazy martial arts poses mid-air. Fell right on the cushy futons, so it didn't hurt 1 bit.

We were very pleased with the design of the bathroom. The toilet, shower, and sink were all separate from each other, so all could be used by different people at the same time. The room was also very clean, so we had no complaints.

The onsen was enjoyable and quite nice in my opinion. I don't have anything else to compare it to, but I never felt that it was dirty or anything. Wifi only in the lobby - ask for a username and pw.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear charcharLA,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at The Time Hotel. We're thrilled that you enjoyed the amenities and comfort our rooms provided, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best,

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel was quite inexpensive by New York City standards, so we expected the worse. Our friends did have quite a small room, but ours was larger, with a king size bed comfortably fitting into it. The room was serviceable, not fancy, but very clean, and cleaned well again each day.
That matched our best wish, based on price. It is located within the Broadway show district, several theaters right on the block, so perfect for show-go'ers. It's an easy walk up to Columbus Square and the Park. Lots of restaurants nearby. Best (regarding the hotel) was that we seemed to have lots of special needs, and we had lots of courteous help from both the reception dest staff and the concierge. No problem stowing our gear either. Efficient, helpful, couldn't have asked for better. So, given the price, this was a major hit and we'll return, preferring to spend our money on shows and food, having now found a good basic hotel in the right spot, clean and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask in advance for a room likely to be larger. I'd recommend that a couple ask for two doubles s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear jenkatze,

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit with us at The Time Hotel! Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Until next time, happy travels!

Best,

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Time? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Time

Address: 224 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#160 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Time 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel located in the heart of Time Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Time reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Time Hotel New York City
Time New York City
Time Hotel New York City
Time Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Time, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.