We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want to give a good report but can't .” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Time

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Time to your Saves list
The Time
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   224 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Wine&Wifi
Ranked #332 of 459 Hotels in New York City
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Want to give a good report but can't .”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I think this might be the one of the worst hotel experiences I have ever had. From the reception desk to drinks in the lounge and everything in between.

If you decide to stay here just put your expectations in check. Service is horrible . Rooms are small and a little scary. Best thing is the location. There isn't anything else positive I can say about this venue.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Shels68,

I am happy to read that you enjoyed Time’s location. Like you, most of our guests are thrilled to discover that the hotel boasts one of the best addresses in NYC and is located within a short walk of all of the major attractions of the city. I am very sorry and disappointed that you were not satisfied with the rest of your experience. Our ultimate goal is complete guest satisfaction. I apologize that we missed the mark. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide you with an experience that is memorable for the right reasons. Please contact me personally, so that I can be of assistance with making the necessary arrangements.

Best regards,

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    495
    280
    143
    105
See reviews for
190
462
101
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A neat boutique hotel ideally located for time square. Rooms small but have all that is required for a city break for a few days. Staff good - particularly given that the area had just suffered from hurricane sandy and some staff couldn't get home - and nice lounge bar. Decent coffee shop 30 secs away from door. Expensive but we did book at the last minute due to hurricane sandy. Asked to move to a room that was a bit quieter (original backed onto lift shaft) and they accommodated the move with understanding and were very helpful. Would go again.

Room Tip: Avoid backing onto the lift shaft. Don't expect much of a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Damian A,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day, to provide us with your feedback from your recent stay at the Time Hotel. We are happy to hear, that your stay was enjoyable, during a stressful time, such as Hurricane Sandy. I will be sure to share your post with the team at the Time Hotel; we love to her positive feedback such as yours.

Best,

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here with family of 4, including 2 teenage kids, during Hurricane Sandy - hotel was excellent, and staff always helpful. Would definitely recommend - the location is amazing, just round the corner from Times Sq and also near other stuff such as the Rockefeller, Ellen's Stardust Diner and MOMA. Room was good if a little small for 4, but certainly not too small...didn't eat in restaurant downstairs but it did seem popular.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear andrewstokie,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback of your stay with us here at The Time Hotel. I will be certain to pass it on to all of our department heads to share with their staff. Receiving feedback like yours is what we strive for and this motivates our staff to do their best.

Best,

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It has been a while since I have visited NYC and I missed it so dearly. Sadly, I came at a wrong time when Hurricane Sandy hit NYC with the worst natural disaster in history. Unfortunately, I was stuck in New York City at the time but I booked two extra nights at this hotel until I was able to fly back to my home. I must say in the wake of total chaos and darkness down in the Lower Manhattan, I was happy to be safe in Midtown Manhattan. I also found that the ambiance at the Time Hotel was very pleasant. The Time also has a great team of workers especially Howard because he was very accommodating and considering how busy they were in the wake of this disaster the staff dealt with guests situations very well. I was also very satisfied with the location because it is an ideal place to stay and near the center of everything. There is the restaurant Serafina on the ground level, a bar in the hotel, literally everything I needed to stay safe for the meantime. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear TravelQueen866,

We appreciate the positive feedback, from your recent stay at the Time Hotel. I will be sure to share your comments with Howard and the rest of the team. It’s great to know that you were able to rest easy and carefree throughout your stay. We hope to welcome you back in the near future, but this time without the hurricane.

Best,

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

this hotel was great, evrything was shiny clean, the room was great, the morning staff was awseome, and the location was perfect. the beds were amazing and the room service was on point with everything. i would stay here again if i had too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Jorge P,

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit with us at The Time Hotel! Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Until next time, happy travels!

Sincerely,

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My hotel stay was amazing, so was the service, so were the people! Location is ideal because it's very close to everything. Advise everyone to experience this hotel.
The Inc lounge was awesome and so was the restaurant Serafina.

Room Tip: Deluxe Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Shail S

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit with us at The Time Hotel! Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Until next time, happy travels!

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I was stranded in the hotel during Sandy for over 3 days. The hotel is luxurious and the staff (particularly 2 chaps names Jack and Charlie) made the stay most enjoyable. Highly recommended! Great vibe, helpful staff and located in the heart of New Y

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear HG101188644,

Thank you for the post, Jack and I truly appreciate the feedback and we hope to see you in the near future.

Best,

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Time? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Time

Address: 224 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#168 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Time 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel located in the heart of Time Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Time reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Time Hotel New York City
Time New York City
Time Hotel New York City
Time Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Time, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.