We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Great Stay.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Time

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Time to your Saves list
The Time
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   224 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Snack and Save
Ranked #341 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Service, Great Stay.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It has been a while since I have visited NYC and I missed it so dearly. Sadly, I came at a wrong time when Hurricane Sandy hit NYC with the worst natural disaster in history. Unfortunately, I was stuck in New York City at the time but I booked two extra nights at this hotel until I was able to fly back to my home. I must say in the wake of total chaos and darkness down in the Lower Manhattan, I was happy to be safe in Midtown Manhattan. I also found that the ambiance at the Time Hotel was very pleasant. The Time also has a great team of workers especially Howard because he was very accommodating and considering how busy they were in the wake of this disaster the staff dealt with guests situations very well. I was also very satisfied with the location because it is an ideal place to stay and near the center of everything. There is the restaurant Serafina on the ground level, a bar in the hotel, literally everything I needed to stay safe for the meantime. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear TravelQueen866,

We appreciate the positive feedback, from your recent stay at the Time Hotel. I will be sure to share your comments with Howard and the rest of the team. It’s great to know that you were able to rest easy and carefree throughout your stay. We hope to welcome you back in the near future, but this time without the hurricane.

Best,

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    550
    303
    154
    111
See reviews for
212
517
104
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

this hotel was great, evrything was shiny clean, the room was great, the morning staff was awseome, and the location was perfect. the beds were amazing and the room service was on point with everything. i would stay here again if i had too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Jorge P,

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit with us at The Time Hotel! Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Until next time, happy travels!

Sincerely,

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My hotel stay was amazing, so was the service, so were the people! Location is ideal because it's very close to everything. Advise everyone to experience this hotel.
The Inc lounge was awesome and so was the restaurant Serafina.

Room Tip: Deluxe Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Shail S

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit with us at The Time Hotel! Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Until next time, happy travels!

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I was stranded in the hotel during Sandy for over 3 days. The hotel is luxurious and the staff (particularly 2 chaps names Jack and Charlie) made the stay most enjoyable. Highly recommended! Great vibe, helpful staff and located in the heart of New Y

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear HG101188644,

Thank you for the post, Jack and I truly appreciate the feedback and we hope to see you in the near future.

Best,

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Me and my family got stuck at The Time Hotel for this horrific week. Thank god we were placed in a hotel and one, has a bar, two has a restaurant, and three, has some of the best staff I have ever seen. Jack and Andre, my front desk agents constantly provided updates, humor, and reassurance that all would be well among the chaos outside. The rooms are certainty not the biggest, but come on its times square in NYC!! If you want space go to the plaza or something. If you want a cool, hip, fun spot to lay low and really feel the personal connection between staff then this is your spot. I just wish we had more movie channels for the storm! Regardless, We will deff be back and again and I must say the entire staff, especially Andre and Jack should be told that their cool really helped us maintain ours.

Room Tip: more of an adult hotel with the bar in the back of reception. Although I saw plenty of kids, prob be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Shail S,

Thank you so much for reviewing your stay at The Time Hotel! I'm glad to hear that you had such a pleasant experience, and we look forward to your next visit!

Best,

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The Time hotel is an excellent hotel, located in Times Square.
The room was fantastic, people were so polite.
Sure next time we visit New York we will stay at Time Hotel.
The most important was the location, five minutes walk for Times square, 15 minutes walk from Central Park and more other places. If you want to see many things in New York I think this is the best Hotel you can stay.
Rooms and hotel premises are very clean, quite rooms and comfortable beds.
I strongly recommended The Time hotel.
Thank you so much for everything. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .... . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Mike I,

We are happy to hear that you found the Time Hotel during the hurricane week. We are even happier to hear that we provided you with the amenities and team needed to weather the storm. I will be certain to share your comments with Jack and Andre, and from the entire team at the Time Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best,

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

For $475 + Tax/night. It is a complete robbery! I can't believe they have the audacity to charge this much for what it is. It is the smallest and shabbiest hotel room my husband and I have ever stayed. And it is filthy! Hotel needs a complete sanitary makeover. It is absolutely CRIMINAL for them to take advantage of people who are stranded in NYC!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear EW001,

We sincerely apologize for a stay that was less than satisfactory. Please note that the rates throughout the city were already at a high prior to Hurricane Sandy. With the NYC Marathon, Halloween Weekend and other city events NYC is a popular destination in late October. We do hope to make it up to you next time around.

Sincerely,

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Night Times Square
Night Times Square
#327 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,125 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#348 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,033 reviews
Midtown
Night Theater District
Night Theater District
#207 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Amsterdam Court Hotel
#325 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,937 reviews
Midtown
TRYP by Wyndham New York Times Square
TRYP by Wyndham New York Times S...
#371 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,470 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#192 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Time? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Time

Address: 224 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#188 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Time 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Time New York offers travelers an urban lifestyle destination with a refined edge in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. The Time New York is undergoing a floor-to-ceiling renovation and redesign by the award-winning Rockwell Group, slated for completion Fall 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your The Time reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Time Hotel New York City
Time New York City
Time Hotel New York City
Time Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Time, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.