We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Time hotel is excellent.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Time

Save Saved
You added The Time to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Time
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   224 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #318 of 446 hotels in New York City
Limassol, Cyprus
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Time hotel is excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The Time hotel is an excellent hotel, located in Times Square.
The room was fantastic, people were so polite.
Sure next time we visit New York we will stay at Time Hotel.
The most important was the location, five minutes walk for Times square, 15 minutes walk from Central Park and more other places. If you want to see many things in New York I think this is the best Hotel you can stay.
Rooms and hotel premises are very clean, quite rooms and comfortable beds.
I strongly recommended The Time hotel.
Thank you so much for everything. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .... . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Mike I,

We are happy to hear that you found the Time Hotel during the hurricane week. We are even happier to hear that we provided you with the amenities and team needed to weather the storm. I will be certain to share your comments with Jack and Andre, and from the entire team at the Time Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best,

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    266
    451
    233
    129
    99
See reviews for
157
382
91
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

For $475 + Tax/night. It is a complete robbery! I can't believe they have the audacity to charge this much for what it is. It is the smallest and shabbiest hotel room my husband and I have ever stayed. And it is filthy! Hotel needs a complete sanitary makeover. It is absolutely CRIMINAL for them to take advantage of people who are stranded in NYC!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear EW001,

We sincerely apologize for a stay that was less than satisfactory. Please note that the rates throughout the city were already at a high prior to Hurricane Sandy. With the NYC Marathon, Halloween Weekend and other city events NYC is a popular destination in late October. We do hope to make it up to you next time around.

Sincerely,

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Fantastic hotel. Service was fab. So close to Broadway. The rooms were small but it was fine. The bar was chic and and food we had was gorgeous. This was for our honeymoon and we could not have picked a better hotel for the sight seeing trip we wanted. Loved it and will come again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Michelle T,

I am happy to read that you enjoyed Time’s location. Like you, most of our guests are thrilled to discover that the hotel boasts one of the best addresses in NYC and is located within a short walk of all of the major attractions of the city. We are also thrilled to hear that you took advantage of the many amenities we have to offer. Congratulations on your recent wedding, and we hope to see you again.

Best,

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Booked last minute as a surprise overnight get-away with the wife. Best part was the ultimate suprise; It's right next door to our theater the Eugene O'Neill for Book of Mormon... what a great fluke that was.... The rooms are small. No other way to say it. The bed, and then a path around 3 sides. Our view was of the building next to us. Haven't spent much time in NYC so I'll assume that's standard. Closet non-existant; a cut-out hidden by a curtain. I guess that's all you need. Bathroom small but functional. Little shelf space. Great location overall. Dining option in building.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Livinthedream34678,

Thank you so much for reviewing your stay at The Time Hotel! I'm glad to hear that you had such a pleasant experience, and we look forward to your next visit!

Best,

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The rooms are small but they actually the regular for a hotel room new York .
The staff were very helpful!
We asked to move to a different room cause our room got a lot of noise from other buildings,
The staff immediately understood and moved us right away.
The bathroom was fully equipped with everything u need !

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Or G,

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit with us at The Time Hotel! Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Until next time, happy travels!

Best,

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Microscopic room with even more microscopic bathroom, you need to shower sideways. Overpriced and overrated, this is not a 4 star hotel. It needs maintenance in elevators, carpets and walls. However, service is extraordinary from doorman to front desk. Location is unbeatable, just a few steps from Times Square.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Chevy10_10,

I would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Time Hotel, and also for your feedback on your experience. The feedback provided is crucial for us to identify problems and address them. We thank you for recognizing the Time Hotel Team, for their outstanding service, and I will be sure to pass along your post. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you,

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This place is overpriced and has the smallest rooms I have ever seen. We booked our room on hotwire for two people. When we arrived we got a room that was literally the size of a walk-in closet. Laying on the bed sideways, my hands touched one wall and my feet touched the other. This room was barely large enough for one person!! How do I know it was a single occupancy room? There was but one robe!!

Look elsewhere--there are better options in NYC!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Susan R,

Thank you for your review. It appears the problems you experienced stem from your booking through Hotwire. Next time I hope you book through us and we can ensure you will not face the same issues regarding the room and special requests. We will also be contacting Hotwire to let them know about how your experience adversely impacted your stay with us.

Best,

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Time? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Time

Also Known As:
The Time Hotel
The Time Hotel New York City
Time New York City
Time Hotel New York City
Time Hotel New York
Time Hotel
Time Hotel Nyc
Address: 224 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#157 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Time 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Loews Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Time reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Time, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.