We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel New York” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mercer Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Mercer Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mercer Hotel
147 Mercer St, at Prince St, New York City, NY 10012 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #176 of 453 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Feel New York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Oh I love the Mercer. It captures NYC essence like no other place: trendily elegant, comfortably exciting, great people watching and yet low key. Courteous staff, great service. Fantastic food whether you have room service or go down for dinner. I've been staying there over the last ten years and it's always a treat.

Room Tip: It's NYC so bigger is better and higher floors would be quieter. Corner suits are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    44
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
21
68
15
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I book 3 rooms for my family's visit at the Mercer. 2 Courtyard rooms for the children and a Deluxe Studio for the parents.

Due to the Mercer's strategic location - very close to 4 major train stations - and super helpful front desk staffs, we had the best time in New York during our 8 days and 7 night stays.

If you want to experience super chic yet relaxed New York experience, there is no better place to stay in Soho. Book early, especially in the Summer.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stumbled across this hotel and ate in the restaurant which is in the basement of the hotel Fantastic food, delicious salads and brilliant service. This place was a great place to start our stay in the City. I would really recommend a visit. You might need to book first, as we had to wait for a table.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
420 reviews 420 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
260 helpful votes 260 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We didn't stay at the Mercer but ate in the restaurant. Next time we are in NY we may well stay here. In a great location in the heart of SoHo this is the place to stay and be seen. Walk outside and Prada is across the road. It's own restaurant is great with excellent food but the place is surrounded with great shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I must put up friends, colleagues and so on, in NY all the time. Money allowing, I recommend them this fantastic hotel (which includes a huge, great restaurant downstairs).
It's a boutique hotel in the heart of SoHo - and needs no superlatives.

LOVE
Gerald Thomas

Room Tip: Should you dine there, have the lobster dish or appetizer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I have been staying at The Mercer for the last ten years and never hesitate in choosing this Hotel every time I visit NYC.
The hotel staff are always welcoming and the service is excellent.
I would have no hesitation in recommending The Mercer to anyone and I much prefer the Soho location.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe or loft room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I have stayed at The Mercer a few times and am always pleased with the excellent customer service. The staff go over and above to be helpful but are discreet at the same time. The rooms are clean and modern and the lounge is perfect for having a coffee and people watching in the mornings. Expensive but you definitely get what you pay for.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mercer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mercer Hotel

Address: 147 Mercer St, at Prince St, New York City, NY 10012
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , SoHo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#182 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate boutique hotel housed in 6-story brick, Romanesque Revival building dating from 1890, originally built for John Astor II. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Mercer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercer Hotel New York City
Mercer New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mercer Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;