We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First night in New York” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mercer Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Mercer Hotel to your Saves list
The Mercer Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   147 Mercer St, at Prince St, New York City, NY 10012 (SoHo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #259 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Salisbury
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“First night in New York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stumbled across this hotel and ate in the restaurant which is in the basement of the hotel Fantastic food, delicious salads and brilliant service. This place was a great place to start our stay in the City. I would really recommend a visit. You might need to book first, as we had to wait for a table.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    50
    21
    12
    6
See reviews for
23
79
16
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
673 reviews 673 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
346 helpful votes 346 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We didn't stay at the Mercer but ate in the restaurant. Next time we are in NY we may well stay here. In a great location in the heart of SoHo this is the place to stay and be seen. Walk outside and Prada is across the road. It's own restaurant is great with excellent food but the place is surrounded with great shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I must put up friends, colleagues and so on, in NY all the time. Money allowing, I recommend them this fantastic hotel (which includes a huge, great restaurant downstairs).
It's a boutique hotel in the heart of SoHo - and needs no superlatives.

LOVE
Gerald Thomas

Room Tip: Should you dine there, have the lobster dish or appetizer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I have been staying at The Mercer for the last ten years and never hesitate in choosing this Hotel every time I visit NYC.
The hotel staff are always welcoming and the service is excellent.
I would have no hesitation in recommending The Mercer to anyone and I much prefer the Soho location.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe or loft room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I have stayed at The Mercer a few times and am always pleased with the excellent customer service. The staff go over and above to be helpful but are discreet at the same time. The rooms are clean and modern and the lounge is perfect for having a coffee and people watching in the mornings. Expensive but you definitely get what you pay for.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Great hotel, great location, great staff. Friendly and welcoming with excellent touches, I live in NYC and check in here when i want to destress! Always good food and a great place from which to wander around.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mclean, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

A little jewel of a hotel with perfectly comfortable rooms, wonderful shower and the latest FACE Stockholm bathroom amenities. A truly posh experience that makes affordable luxury an absolute reality in New York's SOHO. Wonderful shopping, terrific new trendy restaurants and easy access to everywhere.
The best part of this hotel are the very people that make this property hum so effortlessly. The General Manger, Gilles Stellardo must be so very proud of his team. As a first time guest at this very comfortable but unpretentious hotel, I could not help but feel all the luxury qualities of The Four Season, Mandarin Oriental, The Park Hyatt and the Peninsula Hotel but the charm and friendliness of some of the best Leading Hotels of The World. The Mercer Hotel has a terrific feel about it. One that should be experience with a loved one and without any apprehension.
My very best experience in this hotel was the exceptional service at the Mercer Kitchen restaurant and the delightful menu served in the lobby area. What a wonderful team of true professionals. My biggest congratulations go to Chef Veronica Gittens. She is simply brilliant and her food creations out of this world. And so confirmed by my guest and friend Chef Jonathan Krinn and my four other hungry guests. Thank you Chef Veronica for a truly memorable Friday March 28, 2014.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Mercer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mercer Hotel

Address: 147 Mercer St, at Prince St, New York City, NY 10012
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#153 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#171 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Mercer Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate boutique hotel housed in 6-story brick, Romanesque Revival building dating from 1890, originally built for John Astor II. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Mercer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercer Hotel New York City
Mercer New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mercer Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.