We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mercer Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Mercer Hotel to your Saves list
The Mercer Hotel
147 Mercer St, at Prince St, New York City, NY 10012 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #183 of 457 Hotels in New York City
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Everything seems effortless thanks to the friendly, efficient staff and "cool" decor. The best thing about the room was the large bath opening out into the bedroom. Food in "(The Kitchen)" exactly the sort of no-nonsense menu good for jet-lagged travellers. The elegant, comfortable foyer is a good place for meetings over a cup of coffee.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    47
    21
    10
    6
See reviews for
22
73
16
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We arrived in SoHo to do some Christmas shopping. Our cab pulled up to a door void of any sign and a doorman dressed in all black opened the cab door. A group of people on the street were all vying for our cab so he fended them off and made an opening for us to reach the door. Our "celebrity status" was quickly dismantled when we reached the front desk. The staff stared like zombies into computer screens while the bellman broke them from their silence to check us in. The girl went though the motions and waived us to the elevators. The very dark elevators. So dark that you could not see the buttons. While still trying to find our floor the doors closed and the elevator started moving. The doors reopened and there was the bellman! Hoorah! Here again to save the day!

He showed us into our tiny modern and minimal room (but in a good way like "less is more"). I felt like I was moving into a studio apartment in SoHo. A marble wet bar stocked with everything from candles to cognac. The most amazing alarm clock ever. Posh magazines and books to inspire our stay. Oh and a bathroom right out of the show, nip/tuck. Cookies, fruit and flowers adorned the table for my mom's birthday.

The following days the front desk "girls" as I will call them continued to be part of a social club with each other. A "click" of which the guests were not allowed to join or interfere with. The elevators were down when we return to the hotel that afternoon. We inquired about the stairs and they told us to use the elevators. When we told them that the other staff member told us the elevators were not working they told us that he didn't know what he was talking about. We went back to the elevators and again they did not come. Another staff member walked by and told us to use the stairs again so we again inquired as to where they were. Following his directions we ended up in a service area with everyone staring at us but no one offered to help. After climbing 6 floors another staff member on the 6th floor told us that the stairs were not for guests and that we were to use the elevators. We told him that they were down. He denied the fact. For the cost of a room at The Mercer, I will use the stairs whether the elevator is working or not.

The next evening we went to the Mercer Kitchen for dinner. Another amazing space with equally amazing food. (If there is one thing this hotel can do it's pump out great food in a timely manner.) After dinner we walked back up to the lobby where we asked if someone could take our photo. We were told that the hotel has a policy against taking photos in the lobby. Not even an offer to take the photo someplace else. It had become apparent that we were interfering with their computer screen starring so we went back to our room.

Room Tip: We were in room 603 right above the front entrance to the hotel. The room provided a great view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

If you want to stay in SoHo, you have a couple of options. The best, by far, is Mercer. The crowd is very hip and trendy, but the service is very personal. The food at the mercer kitchen or anywhere in the hotel is very good. Much more interesting than Trump and by far a better choice than SoHo Grand or any of its peers!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
1,593 helpful votes 1,593 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I stayed for one night a few days ago and although I would not mind coming back, I am not holding my breath. There really is not much to complain about - except maybe the poor lighting in the elevator ( I´ll bring my night vision goggles next time). The problem is that the Mercer did not tickle my senses. Beautiful lobby, nice rooms, nice staff - but not very nice ( they will not get an Oscar for acting sincere about their welcome wishes; no offense taken). For 700 dollars a night I would expect more, but this is New York - not Bangkok.

That said, now I know what to expect and the Mercer was good enough to try it one more time. I think.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Truly outstanding engaged staff, their actions to execute guest requests is unparalleled. Contemporary luxury rooms fill an understated theme of decor! Room amenities are of extraordinary caliber and quality! Numerous neighborhood conviences very close. High end International flavor to guests visiting this hotel. I will be returning on an upcoming visit to Manhattan

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberystwyth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Just left the Mercer an hour ago, and it was wonderful from start to finish. My daughter treated me for my 50th birthday, and from the time we walked in there to the time we left we were treated like royalty. When we got to our room there was a bottle of wine and a birthday cake waiting for me. We arrived early so could not check in, but they were happy too take our bags, and ring us when we were ready and had already deposited our luggage in our room. The rooms are immaculate, and they even came to turn down our bed and left water for us while we were out. The staff couldnt do enough th help. I would recommend the Mercer to anyone who wants to treat someone special, and would stay there all the time if I could afford it !

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Mercer is a hip, chic hotel, but there was something about it that I found cold, almost antiseptic. Our room was small, very stark white, except for a moss colored sofa that had a few stains on it. The bathroom is luxurious, but again, reminded me of an operating room, right down to the metal cart with toiletries on it. The bed was extremely comfortable and it was all well appointed, but I did not find the atmosphere cozy, warm or in any way romantic. When we checked in the room darkening shades were drawn and I thought it was really depressing. Very disappointing for a rare one night getaway with spouse. They did graciously send us a bottle of champagne when they found out we were celebrating our anniversary. I guess it just wasn't the right hotel for me.

Room Tip: Ask for the biggest room they have, we had a deluxe king suite and it was pretty small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mercer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mercer Hotel

Address: 147 Mercer St, at Prince St, New York City, NY 10012
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , SoHo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#166 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate boutique hotel housed in 6-story brick, Romanesque Revival building dating from 1890, originally built for John Astor II. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith and Jetsetter so you can book your The Mercer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercer Hotel New York City
Mercer New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mercer Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.