We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mercer gets better and better. Shhhhhh...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mercer Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Mercer Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mercer Hotel
147 Mercer St, at Prince St, New York City, NY 10012 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #205 of 449 hotels in New York City
Chicago
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Mercer gets better and better. Shhhhhh...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

Ive stayed at the Mercer several times and it just gets better and better. I don't even want to write this review for fear of having my favorite hotel overrun.

The Mercer feels like home to me - welcoming and cozy. I love the design of the rooms, the clean unpretentious decor, the loft feel, the huge bathtubs and the wonderful bedding. I love the location - away from touristy midtown and times sq, but only 10 mins by subway. Soho right out your door. The hotel service is impeccable - the staff is completely attentive to your needs.

Walking through those curtained doors into the fabulous lobby changes me. If you can swing it, there's not a better hotel/location in NYC, imho.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    43
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
19
68
14
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

went to the Mercer for 3 nights, the stay was great. The Mercer is in a very good location with funky shop around and also great restaurants.
It also have a casual restaurant itself which serve great food. The hotel staff is fantastic, helpful and well informed about what is going on in New York. Could not recommend The Mercer more.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

This hotel needs to get over itself. My mom, sister and I have a girls trip every year and we have stayed in the property many times in one of the large suites. They are cool. But, the service this time was horrible. The wait staff in the hotel guest only dining space was incompetent, non attentive, and condescending. However, the food, when it finally showed up, was very good. The front desk staff was cold and impersonal. We spent a lot of money and left very dissatified. Next year, we will go to a place where our business is welcomed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wash DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012 via mobile

I wouldn't stay at this hotel again until it has been remodeled. For $800/night I was expecting something much cleaner but this hotel is rundown, dirty and needs to be updated. It has several mystery stains throughout. I regret my decision to stay here and would not recommend this hotel to anyone at any price.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antequera, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

What a fantastic hotel! I stayed here with a friend celebrating her birthday and we had an amazing time.
Great location, cosy lobby/bar, helpful staff,in the middle of SoHo, fantastic cocktails, good food, great rooms....we absolutely loved this place from the first second we walked in and were very sad to leave

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Mercer Hotel for 6 nights for our honeymoon. The staff were friendly and helpful, and gave us an upgrade. We were pleased with the size of the room (as we had heard to expect small rooms everywhere in NYC). The room was clean and the bathroom was large. The Mercer Kitchen is a great place to eat or have a drink at, as well as in the lobby. The location is perfect. You are able to walk straight outside onto the cobblestone streets and you are minutes away from cafes, bars, restaurants and shopping. It is rather expensive, but we felt it was well worth it. We would like to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We spent 5 nights at the Mercer for New Eve. We originally booked a Mercer room but have been upgraded to a Deluxe Studio. The room was fairly big for NYC (i would say 40m2) with a very good bed, high ceiling and a nice bathroom. The style of the room is slightly cold but i guess it is a question of taste. House keeping and bell service are very good.
The big plus of the Mercer is its location, in the middle of Soho and there is very little alternatives in terms of high end hotels. This probably explains why they charge such high prices, although service does not follow:

- there is no concierge. We asked some ideas for gospel in Harlem and the front desk lady made a basic google search and printed the first page for us. Quite frustrating for a 5 star hotel

- we ordered breakfast in room once. The pastries were not fresh and one plate was...dirty. Not really acceptable when you charge 600 usd per night

- there is no spa and no fitness center (you are given a pass to the Equinox around the corner)

To summarise, this is an overpriced hotel and there are probably much better alternatives if you are prepared to walk a little bit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mercer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mercer Hotel

Address: 147 Mercer St, at Prince St, New York City, NY 10012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , SoHo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#193 Business Hotel in New York City
#240 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate boutique hotel housed in 6-story brick, Romanesque Revival building dating from 1890, originally built for John Astor II. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Jetsetter so you can book your The Mercer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercer Hotel New York City
Mercer New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mercer Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.