We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff, lovely room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Mark to your Saves list
The Mark
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Madison Avenue at 77th Street, 25 East 77th Street, New York City, NY 10078 (Upper East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Preferred Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #24 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff, lovely room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed 3 nights in January 2015. The staff is superb. The doorman left an impression with me - always genuine and offering directions. Seamless check-in. The rooms are varied. We stayed in a suite with a bedroom, small sitting area and small galley kitchen. I loved the storage space in the room, allowed us to clear our clutter. Beds were comfortable, electric blinds worked, kitchen had it all (fridge, stove, microwave). The tub was amazing, the deepest I've ever been in. Awesome. The location is truly Upper East Side with designer stores right there on Madison, and only a few short blocks to Central Park. In terms of overall value, it's expensive for what you get. eg: a room with kitchen and sitting room is $1,100-$1,300 a night. For a couple and a short stay, it's worth it. With children, no way. The New York Palace is half the price and better located for kids. For longer stays, I'd recommend checking out One Fine Stay - they rent out high end apartments for one week or more. Two bedroom with full kitchen for $550 a night. If you need a kitchen, this is a better alternative. If you want a lovely hotel experience in a wonderful location, The Mark is an excellent choice.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    70
    22
    8
    1
See reviews for
88
167
43
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shelburne, Vermont
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Located in a lovely Upper East Side neighborhood, The Mark sadly lacks the charm of The Lowell and the grace of The Carlyle. Our rooms were furnished in a rather unattractive mix of styles. Furthermore, the noise from the street was LOUD, interrupting our sleep. Peaceful it was not.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier L, General Manager at The Mark, responded to this review, 1 week ago
I must admit that I am rather surprised to read this review, as the design and décor of our hotel often receives praise for its “charming exterior” and “bold mix of elegance and modernity” within the public spaces. Furthermore, we receive many compliments regarding the comfort and understated style of our guest rooms and suites. Yet, I understand that not all tastes and preferences are alike, and have learned that certain guests prefer a more obsolete atmosphere. I am however sorry to hear that your sleep was disturbed due to outside noise. While our neighborhood does provide a quieter alternative to the bustle of midtown, there are times that the sounds of the city can be heard from inside, and for this I apologize. Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback and if there is anything we can do to assist in your returning stay, please do not hesitate to ask.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
165 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
552 helpful votes 552 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were upgraded to a larger room. This was both good and bad, as it was located on the second floor at the front of the building just above the entrance. New York never sleeps, so even in a fairly quiet neighbourhood, you can get some noise. Ask for a higher floor if noise bothers you.

But on the positive side, the room was spacious and the bathroom excellent. And being on the second floor meant that we could skip the elevator and take the stairs, which was great. There was a person providing shoe shines on the second floor. They never seemed that busy, but it was handy to have.

The hotel has an elegant restaurant. Breakfast isn't included, but (depending on your package) they give you $60 each to spend, which just about buys pancakes and coffee! We preferred to sit in the sunny part of the restaurant; apparently so does everyone else. The staff try to seat you in the darker section where no one wants to be. It's fine during dinner, though.

I would rate the service as perfectly fine, but not outstanding. No one wowed us, but no one disappointed us either.

If you're staying on the Upper East Side, definitely consider staying at this hotel. It's a short walk to the Carlyle, where you can get a drink in the iconic bar. And the great NYC museums are a short or short-ish walk away.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great renovation in UES NYC euro-attitude hotel. Fashion week and Valentines Day stretched staff to the breaking point. 40 minute wait for car, jammed street and indifferent Concierge on Sunday morning (wow, she gets paid to be that way? Is Don Rickles looking for a job?). BUT many staff members were simply lovely and made the extra step to serve us and other people. We truly enjoyed ourselves and overlooked the mayhem due to one of their busiest weekends. Bathroom was solid and we had a great sleep. We will absolutely come back on another weekend and be sure not to use the Concierge.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier L, General Manager at The Mark, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
I appreciate the time you took to share your overall experience with us. Although I am happy to hear that you truly enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be charming and courteous, I am disappointed that you did not receive the same level of service from every member of our concierge. Despite the full capacity of the hotel this past weekend, this is by no means a typical standard of service for The Mark, and I deeply apologize for this inconsistency. Please rest assured that we are following up accordingly to ensure your feedback is appropriately acknowledged. This missed opportunity to give you a fully enjoyable experience is something we could never abide by, and if there is anything we can do to assist in your returning stay, please do not hesitate to ask.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been going to New York frequently lately and just love the city. We stayed at the Mark this time and absolutely loved it.
The room was fantastic and the bathroom outstanding. The water pressure in the shower could not have been better.
We ordered food up in the room the first night and it was amazing. We ate in the restaurant the night after and again a great meal.

I must say I was overly pleased with The Mark.

I will probably be my hotel of choice for a long while.

Julie

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This has to be my top choice for a New York hotel. I had a suite, I love hotels built with noble materials. THis is one of them. The location is great it is a part of the upper east side that is the most desirable. Nothing to look out for just wonderful.

Room Tip: If breakfast is not included it is a bit pricy and you can find something close to the hotel more re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our third stay at The Mark. This hotel keeps drawing us to return with accommodations that are luxurious but at a cost that is not. The service of all the staff is outstanding. The neighborhood is a combination of residential and shops/restaurants. We love the bathroom and the shower is excellent. One block from Central Park. We think that this hotel should rank as the best luxury hotel in NYC with a boutique feel. Highly recommend The Mark.

Room Tip: Recommend a room along Madison Ave. Or East 77th St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mark

Address: Madison Avenue at 77th Street, 25 East 77th Street, New York City, NY 10078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
#17 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#30 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#31 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mark 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mark is housed, as it has always been, in the beautiful, 1927 landmark building at the corner of 77th Street and Madison Avenue. But, inside, the Mark has been completely reimagined, and given new life and identity for the 21st century. Newly reborn, The Mark combines old-world comfort, avant-garde design, up-to-the-minute technology and an unprecedented level of personal service to create the finest five-star hotel of the 21st century. Drawing on the expertise of an extraordinary group of talent – foremost, among them, the designer Jacques Grange, Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten, hair stylist Frederic Fekkai and the hotel general manager Olivier Lordonnois – The Mark Hotel is now a beacon of high French style, and modern American technology and comfort. The delights of The Mark are both bold and discreet. The graphic lobby is colorful and convivial, situated with unique objects d’art that surprise and intrigue. Studded in one of New York's most exclusive neighborhoods, The Mark is surrounded by the world's premier museums, shops, restaurants and the splendor of Central Park. The Mark not only surrounds you in luxury and style, it places you at the epicenter of Manhattan’s social and cultural riches. The Mark Restaurant by Jean-Georges, set within The Mark Hotel has received a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator in 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Mark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Hotel New York City
Mark New York City
Mark Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.