We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mark

Save Saved
You added The Mark to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Mark
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Madison Avenue at 77th Street, 25 East 77th Street, New York City, NY 10078 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 446 hotels in New York City
boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great location, great service, wonderful rooms, comfy beds. All and all a great place to stay. Location on the upper east side is nice for shopping or going for a run in the park. My go to place in NYC

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor as Madison can be a noisy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    267
    54
    20
    5
    1
See reviews for
75
128
33
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from NYC and stayed in a junior suite at the Mark. Great location to Central Park, staff brilliant, room excellent. Nice touch of a bottle of champagne and a cake for my wife's birthday. Will definitely return and highly recommend. Garbage collection a bit noisy in the morning (early) but no fault of the hotels. Only disappointment was no free wi-fi

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier L, General Manager at The Mark, responded to this review, 6 days ago
I greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide a review of your stay on both Booking.com and Trip Advisor. It is always encouraging to hear compliments on our suite accommodations, as well as our staff’s level of service. I hope your wife had a memorable birthday celebration in New York City and enjoyed the cake and champagne. I only wish you had mentioned that you were having trouble connecting to our internet during your stay, as our hotel does offer complimentary Wi-Fi to all guests. Thank you for the wonderful recommendation and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location is great: a block from the park, next to the Whitney museum, close to all the nice stores on Madison.
The rooms are beautifully decorated and have great large bathrooms. We loved the mini-bar- best ever mini-bar I have seen so far!
The staff - concierge, reception and maids- are lovely and the restaurant - for breakfast and for dinner- is incredible.
When it is not high-season in Manhattan, it is the best hotel in town - for its value.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Many years ago, we stayed at the Mark Hotel, pre-renovation, and loved it then. The oak bar with forest green leather chairs, the black and white tiled floors and bathrooms, the New York City feel...all was glorious. I was initially skeptical about the renewed, refurbished Mark, and worried it might be too flashy and lose its previous character. Those fears turned out to be unfounded - the new, improved Mark retained its marvelous, boutique, uptown New York City character without sacrificing one iota of modern luxury. First, let me say, the Mark is one of the few hotels in the US that serves a proper afternoon British-style tea, complete with authentic scones and clotted cream. While such may be of little consequence to the average American, it was hugely important to me. Second, the restaurant offers exceptional cuisine. My friend and I had dinner there and left feeling quite overcome by the culinary bliss - the crab with a crisp Sancerre is not to be beaten. Third, the rooms have now been retrofitted with great taste to add the modern touches missing before - enormous and highly-functional closest space, grand and full outfitted bath room, a mini-bar to rival the most glamorous 5-star hotels. And all of this is delivered in an unpretentious, somewhat low-key manner. The staff offer unparalleled service - opening every door, securing taxis, delivering extra towels, extra drinks, and swift responsiveness at every turn. The door man even gave me a Mark hotel umbrella, and I use it to this day (thank you!). I stayed in a queen room that never felt small or cramped in any way - the space has been so well designed to function at a high level and feel uncluttered. The unrivaled location sets you at the door step of Central Park, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, and Madison Avenue's art gallery haven. I love the intimate feel of this hotel and plan on making it my New York home base many times in the future. I am also a fan of the Ritz-Carlton properties, and what I would say to those who ask is that the feel of the two hotels can be quite different, and difficult to compare. While more expansive, the Ritz properties offer an excellent, business-like experience. The intimate boutique feel of the Mark, combined with its location, make it an equal and excellent choice. If staying downtown, I would choose the Ritz; when staying up town, the Mark gets my vote.

Room Tip: I find the rooms that face away from the streets are best - very quiet and comforting. For business...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier L, General Manager at The Mark, responded to this review, 1 week ago
It was a pleasure having you stay at The Mark and I greatly appreciate you writing such an exceptional review! It is rewarding to hear such positive feedback from a guest who has visited us before and after our redesign. I am delighted that you found us to have the same elegant charm, yet with added modernity and style. I will share your compliments with our staff, as I know they will be pleased to hear your description of their unparalleled service. The restaurant and in-room dining team will also be informed of how much you enjoyed your afternoon tea, as well as your meal at The Mark Restaurant by Jean-Georges. We greatly appreciate your loyalty and are very much looking forward to welcoming you back on your future visits to New York City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was visiting NYC for business and to see the Whitney Biennel. Easy walk to the Whitney from the Mark, and not far from my appointments in mid-town. My room was extremely nice and well-designed. Best array of mini-bar snacks I have ever seen. Double sink perfect for couples. Breakfast was delicious, I recommend trying the creative, healthy, delicious smoothies.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent four nights in the hotel as part of our honeymoon. Everything was faultless, but what was particularly memorable was the attentiveness of the staff who had the perfect balance of being very friendly and helpful without being intrusive. A big highlight for us was The Mark breakfast. We were already thinking about it when we went to bed already!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier L, General Manager at The Mark, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We are so pleased that you chose to stay at The Mark during your honeymoon! Your compliments will be immediately shared with our staff, as they will be delighted to hear that they were able to make this special occasion even more memorable for you both. I am thankful that you had such a flawless experience, and that you enjoyed our Mark breakfast. Congratulations to you both, and we hope to welcome you back again on your next visit to New York City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent location - quick walk to Central Park, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, shopping, cafes, etc.
Quiet, upscale, residential street (perfect for those who want a retreat from the confusion and noise of the city).
Clean, comfortable rooms.
Helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mark

Also Known As:
The Mark Hotel New York City
The Mark Hotel
Mark New York City
Mark Hotel New York City
Mark Hotel New York
Address: Madison Avenue at 77th Street, 25 East 77th Street, New York City, NY 10078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in New York City
#15 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#91 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mark 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mark is housed, as it has always been, in the beautiful, 1927 landmark building at the corner of 77th Street and Madison Avenue. But, inside, the Mark has been completely reimagined, and given new life and identity for the 21st century. Newly reborn, The Mark combines old-world comfort, avant-garde design, up-to-the-minute technology and an unprecedented level of personal service to create the finest five-star hotel of the 21st century. Drawing on the expertise of an extraordinary group of talent – foremost, among them, the designer Jacques Grange, Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten, hair stylist Frederic Fekkai and the hotel general manager Olivier Lordonnois – The Mark Hotel is now a beacon of high French style, and modern American technology and comfort. The delights of The Mark are both bold and discreet. The graphic lobby is colorful and convivial, situated with unique objects d’art that surprise and intrigue. Studded in one of New York's most exclusive neighborhoods, The Mark is surrounded by the world's premier museums, shops, restaurants and the splendor of Central Park. The Mark not only surrounds you in luxury and style, it places you at the epicenter of Manhattan’s social and cultural riches. The Mark Restaurant by Jean-Georges, set within The Mark Hotel has received a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator in 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Otel, Venere, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Mark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.