We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fashionable, boutique hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Mark to your Saves list
The Mark
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Madison Avenue at 77th Street, 25 East 77th Street, New York City, NY 10078 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Preferred Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Ancaster, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fashionable, boutique hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Excellent location - quick walk to Central Park, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, shopping, cafes, etc.
Quiet, upscale, residential street (perfect for those who want a retreat from the confusion and noise of the city).
Clean, comfortable rooms.
Helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    65
    20
    7
    1
See reviews for
86
154
42
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed at The Mark for three days, the room was well-appointed and pleasant, apart from the climate control which was rather unresponsive.
While the reception staff working at night was professional and friendly, we were quite taken aback by the repeated dismissiveness and displays arrogance by one of the receptionists during our stay. I did not feel like complaining to Management at the time, but it was quite annoying and certainly reduced our overall enjoyment. I do not understand how a company can keep such a person on its staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier L, General Manager at The Mark, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
I greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us. Although I am pleased that you found your room to be pleasant and well appointed, it is unfortunate to hear that a member of our reception staff was unable to meet the level of personal service that we strive to achieve. On behalf of The Mark, I apologize for this unpleasant behavior, and assure you that this feedback will be regarded in a constructive manner. If you wish to discuss this matter further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Thank you again for your review and I hope that you will consider The Mark on your next visit to New York City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a last minute anniversary trip. We chose it based mainly on location and reviews. It was way beyond our expectations! What struck us the most was the way the staff was so friendly and helpful in a very genuine way. Many times when we stay in hotels it feels like everyone is out for a tip. Not here. They are truly happy to help you and want you to have a good stay. We had dinner at the restaurant which was also very good. Our room was very comfortable and nice and quiet. The bathtub was wonderful and the linens lovely. We had our shoes shined complimentary and they came back like new! When we asked the doorman for a cab to go to the west side they had the hotel car take us. We can't wait to go back and have already made reservations! We will stay here from now on for all our nyc trips!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier L, General Manager at The Mark, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
I am so pleased that you chose to stay at The Mark Hotel for your anniversary trip to New York City, and that we were able to make your visit perfect from check-in to check-out. Our team will be delighted to hear that you were so impressed by their friendliness and level of service. Thank you again for the kind words, and for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, RU
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed 6 nights at The Mark - the hotel was just perfect for us.
We had found a great deal and we very glad that we made this choice.
Our room was rather compact but very comfortable and the bathroom was a real delight. We had our breakfast served in the room each morning - always delicious, on time and excellent quality.
As our room faced the inner court we had lovely quiet night sleep and woke up with birds singing and not with sirenas and truck traffic noise.
The area is upscale and charming.
Unfortunately we were not lucky with the weather - it was very cold and lots of water and snow outside so there was no any chance to use hotel's bykes.
Compliments to all the staff - the front desk, concierge team, bellboys, housekeeping - everyone tried to make us feel at home. Great job!
I would stay again at The Mark with great pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier L, General Manager at The Mark, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
I am delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay at The Mark. We certainly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am happy to hear your in-room breakfast service was impeccable each morning during your stay, and that you found your room to be comfortable and peaceful, allowing you to have a relaxing night’s sleep. I am hopeful the weather will be more pleasant during your next visit and you will be able to take The Mark Bikes for a ride around Central Park. I will pass along your kind words to our hotel staff, as they will be very pleased to hear that they greatly contributed to your stay. Thank you again for choosing The Mark, and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to New York City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

stayed for 4 nights - room was not ready and they up graded us before we had a chance to complain. The service was impeccable - staff were very professional but friendly. There was a car and driver available at no extra charge. Hotel was very clean and our room was large and well furnished. Restaurant was always busy so it is best to book a table. Food was very good and it is popular with stars - we sat next to Oprah one evening. It is modern and very classy - We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimmhk
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

really liked my stay here in the conveniently located Mark - 77/Madison.Many New York hotels are outmoded, dirty and expensive, but this one is a shining exception.The staff are brilliant, particularly the concierge staff who really helped me.Its not cheap, but my room was perfectly appointed, had two bathrooms, a great desk and luxurious appointments. I am coming back here next time!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We booked the Mark for one night to splurge in NYC. It turned out to be the best night ever as we got engaged! The hotel did a great job. They upgraded us, the champagne, roses (nicest I've ever had), bathroom (best part) were superb. TV in bathroom mirror, huge tub and THE BEST SHOWER pressure ever! Funky lobby floor, fancy/ritzy part of NYC I can go on and on.

The only downfall...super tiny lobby bar. Would have been great to go for a drink but it was so small and packed!

If you're going to splurge or like luxury...The Mark is the place! Right by the Metropolitan Museum of Art and Central Park.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier L, General Manager at The Mark, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Congratulations on your recent engagement from all of us here at The Mark! We are so happy to have been a part of this special moment in your lives and are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Mark for many more celebrations throughout your lives.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mark

Address: Madison Avenue at 77th Street, 25 East 77th Street, New York City, NY 10078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
#15 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#24 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#36 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mark 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mark is housed, as it has always been, in the beautiful, 1927 landmark building at the corner of 77th Street and Madison Avenue. But, inside, the Mark has been completely reimagined, and given new life and identity for the 21st century. Newly reborn, The Mark combines old-world comfort, avant-garde design, up-to-the-minute technology and an unprecedented level of personal service to create the finest five-star hotel of the 21st century. Drawing on the expertise of an extraordinary group of talent – foremost, among them, the designer Jacques Grange, Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten, hair stylist Frederic Fekkai and the hotel general manager Olivier Lordonnois – The Mark Hotel is now a beacon of high French style, and modern American technology and comfort. The delights of The Mark are both bold and discreet. The graphic lobby is colorful and convivial, situated with unique objects d’art that surprise and intrigue. Studded in one of New York's most exclusive neighborhoods, The Mark is surrounded by the world's premier museums, shops, restaurants and the splendor of Central Park. The Mark not only surrounds you in luxury and style, it places you at the epicenter of Manhattan’s social and cultural riches. The Mark Restaurant by Jean-Georges, set within The Mark Hotel has received a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator in 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Mark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Hotel New York City
Mark New York City
Mark Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.