We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Upper East Side hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mark

Save Saved
You added The Mark to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Mark
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Madison Avenue at 77th Street, 25 East 77th Street, New York City, NY 10078 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
A Remarkable Summer Promo
Ranked #20 of 451 hotels in New York City
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lovely Upper East Side hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The rooms here are a highlight. Sizable for New York City and extremely comfortable, with an understated decor. The bathrooms are large and not understated - a fun, Art Deco vibe complete with black and white tile floors and a walk-in shower. Plenty of closet space and hangers, a selection of upscale magazines and consistent wifi.

The neighborhood is beautiful and quiet. You're not talking trendy here and it's a hike to most of the city's tourist attractions, with the happy exception of Central Park just down the block. But it's great walking down Madison Ave and window shopping at any time of day or night.

Restaurant selection in the immediate vicinity is relatively limited and pricy, but by venturing east and north you can find more casual options. The hotel has an expensive restaurant that draws an older, moneyed crowd and a bar that's crowded with local 30-something socialite types and Eurotrash. We amused ourselves for 45 mins one night having a drink in the lobby and watching the parade of older women in too short skirts and younger women in too tight dresses teeter in stilettos up and down the stairs to the mezzanine level restroom serving both the bar and restaurant.

Overall a very pleasant stay and I would return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    285
    58
    20
    6
    1
See reviews for
78
135
37
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

All you expect from a 5 star hotel a block away from central park you get at The Mark. The fitness area is quite poor though, but who needs a Gym when there is a Central Park just steps away.
The also have a shoe shine service provided by John Lobb!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed at The Mark for 2 nights in August while helping my daughter move into college in Morningside.

I prefer to stay at boutique hotels and almost always like the hotels on the Mr. and Mrs. Smith website and although The Mark is not one of their recommended hotels, I chose it for its location and the eye-catching bathroom. Even though there were many things about The Mark that I enjoyed (close proximity to Central Park and the Met, safe neighborhood, all marble bathroom, highly functional room) there were aspects of my stay that were less than stellar (service, room decor, noise, linens, degree of charm).

Details of my stay:

Decor
Mid century meets art deco with lots of highly polished surfaces. I thought the lobby was blindingly shiny and the seating was uninviting.

Guests
Suave and international.

Staff
Mature, seemed to be trained in hospitality, lots of slicked back hair.

Room
The first thing I saw when entering the room was a chartreuse curtain caught up in the lamp cord exposing an electrical outlet. Disappointing first impression. I couldn't wait for the front desk person to leave so I could fix the curtain and cover the outlet. Really?

I was on the 5th floor in a Madison King (although maybe it was a queen because the bed was really small). The entrance and hallway inside the room were large; the bedroom area was about 200 sq. ft. Although the decor was a nice seque from the pale brick buildings lining the street outside, the overall effect was bland: lots of neutrals. Design details included grass cloth on walls, commercial looking art, matching blond furniture and a mid-century style table and chairs (eyesore - looked like they were borrowed from the set of I Love Lucy).

Lots of closet space. Ironing board. Super cold A/C.

The bathroom was huge and entirely clad in marble. Double sinks. Giant bathtub. Mint green vanity. Good lighting. Lots of mirrors. Heated towel rack. Highly functional. No window.

Highlight of room: ice drawer

Drawbacks: Street noise, coarse BEIGE sheets

Service
The Mark really fell down on the job for me. I made the reservation directly with the reservation department via email and phone. I requested an outside room on the 7th or 8th floor and if it wasn't available to please place me in a courtyard room. When I checked in, I was placed in an outside room on the 5th floor. No mention of my request.

I heard lots of street noise on the 5th floor.

On two occasions, my room key failed to open the door and I had to call for help.

The front desk was accommodating with both an early check in and late check out. Much appreciated.

Room Service
I only had breakfast. I called in the morning and my tray was delivered in about 10 minutes with everything exactly as I ordered it. Nice job.

Housekeeping
Immaculate. Inconspicuous. (Except for the offending curtain).

Transportation
You can walk to the park and a number of museums. If you want a NY deli experience, there is a Pastrami Queen deli a few blocks east. There is one train station a few blocks away but overall, you will be taking a taxi and I found that just about everywhere I went it was a $15 cab fare (including tip).

Room Tip: If you are on the street, request a room as high as possible (you will hear street noise on the 5th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our annual trip to New York has had us in many hotels. The Carlyle has been one of our favorites but the rooms can be a bit tired given other options. Enter The Mark, one block away. Renovated, refreshed with drop dead gorgeous bathrooms, lovely staff, a nice little street side bar and a John-George restaurant that didn't disappoint. Add in a Tesla S hotel car and you have one very nice, very friendly, very updated New York hotel choice less than a block from Central Park.

Room Tip: Frederich Fekkai hair salon on the second floor. " He" charges $750 a cut but for $120 you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My boyfriend wanted to surprise me and he booked 3 nights in a private appartment on Manhattan (Chinatown) - this surprise was a nightmare for me! I will write more about it on another occasion.

So after one night spent in that horrible appartment (120 E Broadway) I decided to treat myself and was looking for the most possible - but affordable - luxury. So this is the story how we found out The Mark hotel. I loved the design of the lobby, bar, restaurant and the rooms very much. The staff at the reception desk was extremely polite and nice, we could check in even earlier (noon) than according to the official hotel policy (3 p.m.) and were upgraded to a better room. It was impeccably clean and quiet. The only disturbance I could hear - and I am very noise sensitive - was the refrigerator, but it was not too loud, it was just a nuisance. After we have spend two nights there, we booked a car to the airport, it was not only there perfectly on time but it was a limo with a very friendly driver who gave us a lot of information about the city as well. We have had breakfast only once in the hotel, we were given a beautiful table but the organisation of the staff was not perfect. They forgot to bring us one order at all (they did not charge it though), the people attending to our table were changing and the signature breakfast was fine but nothing special. The belgian waffle was outstanding with fresh cream and strawberries. So after my terrible experience with a private appartment I was more than happy in The Mark hotel. I have been do NYC five times in total and this was definitely the most beautiful hotel where I have ever been. Of course the hotel is not for free but comparing to other hotels, the value meets the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there when going for a consult in ny
I was very sick and all the transpot were very far
The rooms were lovely and the hotel is nice
I was expelled from the restaurant because i was wearing bermudas
All in all i did nt like it

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I am writing this on behalf of my 19 year old daughter who was lucky enough to be taken to NY for five days with her aunt who was on a business trip. They stayed at The Mark on the Upper East side for two nights, and this is my daughter's review: "The Mark is just fabulous! It's the best ever location - just a few minutes walk to Central Park - and a haven of luxury. All the staff were so good, they knew our names and took good care of us. Tim the doorman was brilliant. We were upgraded to a junior suite which was amazing; two large bathrooms and extra-comfortable beds. I would recommend The Mark to anyone wanting a luxurious hotel close to Central Park".

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mark

Address: Madison Avenue at 77th Street, 25 East 77th Street, New York City, NY 10078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in New York City
#15 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#43 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#76 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mark 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mark is housed, as it has always been, in the beautiful, 1927 landmark building at the corner of 77th Street and Madison Avenue. But, inside, the Mark has been completely reimagined, and given new life and identity for the 21st century. Newly reborn, The Mark combines old-world comfort, avant-garde design, up-to-the-minute technology and an unprecedented level of personal service to create the finest five-star hotel of the 21st century. Drawing on the expertise of an extraordinary group of talent – foremost, among them, the designer Jacques Grange, Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten, hair stylist Frederic Fekkai and the hotel general manager Olivier Lordonnois – The Mark Hotel is now a beacon of high French style, and modern American technology and comfort. The delights of The Mark are both bold and discreet. The graphic lobby is colorful and convivial, situated with unique objects d’art that surprise and intrigue. Studded in one of New York's most exclusive neighborhoods, The Mark is surrounded by the world's premier museums, shops, restaurants and the splendor of Central Park. The Mark not only surrounds you in luxury and style, it places you at the epicenter of Manhattan’s social and cultural riches. The Mark Restaurant by Jean-Georges, set within The Mark Hotel has received a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator in 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Mark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Hotel New York City
Mark New York City
Mark Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.