We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night was not enough” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Mark to your Saves list
The Mark
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Madison Avenue at 77th Street, 25 East 77th Street, New York City, NY 10078 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Preferred Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 455 Hotels in New York City
new orleans
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“One night was not enough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The worst part was that I had only one night in NYC at the Mark. Luxurious accomodations with a wonderful staff to go with it. The room was very comfortable with nice furnishings. Loved the Sub Zer drawers and the tv embedded in the mirror of the bathroom. I really never needed to leave the hotal with the wonderful Jean George restaurant on site.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier L, General Manager at The Mark, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at The Mark. I am so glad you found our rooms to be luxurious and our staff to be friendly. I am particularly happy that you noticed and loved the Sub Zero refrigerator in the room and the television in the bathroom. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Mark, and hope that you will be able to stay for more than one night!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    62
    20
    6
    1
See reviews for
83
152
40
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at this hotel in March. Superb location minutes away from Central Park. All staff were extremely courteous, friendly & very helpfully. The rooms were spacious, kept immaculate and decorative with modern furnishings. The bathroom was pure luxury with a large separate shower and huge bath. The mirror had a tv in it which could be viewed whilst bathing. The walk to the busy area's of New York is a brisk 20 minutes through the park which was lovely. I would certainly recommend this hotel and our stay was so enjoyable it was a shame to leave the room

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We checked into the Mark after our first hotel disappointed us in a few ways. We both agreed that spending more on a room if it would bring us a fabulous experience was worth it.
Our check in was smooth and welcoming and we were upgraded to a lovely suite. The furnishings were new and fresh and very appealing. The space was great and we both loved the new bathrooms.
The Mark is a great hotel! Yes: it is very pricey but this is Manhattan and we figure life is short! The staff are amazing and really try to help you in any way they are able.
The food is absolutely delicious and the beds are very cozy!
We loved every minute we were here. As a matter of fact, we would move right in if we could!

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed at The Mark for three nights in February and can only say that I loved it... Very friendly staff who effectively took care of complaints about high level of noise from neighboring room (party room for a group of young people..) Food is delicious, both breakfast and dinner. I love the fact that the hotel is somewhat out of the busy areas of New York as the walk from hotel in Central Park to shopping area is lovely.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Honestly speaking, I don't think I have ever stayed in a hotel which was such a friendly like this. The support staffs were really cool and homey. I had to stay there at night so I had the opportunity to have both dinner and the breakfast as well. The dinner as well as the breakfast buffet was filling and fresh, lots of choices. The room was cool also. All-in-all, a great hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
True North
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I am such a fan of this hotel and have stayed there countless times. Even though it costs more than the Surrey, it is usually worth the price. not this time.
1) Concierge service was very ineffective. I called the day before arriving to arrange a trainer in their Punch Gym. Robert told me he would handle it and I would get a call the next day--nothing. When i arrived at the hotel I was told nothing had been arranged. They then tried to arrange for the trainer but it was too late. the Concierge's answer was "i am sorry it didn't work out for you". Furthermore, my executive assistant sent some documents for the Concierge to print and deliver them to my room--that was also never done.
2) the Room temperature is stifling hot. no matter what i did with controls or the windows, it would not go below 77 degrees. it was very uncomfortable.

the Mark really needs to "up" its game to where it was a year ago.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier L, General Manager at The Mark, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the hotel. I would like to express our appreciation of your loyalty to The Mark and that we hold you in incredibly high regard as one of our frequent guests. I am very sorry that you found our concierge service to be ineffective and that you were unable to secure an appointment with a trainer from Punch. I have personally spoken to concierge about this incident and they are extremely apologetic about the situation. Our heating system is designed to be controlled within the room and can be switched off at any time. For future reference, if you do have any trouble with the heating controls, please call Front Desk who will organize for our engineering staff to assist you immediately. Again, I apologize for the inconsistencies you experienced and I hope that upon your next stay at The Mark, we can provide you with outstanding service and a more satisfactory experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach Township, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed at The Mark just before Christmas to enjoy some NYC food and fun. Hotel is beautiful and very friendly staff. If you can, spend some time strolling along Madison Avenue and take in the Shops. The hotel is a bit out of the way but a nice oasis from the crush. Hotel restaurant is a must.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mark

Address: Madison Avenue at 77th Street, 25 East 77th Street, New York City, NY 10078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in New York City
#14 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#25 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#47 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mark 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mark is housed, as it has always been, in the beautiful, 1927 landmark building at the corner of 77th Street and Madison Avenue. But, inside, the Mark has been completely reimagined, and given new life and identity for the 21st century. Newly reborn, The Mark combines old-world comfort, avant-garde design, up-to-the-minute technology and an unprecedented level of personal service to create the finest five-star hotel of the 21st century. Drawing on the expertise of an extraordinary group of talent – foremost, among them, the designer Jacques Grange, Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten, hair stylist Frederic Fekkai and the hotel general manager Olivier Lordonnois – The Mark Hotel is now a beacon of high French style, and modern American technology and comfort. The delights of The Mark are both bold and discreet. The graphic lobby is colorful and convivial, situated with unique objects d’art that surprise and intrigue. Studded in one of New York's most exclusive neighborhoods, The Mark is surrounded by the world's premier museums, shops, restaurants and the splendor of Central Park. The Mark not only surrounds you in luxury and style, it places you at the epicenter of Manhattan’s social and cultural riches. The Mark Restaurant by Jean-Georges, set within The Mark Hotel has received a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator in 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Hotels.com, Amex, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Mark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Hotel New York City
Mark New York City
Mark Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.