We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gems Of The Upper East Side” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mark

Save Saved
You added The Mark to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Mark
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Madison Avenue at 77th Street, 25 East 77th Street, New York City, NY 10078 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 449 hotels in New York City
Marie49125
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Hidden Gems Of The Upper East Side”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay at the Mark Hotel. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a 77th Street one bedroom suite (we had book a courtyard one bedroom suite) to better suit the needs of our family (we came with a 3 years old toddler and a 9 months baby).

Apparently 77th street one bedroom suite has a bigger bedroom and the hotel staff was able to get us a rollover bed for our son and a beautiful crib for our daughter without getting in the way of our King Bed or the table and chairs (plenty of space in this bedroom). The suite had a living room and one master bath (bathtub and shower) and one smaller bathroom with only shower.

The L shape suite made it easy for my husband to rest if when in the living room with kids. The suite did not have a mini kitchenette, but staff was very helpful in providing us a kettle, a mini microwave and utensils to heat baby food. (Suite has a mini fridge full of goodies but spacious enough to accommodate few of your own items as well).

Ample closet space, makes it easy for you to store all the suitcases so they are not in your way taking spaces (we came with large samsonites and a stroller). An attention to details that you can only see in top notch hotels (macaroons, turn down service, cleanliness, politeness and timing response of staff, decor, crib had embroided bumpers! Free Evian water everyday!)

I would just be careful if you have little ones who loves "touching buttons", this beautiful and modern hotel has a Keypad that controls everything in the room. We had no clues that our son programmed a wake up with TV at 5.am...(since he loved to play with it, we just let it discharged and we used the "regular" buttons). So the first thing when you come would be to check if your keypad might have something programmed by a previous guest ;-)

Wonderful and competent staff (even found us a babysitter only 3 hours in advance!). Clean and neat rooms. A very pleasant stay will definitely comeback again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    283
    57
    20
    6
    1
See reviews for
77
134
37
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Since I arrived I have no words to say how wonderful is The Mark NY, the rooms are with decorated wtih exquisit taste, bathrooms sensational.
The most important is the reception team Julita and Wheeler they are wonderful, make feel you at home with style. Always with a smile.

Room Tip: Madison Av. rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I'm picky. Most NY hotels have been a disappointment in years of travel, but this one is an exception. The rooms I have stayed in are modern without trying too hard, and the general level of service is very high. Only caution is that you have to commit to staying in the UES, which has pluses and minuses. Otherwise, highly recommended. I don't feel like a number when I stay here.

Room Tip: For a quiet room, get one overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boca raton
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

The wife and I stayed over for three nights on the 20% discount plan. The offered rate of $508 for the 77th Street deluxe room turned out to be more than fair. Pleasing features of this hotel include a perfect location for museums and the UES, Jean Georges restaurant and bar on ground floor, pleasing and spacious spa and workout areas, nice crisp lobby, generally friendly staff, relatively new rooms, towels, linens, and pillows (mattresses ready for replacement), generous room size, apparently new marble bathrooms, and dependable, nice maids.

The Mark may be best described as a botique 5 star. It's without the 5 star amenities at the top, the room technology is a bit dated (quite small flat screen, undependable older Crestron system), and the hallway doors close very, very loudly. But failings tend to be nits when run up against the benefits of The Mark

We would happily come back to The Mark again, especially if the 20% was on.

Room Tip: Next time I would go for a high floor suite, but the 77th Street deluxe rooms are really nice too. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

My wife and I have traveled the world staying in the finest hotels and resorts. We frequently come to NYC and have tried many hotels but never The Mark. We just finished a three night stay and we'll never have to search for another hotel in NYC again. The staff was beyond superb and the room was spotless with a marvelous decor. The JG restaurant was wonderful as well. Our thanks to the excellent staff including Julita and Lauren! A true 5 star hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

After some serious research I decided to book The Mark Hotel for my sister's 30th birthday trip to NYC. The website tells a good story, but the reality is quite different. It's not a fun/lively hotel, more of a subdued/got no soul establishment.

We were upgraded to a one bedroom suite on arrival which was a nice touch, and one concierge (Isabelle) was extremely helpful with coordinating my sister's 2 best friends arriving as a surprise - I only wish we had moved hotel then as planned, rather than moving to a 2 bed suite within the hotel. Isabelle is so lovely it seemed like a good idea at the time (I did make the final decision & they did give us a good rate on the room).

GOOD POINTS: Rooms are spacious & clean. The hotel is in a great location close to Central Park (and only 5 mins by cab to fifth avenue).

BAD POINTS: Room service prices are insane. Staff (except Isabelle & the doormen) are quite arrogant (particularly another female concierge - when I asked re comedy nights & timings she responded 'I don't know, you'd have to look on line'). The bar is very small & packed with questionable female clientele. There's no outdoor area at all.

I could go on. In short we had a fabulous time in New York & will definitely return - just never to The Mark Hotel. Next time we'd definitely book the Bryant Park Hotel - it's a better location uptown & I suspect it won't be as stuffy as The Mark.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Mark, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thank you for contributing your feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your stay with us last week. I am pleased to read that our Chef Concierge Isabelle took such attentive care of you and your friends, and that you found our rooms comfortable. On behalf of my entire team, however, allow me to extend my apologies for the perceptions you have acquired about our hotel – first resulting from our room service pricing and then from the subsequent interactions you had around our property. It is unfortunate enough to hear that our facilities did not meet your expectations, and is even more distressing to hear that the service delivery from our staff only compounded your disappointment.

As humbling as it is to receive this criticism, your critique will serve our team well, as we do continually look to find opportunities to improve our levels of service and attention to detail. I would like to reassure you that, while your stay certainly did not meet the highest level of service I know we are capable of, your experience is a rare one – one that I hope you will allow us to improve upon, provided you choose to give us another chance in the near future. Once again, my sincerest apologies for the unfortunate series of events that occurred during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This is how 5 star hotels get to be 5 stars! We experienced friendly, gracious, helpful, and above and beyond the expected service during our three day stay last week. Upon arrival at 8:30AM we were able to check into our room and we were also asked if we would like an upgrade, leaving the room was difficult as it was so beautiful and comfortable.
The bar is a very happening place with a good vibe. We did not eat in the dining room, but it is beautiful and I am sure delicious also.
One day upon returning we were asked how our day was, my husband told someone it was a great day, it was my wife's birthday, five minutes later a beautiful cupcake and a bottle of water and San Pellegrino arrived to our room.
We asked what time check-out was and were told it didn't matter we could stay until 2-3PM if we needed. Wow! How often does that happen!
Upon leaving I told the concierge that they must hire the nicest people in NY to work there, he addressed me by name and said thank you. I was under the radar during my stay, how did he know my name?
I would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms are quieter and we had one. The amenities and the TV in the bathroom over the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Mark, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Many thanks for writing this well-considered and thorough review of your June stay with us at The Mark. On behalf of my team, I am delighted to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay and that every aspect of your time with us – from your early check-in and late check-out to our staff’s accommodating attitude – exceeded your expectations. Receiving such positive feedback like yours truly affirms the service promise we aim to deliver each day for our discerning guests. Thank you again for sharing and we look forward to having you both back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mark

Address: Madison Avenue at 77th Street, 25 East 77th Street, New York City, NY 10078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
#15 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#38 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#82 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mark 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mark is housed, as it has always been, in the beautiful, 1927 landmark building at the corner of 77th Street and Madison Avenue. But, inside, the Mark has been completely reimagined, and given new life and identity for the 21st century. Newly reborn, The Mark combines old-world comfort, avant-garde design, up-to-the-minute technology and an unprecedented level of personal service to create the finest five-star hotel of the 21st century. Drawing on the expertise of an extraordinary group of talent – foremost, among them, the designer Jacques Grange, Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten, hair stylist Frederic Fekkai and the hotel general manager Olivier Lordonnois – The Mark Hotel is now a beacon of high French style, and modern American technology and comfort. The delights of The Mark are both bold and discreet. The graphic lobby is colorful and convivial, situated with unique objects d’art that surprise and intrigue. Studded in one of New York's most exclusive neighborhoods, The Mark is surrounded by the world's premier museums, shops, restaurants and the splendor of Central Park. The Mark not only surrounds you in luxury and style, it places you at the epicenter of Manhattan’s social and cultural riches. The Mark Restaurant by Jean-Georges, set within The Mark Hotel has received a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator in 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jetsetter, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your The Mark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Hotel New York City
Mark New York City
Mark Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.