We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly elegant and gracious stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Mark to your Saves list
The Mark
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Madison Avenue at 77th Street, 25 East 77th Street, New York City, NY 10078 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Preferred Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 459 Hotels in New York City
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A truly elegant and gracious stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We had a delightful experience at The Mark hotel in NY. Although brief , we were treated with consideration and in high regard from start to finish. In addition , the fact that we had flown in from Europe and were jetlagged was given consideration by the very thoughtful and conscientous staff who upgraded us to a marvelous suite which we thoroughly enjoyed.

The hotel has been recently renovated and is in excellent condition. The personnel is very well trained and offers guests the best treatment from the doorman to the front desk.

We had room service which was served promptly and was very good.

We had the kind of stay we often wish we had had in several other 4 and 5 star hotels where we have stayed.

We hope to visit The Mark more often, thank you for a very unique experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    65
    20
    7
    1
See reviews for
86
154
42
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monaco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

I go to The Mark hotel every eight to ten weeks for business and the place never ceases to astonish me. It is probably today the best hotel in NYC. The rooms are perfect, the staff competent and helpful, the location cannot be beaten and the experience of being home away from home is nowadays rare, but The Mark is among the very few hotels that is still able to offer that to its clients.
The products that the hotel offers for sale are unquestionably the best in the market (Editions de Parfums fragrances, John Lobb shoes etc....)
I rejoice every time I am about to go to The Mark. I understand how much work they put into pleasing the client and that is a great feeling from the client's point of view.
It also mean that the management is aware and acute in analyzing client's expectations.
Isabelle, the Concierge, knows all the tricks of NYC and she is perfect in helping customers.
Globally, an extremely satisfying experience, always renewed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brunswick, maine
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

I am retired but travel to NYC about monthly and have adopted the Mark as my hotel there, after "auditoning" several others. You can read glowing reviews elsewhere on TripAdvisor, but what impresses me about the Mark is that each staffer seems to treat their job as a career, not just a job, from Judy at the bar to the front desk staff to Isabel and Robert, concierges, to their exclusive Lobb shoe shine stand man. For example, the head waiters in the dining room actually pay attention and move around constantly to check on details. There reportedly are staff meetings every day, and it shows. This ineffable atmosphere is hard to put into words, but it stands far above the usual burn- out cases of staffing. One of the room attendants, Leonora, came close to expressing it. When I didn't have exact change for her gratuity (I left the gratuity later with the front desk), she said "that doesn't mater, just that you are happy". That about expresses the attitude of the entire hotel. I look forward to every return trip.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms look down behind all the block's buildings and are dead quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noventa Padovana, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011 via mobile

The hotel is inconspicuous from outside, which I consider a plus in a place like Manhattan. The first look at the Lobby gives a feeling of modern traditional hospitality, no frills, consistent. This sensation is utterly confirmed when entering the room, with all the right things in the right places. The recent refurbishing offers an updated range of features, from HD tv set, to top notch wi-fi connection (complimentary). The bar at the Lobby is lively at happy hour, haunted mostly with New Yorkers. If you're looking for something different than the upscale International hotels available worldwide, this is definitely a place to try.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed in the Mark with our children on the 25th of august.
It is not only beautifull: (the bedrooms are splendid and the bathroom exceptionnals) but the service and kindness of the staff is remarquable. Then, the location is so convenient: 15 m from a Central Park entrance, shopping, trendy restaurants around...
The Mark has a very successfull bar, lots of nice people coming for an apperitif, and the restaurant is elegant and so good.
We hope to go back very soon!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We can be hard to please, but my husband and I were delighted with our first stay at The Mark recently. The room was excellent - a Madison King - with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The bathroom was exceptional with the deepest tub which was a complete luxury, plus an excellent seperate shower. We would certainly go back to stay there again, with pleasure!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

I simply love this hotel. It is like my little apartment in Manhattan. I chose a courtyard room this time because I knew it would be just for a night. As always the staff were very helpful.
Friday night there was a downpour. When the taxi would not take us, the staff provided the house car to get us to the show. Bliss.
Can't wait for my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mark

Address: Madison Avenue at 77th Street, 25 East 77th Street, New York City, NY 10078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
#15 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#24 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#36 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mark 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mark is housed, as it has always been, in the beautiful, 1927 landmark building at the corner of 77th Street and Madison Avenue. But, inside, the Mark has been completely reimagined, and given new life and identity for the 21st century. Newly reborn, The Mark combines old-world comfort, avant-garde design, up-to-the-minute technology and an unprecedented level of personal service to create the finest five-star hotel of the 21st century. Drawing on the expertise of an extraordinary group of talent – foremost, among them, the designer Jacques Grange, Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten, hair stylist Frederic Fekkai and the hotel general manager Olivier Lordonnois – The Mark Hotel is now a beacon of high French style, and modern American technology and comfort. The delights of The Mark are both bold and discreet. The graphic lobby is colorful and convivial, situated with unique objects d’art that surprise and intrigue. Studded in one of New York's most exclusive neighborhoods, The Mark is surrounded by the world's premier museums, shops, restaurants and the splendor of Central Park. The Mark not only surrounds you in luxury and style, it places you at the epicenter of Manhattan’s social and cultural riches. The Mark Restaurant by Jean-Georges, set within The Mark Hotel has received a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator in 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Mark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Hotel New York City
Mark New York City
Mark Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.