We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Mark to your Saves list
The Mark
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Madison Avenue at 77th Street, 25 East 77th Street, New York City, NY 10078 (Upper East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Preferred Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #29 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We spent 3 days in this beautiful hotel situated in the most exclusive area of New York City, away from the chaos of down town, but close to everything. We stayed in Madison Studio Suite because our room wasn’t ready upon our arrival. After stepping into our room we were speechless and both of us agreed that The Mark is exceptional, and the only place in NYC that we would want to stay. We were hesitant at first to in deciding between The Surrey and The Mark, but trust me this hotel is exclusive in everything in quality and not just in design, but of the guests and of course the professionalism of the stuff, too much to mention, so I summed it all up the best I could.

As soon as you walk in the front door you're home - but close enough to all of NYC to appreciate: a block away from Central Park, near by Metropolitan Museum, and great shopping is right there on Madison Ave.

We loved our room so much that we spent most of our time in bad, which by the way was extremely comfortable, munching on truffles and other goodies we brought with us in the gift basket.

We always talked about mark and about its well established reputation, only admiring it from Surrey. We are delighted that we had the opportunity to stay at mark with our best friend through the word of mouth and we never travel without him, we considered it a privilege to have had an opportunity to stay at the hotel of such caliber and even though 4 months later at Soho Trump. Once stayed in The Mark, Soho Trump cannot pale by comparison.

Room Tip: Most modern. The bathroom of the future. Plenty of closet space, we had 3, the biggest was for me a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    73
    24
    8
    1
See reviews for
89
174
44
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Upmarket discreet hotel with excellent service and great room offers at the moment as it is it's second anniversary. We stayed for 6 nights in a 77 Madison King but moved to a courtyard king as the view was not worth as much as the quietness and the bathroom ended up bigger. Great location and very stylish area in upper east side. The housekeeping was amazing and the room facilities of the highest standard. Very luxurious bedlinen and bathroom fittings with very large bath and shower. All the staff were very polite and helpful with the exception of one bar man who couldn't be bothered to serve us a night cap when we came back and told us to order two drinks at once so he could close the bar or continue drinking in our minibar! Doormen very friendly and always willing to help when arriving or leaving. Maybe a separate area for paying bill from checking in would be helpful as reception area is very small. Good security when arriving back late if that is of interest but I think there are condominiums in the hotel so that may be why. Didn't eat in the restaurant (went to Viand on Madison for breakfast - excellent) as so many places to try in NYC! Overall very impressed and excellent value for money. Will definitely be back loved it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at The Mark Hotel in New York City in June. What a lovely way to combine a vacation with some family business. The room had every amenity. There was a remote control by the bed which controlled the radio, the MP3 player, the T.V., the room temperature and the window shades. There was a "modern european" styled bathroom with a tub and stall shower with plumbing accessories. However, the large glass mirror had a T.V. inset into it. You could soak in the tub and remotely control the T.V. The room was very well appointed and quiet; unexpected with the hubbub of the traffic of the city going on outside the hotel. All the staff were very helpful. If I am ever find myself planning to stay in New York City again I'm staying at The Mark Hotel.

Room Tip: Ther isn't a bad room in this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

First time I have stayed at The Mark since its renovation a few years ago and it did not disappoint. Stylish lobby with very good restaurant - had a light lunch here which was very good. Rooms are not huge but very stylish - very cool Sub Zero minibar fridge and wonderful art deco style bathrooms. For the price this is by far the best hotel I have stayed in in New York recently. I will definitely be coming back to The Mark.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

I was in NYC with my 4-yr-old alone, just mother and son trip to see firework and I am glad I chose the Mark!! Everything you can expected from the 5-star hotel for the spacious, clean, well decorated, quiet room to attentive staffs. The doormen are all wonderful, we dealt with them a lot as we always in and out and they were so hurry to get us the cab.

Being a single parent traveling with young child, I was of course very concern. We stayed at Kimpton hotel last year and ended up dealt with rude staffs to my child. ....but this is beyond my expectation. I am not sure if you can call the hotel at this level as kid's friendly, but I can assure you from my experience with them for 4 days they had done fantastic job treating my child like a guest (not burden, like some other hotels in NY). They had a lot of respect for the kid and in return, kid will respect you.

The location is fantastic. It is next to Central Park and the Met. This hotel located on 77th, so it is right next to the playground and 2 blocks away to the boathouse lake. You cannot beat this location and safety. We took cab almost everywhere because traveling with kid, it is of course more convenience. It is about $10-15 to get to mid town really. The only mistake we made is go to battery park, too busy too many tourist. Upper East Side is safe and quiet stay, very elegant neighborhood as we all known.

The room is spacious. We had the King size room with almost 500 sq ft and 4 huge closets. Bathroom is amazing, deep tub and separate shower with amazing water pressure. You get hot water in 2 seconds and it is clean. My 4-yr-old wants to move in, of course who wouldn't!!

Kudos to the Mark...This is what 5-star hotel amenities and service is all about. Yes it is pricey but it is well worth it. We definitely will be back for more stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

my husband and I eloped in Central Park and stayed at the Mark that night. It was truly amazing, a first rate place and I will definitely be back the next time I am in NYC. This hotel is slightly above our normal budget (we normally stay at the W and had been at the W on Lexington for three nights before we came to the Mark) but I was hoping for such a special night it was worth the splurge, and we were not disappointed. the staff was so welcoming and friendly without being obnoxious or pretentious at all, and the building itself is spotless and beautifully designed, down to the lobby, the hallways, the rooms, everything. our check in was very quick and easy, and we got a room upgrade when we said we were on our honeymoon. they also sent up a complimentary bottle of champagne that evening while we were getting ready for the ceremony, which was very welcome :) all of the staff wished us luck when we left for the ceremony and everyone wanted to know how it went when we got back. we had drinks in the hotel bar after the ceremony while waiting to walk over to our dinner reservation, and it was also very nicely designed and not as crazy expensive as I expected, with a very laid back atmosphere. our room was very spacious (this could have been due to the upgrade, we requested a king courtyard room but I am honestly not sure what we ended up with - still a king room, and definitely not a suite, but it did seem bigger than I expected and what others have said) and very comfortable - nice linens, beautiful, soothing decor, plenty of storage room for our luggage, clothing, etc. the minibar almost knocked me out, it was the best one I have ever seen and the prices were even reasonable, especially after coming from the W the few nights we were in town before. everything you could ever think of in the way of mixing drinks or having snacks was provided, and plenty of it. we didn't actually use anything from the minibar but I know if we would have been there more than one night it would have been tempting. the bathroom was amazing with a double vanity with a tv built into the mirror on one side, a marble soaking tub big enough for two, a nice big glassed-in separate shower, and closet also. I just can't say enough about what a great time we had at this hotel and I really can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: I don't advocate lying but if it really is a special occasion, let them know! they seemed very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

This is my second trip to the Mark this year. I returned because I like the location and the service was excellent during my first visit. The second visit was a little disappointing! We requested (and had confirmation for ) two single beds as I was traveling with my daughter. Initially we were placed in a king room and had to ask to be moved. I was expecting an important letter. No-one knew where it was and the sender assured me they had dropped it off! First night we had a turn-down service with chocolates on the pillow, after that no chocolates!
Small things that take a hotel from very good to excellent! In this case, it did not make the mark!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mark

Address: Madison Avenue at 77th Street, 25 East 77th Street, New York City, NY 10078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in New York City
#23 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#33 Family Hotel in New York City
#50 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mark 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mark is housed, as it has always been, in the beautiful, 1927 landmark building at the corner of 77th Street and Madison Avenue. But, inside, the Mark has been completely reimagined, and given new life and identity for the 21st century. Newly reborn, The Mark combines old-world comfort, avant-garde design, up-to-the-minute technology and an unprecedented level of personal service to create the finest five-star hotel of the 21st century. Drawing on the expertise of an extraordinary group of talent – foremost, among them, the designer Jacques Grange, Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten, hair stylist Frederic Fekkai and the hotel general manager Olivier Lordonnois – The Mark Hotel is now a beacon of high French style, and modern American technology and comfort. The delights of The Mark are both bold and discreet. The graphic lobby is colorful and convivial, situated with unique objects d’art that surprise and intrigue. Studded in one of New York's most exclusive neighborhoods, The Mark is surrounded by the world's premier museums, shops, restaurants and the splendor of Central Park. The Mark not only surrounds you in luxury and style, it places you at the epicenter of Manhattan’s social and cultural riches. The Mark Restaurant by Jean-Georges, set within The Mark Hotel has received a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator in 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Amex, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Mark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Hotel New York City
Mark New York City
Mark Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.