We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel, staff-- traveling along with toddler” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Mark to your Saves list
The Mark
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Madison Avenue at 77th Street, 25 East 77th Street, New York City, NY 10078 (Upper East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Preferred Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #25 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superb hotel, staff-- traveling along with toddler”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

I was in NYC with my 4-yr-old alone, just mother and son trip to see firework and I am glad I chose the Mark!! Everything you can expected from the 5-star hotel for the spacious, clean, well decorated, quiet room to attentive staffs. The doormen are all wonderful, we dealt with them a lot as we always in and out and they were so hurry to get us the cab.

Being a single parent traveling with young child, I was of course very concern. We stayed at Kimpton hotel last year and ended up dealt with rude staffs to my child. ....but this is beyond my expectation. I am not sure if you can call the hotel at this level as kid's friendly, but I can assure you from my experience with them for 4 days they had done fantastic job treating my child like a guest (not burden, like some other hotels in NY). They had a lot of respect for the kid and in return, kid will respect you.

The location is fantastic. It is next to Central Park and the Met. This hotel located on 77th, so it is right next to the playground and 2 blocks away to the boathouse lake. You cannot beat this location and safety. We took cab almost everywhere because traveling with kid, it is of course more convenience. It is about $10-15 to get to mid town really. The only mistake we made is go to battery park, too busy too many tourist. Upper East Side is safe and quiet stay, very elegant neighborhood as we all known.

The room is spacious. We had the King size room with almost 500 sq ft and 4 huge closets. Bathroom is amazing, deep tub and separate shower with amazing water pressure. You get hot water in 2 seconds and it is clean. My 4-yr-old wants to move in, of course who wouldn't!!

Kudos to the Mark...This is what 5-star hotel amenities and service is all about. Yes it is pricey but it is well worth it. We definitely will be back for more stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    73
    24
    8
    1
See reviews for
89
174
44
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

my husband and I eloped in Central Park and stayed at the Mark that night. It was truly amazing, a first rate place and I will definitely be back the next time I am in NYC. This hotel is slightly above our normal budget (we normally stay at the W and had been at the W on Lexington for three nights before we came to the Mark) but I was hoping for such a special night it was worth the splurge, and we were not disappointed. the staff was so welcoming and friendly without being obnoxious or pretentious at all, and the building itself is spotless and beautifully designed, down to the lobby, the hallways, the rooms, everything. our check in was very quick and easy, and we got a room upgrade when we said we were on our honeymoon. they also sent up a complimentary bottle of champagne that evening while we were getting ready for the ceremony, which was very welcome :) all of the staff wished us luck when we left for the ceremony and everyone wanted to know how it went when we got back. we had drinks in the hotel bar after the ceremony while waiting to walk over to our dinner reservation, and it was also very nicely designed and not as crazy expensive as I expected, with a very laid back atmosphere. our room was very spacious (this could have been due to the upgrade, we requested a king courtyard room but I am honestly not sure what we ended up with - still a king room, and definitely not a suite, but it did seem bigger than I expected and what others have said) and very comfortable - nice linens, beautiful, soothing decor, plenty of storage room for our luggage, clothing, etc. the minibar almost knocked me out, it was the best one I have ever seen and the prices were even reasonable, especially after coming from the W the few nights we were in town before. everything you could ever think of in the way of mixing drinks or having snacks was provided, and plenty of it. we didn't actually use anything from the minibar but I know if we would have been there more than one night it would have been tempting. the bathroom was amazing with a double vanity with a tv built into the mirror on one side, a marble soaking tub big enough for two, a nice big glassed-in separate shower, and closet also. I just can't say enough about what a great time we had at this hotel and I really can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: I don't advocate lying but if it really is a special occasion, let them know! they seemed very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

This is my second trip to the Mark this year. I returned because I like the location and the service was excellent during my first visit. The second visit was a little disappointing! We requested (and had confirmation for ) two single beds as I was traveling with my daughter. Initially we were placed in a king room and had to ask to be moved. I was expecting an important letter. No-one knew where it was and the sender assured me they had dropped it off! First night we had a turn-down service with chocolates on the pillow, after that no chocolates!
Small things that take a hotel from very good to excellent! In this case, it did not make the mark!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

I absolutely loved staying at the mark, and decided it will be the only hotel i will stay when in Ny.
The hotels room are not very big, but very comfortable, service is good, quick and they are all very kind.
the place it self is gorgeous : the style, the decor, the atmosphere is very hip and even if is expensive the clients are all young.
the restaurant is one of my favourite in NY.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

I have stayed at the mark twice and have love it! The service is outstanding and extremely accomidating. The breakfast in the resturant is well worth the stay. Everything is up to date with remote control ability of the shades and lights. There is even a built in tv in the mirror of the bathroom. It is a short walk to central and other places of interest.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Potentially this could be the best hotel I've ever stayed in. It was perfect from the moment we arrived. We were warmly welcomed and shown to our room which was beautiful. We had had a complimentary upgrade and there was a bottle of champagne in our room as we were celebrating our anniversary.

The room was huge by NYC standards and on a lovely quiet block. The bathroom was gorgeous. The bar is a little small and it was hard to get seated when we visited on a Thursday evening but it's a great place for people watching and once seated it was very relaxing.

If you want a classy hotel where service cannot be faulted then go for the Mark. It was also great to stay on the Upper East Side as we did not know this part of the city well and we loved exploring. Very convenient for the Met and the park too.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

I just spent a weekend at the new Mark hotel. This is one of the best hotels that I have ever stayed at. From the moment I arrived the staff was extremly friendly and professional. The room was wonderful. The bathroom was beautiful and the shower had great water pressure. The bed was extremly comfortable. I also visiting the bar that is off the lobby. I highly recommend the pineapple mojitos! Overall it was a great experience. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mark

Address: Madison Avenue at 77th Street, 25 East 77th Street, New York City, NY 10078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in New York City
#20 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#32 Family Hotel in New York City
#38 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mark 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mark is housed, as it has always been, in the beautiful, 1927 landmark building at the corner of 77th Street and Madison Avenue. But, inside, the Mark has been completely reimagined, and given new life and identity for the 21st century. Newly reborn, The Mark combines old-world comfort, avant-garde design, up-to-the-minute technology and an unprecedented level of personal service to create the finest five-star hotel of the 21st century. Drawing on the expertise of an extraordinary group of talent – foremost, among them, the designer Jacques Grange, Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten, hair stylist Frederic Fekkai and the hotel general manager Olivier Lordonnois – The Mark Hotel is now a beacon of high French style, and modern American technology and comfort. The delights of The Mark are both bold and discreet. The graphic lobby is colorful and convivial, situated with unique objects d’art that surprise and intrigue. Studded in one of New York's most exclusive neighborhoods, The Mark is surrounded by the world's premier museums, shops, restaurants and the splendor of Central Park. The Mark not only surrounds you in luxury and style, it places you at the epicenter of Manhattan’s social and cultural riches. The Mark Restaurant by Jean-Georges, set within The Mark Hotel has received a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator in 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Mark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Hotel New York City
Mark New York City
Mark Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.