We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for jazz lovers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Larchmont Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Larchmont Hotel
Save
You added Larchmont Hotel to your Saves list
27 West 11th Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Greenwich Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #277 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good for jazz lovers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I have stayed here in 2011 and this last week August 2014 and will be back for another week from 18 Aug 2014. It is perfect for me as I can walk to and from a few of the jazz clubs like the Village Vanguard, the Blue Note and especially Smalls on 10th street West where I go most nights at some stage. Then the subway to go to the uptown clubs is only a few blocks away at 14th street. The rooms are very clean, staff friendly and helpful. A good resturant Gene's is just on the 6th avenue corner but there are cafes etc everywhere.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    219
    66
    32
    14
See reviews for
37
150
105
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
86 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I have stayed in many hotels in NYC, but never found one that felt right. Until Larchmont. Yes, this is the hotel I will stay in always!

The value is unbeatable. Yes, you have to share bathrooms, but they are clean and I never even met another guest. And you do have a fully equipped kitchen to share as well, which is great!

And the location is just the very best!!! Next to Union Square, the Village, Lower East Side, and all the other neighborhoods I like visiting in NYC.

Instead of spending twice the amount at a boring hotel in the even more boring Midtown, I much rather stay twice as long at Larchmont and buy my own food at nearby Whole Foods!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

You have to be ok with the lack on en-suite bathroom, but this hotel is a little gem of a place. There was a wc and shower room and a separate wc and separate shower on my floor - shared but I never found unavailable and always clean. My room was a good size with aircon and a dual aspect (admittedly without a brilliant view). The price was great for NYC, the staff very helpful. West 11th street is a green leafy haven in the midst of chaos. Service of the room was exceptional.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I traveled with my teenage son on a "Bucket List" trip to NYC. As first time visitors, the Larchmont was a perfect hotel! It offered friendly service, ideal location, clean rooms, great value, and close to subway station. The shared bathroom wasn't a big deal. We never even saw another guest; the shower/bathroom was always available and very clean. When I return to the city, I will be staying at the Larchmont Hotel.

Room Tip: Second floor was very quiet and had a kitchen for guests to share.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Small classy hotel, very clean room. Doorman was welcoming and attentive, check in was a breeze. I had a room with a Queen bed at the front of the building on the sixth floor, and I thought this room spacious by New York standards. The single rooms (with twin bed) I saw from the hallway were less than half the space, and I like some space, so for me the upgrade to the larger room was worth it. The beautiful view of One World Trade Center was a pleasant surprise--not every room has a view, but you can ask at booking. There are sinks in the rooms, but very tiny bathrooms with showers are down the hall. I preferred the tile shower, as the porcelain on the tub shower was quite worn through so even though it was clean, I didn't like the look of it. The hall I stayed on had a small kitchen for guests, which I appreciated, though I didn't use it. A continental breakfast came with the room price. This was served in a pleasant basement room. The breakfast bar had an assortment of small muffins and some slices of artisanal bread which the attendant would toast for you. It was enough to get a start on the day, and I appreciate having coffee first thing. This hotel was on a pleasant side street, near lots of choices for public transportation, and only a $10 cab ride from the theater district. The room came with use of bathrobes and slippers, and a lovely package of toiletries. Nice! It was a great value and I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floors at the front of the building have lovely views of One World Trade Center
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I spent a week at the Larchmont in June 2014. I had stayed here once before and felt it was a good value. Not much had changed other than in my room at least the bed head board that was attached to the wall previously was gone, robbing any bed bug any place to lurk.

This hotel is a mostly no frills affair although if you are accustomed to European budget hotels you probably would not notice. The room was small but quite adequate for a single traveler. The bath room and WC were just down the hall and it was very quiet. The AC kept the temperature very nice for good sleeping, the room was made daily, the WiFi worked as expected (except in the breakfast room), and overall I enjoyed my stay.

I plan another visit in late December. This is now my regular digs in The Big Apple. It might not be the right place for a family but for a single budget minded traveler it is great! The staff is friendly and the price is right. Check it out!

Room Tip: Book early. Especially for holidays it gets full fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The Larchmont Hotel was located in a great location in Manhattan, close to the centre of the city and very accessible to most tourist destinations and transport options. The staff were friendly and the basic amenities were ok. For a hotel on the cheaper end of the scale, you get all the basic amenities - clean room, wash basin in your room. The only issue during my stay was a lingering smell throughout the room (which has been noted in other reviews). I had friends staying in another room in the hotel who didn't have this issue, so its just luck in which room you get. However as I was only staying a single night I didn't bother kicking up a fuss about this, however a lot of people wouldn't have tolerated it. It makes you go out and make the most of your stay in Manhattan that much more!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#186 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 988 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#142 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Jade Hotel
The Jade Hotel
#131 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#216 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,592 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#1 of 464 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,740 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#321 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Larchmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larchmont Hotel

Address: 27 West 11th Street, New York City, NY 10011
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#217 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 66
Also Known As:
Hotel Larchmont
Larchmont Hotel Manhattan
Larchmont New York City
Larchmont Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Larchmont Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.