We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Larchmont Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Larchmont Hotel
Save
You added Larchmont Hotel to your Saves list
27 West 11th Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Greenwich Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #268 of 463 Hotels in New York City
montreal
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Just fine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

They are making every attempt to make this hotel secure and bug free. For singles this place is great as it has single rooms. The location, for my money cannot be beat. It is located in the village and close to Union square so you have access to a myriad of options for the subway. The Neighbourhood has all kinds of restos etc plus markets with prepared foods, so if you are into econical, Whole foods and trader joes are near by to get you through. Each floor has a kitchen where you can put your food into a frige and also cook...need I say more for those of you who are NYC for work. The rooms are spartan but functional, and as long as you can deal with the bathroom down the hall...you have a sink in the room, you are good to go. This place is spotlessly clean, but still looks like the 20s I. The hall so if that bothers you don't go. For the ret of us this place is a great bargain

Room Tip: Ask fir one not next to the bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    212
    65
    31
    14
See reviews for
34
145
101
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have been to NYC several times, but just discovered the Larchmont. Staff was incredibly nice and helpful; very clean; secure; perfect for my needs. Shared bath was always clean, and I love having the private sink and vanity in my room. Rooms are small, but it was fine for me traveling alone (I had a single). When in NY I want to be out and about so I don't need much but to have a clean, safe place to stay….Great location too! I will be staying here for now on when I visit NYC.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I stayed at the Larchmont hotel in April this year and had a very good stay. Larchmont is located at the heart of Manhattan making it very easy to walk to nearby attractions.It is also very near to the subway. It offers great value for money without compromising on the basic necessities. Breakfast served is very basic but you can always have breakfast at nearby places.
Great place to opt for if you don't want to shell a lot and still stay in the heart of Manhattan where all the action is!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The Larchmot Hotel is a great choice for visiting NYC. It is a wonderful European style hotel located on a quiet residential street in Greenwich village. It is close to metro stations and easy walking distance to both 5th and 6th avenues if a taxi or bus is needed.

Each room has its own sink with two private toilet/shower rooms that are shared with 6 other rooms on the floor. All rooms have AC and ceiling fans. There is also a kitchen on each floor if you wanted to use the fridge to store food items.

The hotel is spotless and the included continental breakfast is fine to start your day.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and stayed on the top floor (6th) in the corner. It was want we asked for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I stayed at The Larchmont in October 2012 for 2 weeks, and had a lovely stay.

The rooms were simple but adequate, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The included breakfast was very basic - I ended up skipping it and getting my own. The building is charming, and as there are only a few rooms to each floor it was pretty quiet. There isn't a kitchen on every floor, and as I planned to do a bit of cooking whilst in NY to save some $$$, I requested to be on one of the floors with a kitchen and they happily obliged.

Most importantly, the location is AMAZING. In the heart of the West Village, walking distance to so many great areas, beautiful tree-lined street...I was travelling on my own and felt completely safe in the neighbourhood; even walking late at night.

I really enjoyed my time at The Larchmont and would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: If you want to cook or keep things in a refrigerator, ask for a room on one of the floors with a kit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Small room in a very nice neighborhood, and that was the "panoramic" double. Single rooms are hopelessly small and dark. Hot water was inconsistent in the shower, in room sink was adequate.

This is a fine place to stay if you plan to be out of the room except for sleeping. The breakfast was poor, not worth getting up for. The bed was fine for sleeping and the room was clean. WiFi worked most of the time.

New York is very expensive, and the Larchmont is an alternative to that. It is safe and clean, and in a good place; it just isn't very attractive or interesting in any other way.

Room Tip: Avoid the single rooms unless you are especially fond of "cozy"! The extra space is defin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Our first visit to NYC we stayed mid town 2 nights and 4 nights at Larchmont hotel. At half the price of the midtown hotel we thought it was great value and a great location close to shops and restaurants. It was about 5 minutes to walk to 14th st metro.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Larchmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larchmont Hotel

Address: 27 West 11th Street, New York City, NY 10011
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#232 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 66
Also Known As:
Hotel Larchmont
Larchmont Hotel Manhattan
Larchmont New York City
Larchmont Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Larchmont Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.