We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very affordable, quiet, near NYU” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Larchmont Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Larchmont Hotel
Save Saved
You added Larchmont Hotel to your Saves list
27 West 11th Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Greenwich Village)   |  
Ranked #266 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Rockford, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very affordable, quiet, near NYU”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Larchmont Hotel is European Style lodging with comfortable private rooms, shared bathrooms, and a European style continental breakfast. Bathrobes and little pouches with bathroom items were provided for the trips to the bathroom. The breakfast was very tasty. We found the Larchmont Hotel to be very affordable, comfortable, and quiet, located in a safe, beautiful neighborhood on a peaceful side street in Greenwich Village. Staff were very helpful and friendly, and fellow travelers were as well. We will most definitely make this our home-away-from-home for our upcoming visits to our daughter at NYU.

Room Tip: A family suite is available with a private bathroom. Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    201
    61
    31
    14
See reviews for
33
136
92
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Great central location (if you wanna stay in that part of town), small but clean rooms, individual showers/bathrooms would be even better, but cant have everything, right? Price-value very good for Manhattan. I would definitely stay again here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crozet, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Service is pleasant in this charming hotel. Yes it is small, but what do you really need when busily scurrying around the Big Apple! Conveniently located to many restaurants, universities and culture! Begin your morning in the lovely cafe enjoying homemade pastries and breads, sipping on fresh made coffee and available juices. If closeness is not a factor and sharing a shower is not an issue, then this hotel is an ideal choice, not to mention the price for a stay in NYC with the added security of a locked entrance to main corridor as well as room corridors.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Unique Small hotel, of European Status with Shared Bath and a few permanent residents which I had the pleasure of meeting. At first I was more nervous about sharing a bath with those I didn't know but I eventually convinced myself that I do it in public bathrooms and did so in dormitory life in college. The room I had was small, all I needed was a single bed with a closet and window facing the street and small TV. Towels, and linens were clean and provided daily. As well there was a sink with medicine cabinet in room. Soaps and shampoos were provided too!! The was a communal kitchen which mostly more than likely used by the in house residents The staff was friendly. The amenities included GREAT COFFEE with European Continental Breakfast of pastries, toasts and jams with Juices and Tea as well. There was a hostess at breakfast too as well as TV for catching up on news. Nice elevator bldg. with plenty of security access keys to East and West Hall sides of building which included a front door key and of course room key all on a handy wristlet.

The only negative side I had was the when I wanted to shower I had to wait as I would have gone into the 2nd WC with bathtub but the water did not drain well in this tub. I thought it was fixed after I advised of this on Friday but to my dismay on Sunday it was still "clogged" ...grrr..this was not good.

I recommend those staying bring their own flip-flops for the bath as well..the WC are VERY TINY. They provide slippers and robes. the place is VERY QUIET. small lobby with 2 computers and PLENTY of magazines. In a GREAT neighborhood, close to public transport be it bus or many subway lines..

I plan to go back ..and fyi make reservations early...really..

Room Tip: Expect small and you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Ok, the not so great parts first - the rooms are small and a bit poky and the shared kitchen and bathroom facilities are basic. The shower controls were inadequate and the pressure was hit and miss. The WiFi ducked in and out and the bandwidth must've been tiny. However, the atmosphere was relaxed, it was clean, secure, the staff were very pleasant and the continental breakfast was fine. The key benefits to this place are in the price and the location.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the end of the corridors to get more windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

First of all: you won't find a place this cheap in Manhattan that is also as clean and tidy as this one. The room's really small, yes, and quite dark, with standard industrial furniture - but you don't go to NY to stay in a hotel room, do you?
Bathroom's shared, which is not that good, but there are two bathrooms per floor so it was not a great problem either. They also give you breakfast, which is ok.
The hotel is located in a great place, a nice neighborhood that is quiet but a (relatively) short walk from the heart of the city.
I would recommend it, but only if you (like me) value price and location above everything else.

Room Tip: Pick the "spatious" rooms: I got a "spacious" and it was quite small, so I can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abington, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Delightful little European style hotel in the heart of Greenwich Village. Easy walking distance to many bistro type restaurants. The 2 bathrooms are shared(per floor) as in some hotels in Europe.
They serve a small continental breakfast which we did not bother with as there were many wonderful bagel places up and down the street. Warm bagels and cream cheese in abundance.
Also great tea shop Argo up the street a must try.

Room Tip: Go for the bigger sized rooms if available makes a difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Larchmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larchmont Hotel

Address: 27 West 11th Street, New York City, NY 10011
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#209 Business Hotel in New York City
#239 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 66
Also Known As:
Hotel Larchmont
Larchmont Hotel Manhattan
Larchmont New York City
Larchmont Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Larchmont Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.