We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Newton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Newton to your Saves list
Hotel Newton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2528 Broadway, Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City, NY 10025 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #287 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Nova Scotia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This place is awesome with friendly staff. Room was a bit small but all you need for NYC and being out all day. Came with a good sized fridge and microwave too! Our room and bathroom was kept immaculate by our housekeeper - a real professional who took pride in her work. We even left her a tip! The hotel is conveniently located steps away from a subway station so no problem to get anywhere in the city. When we do come back this is the place we will stay. Many thanks to all the staff for an awesome first visit to NYC!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thanks so much for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again!

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    522
    156
    47
    35
See reviews for
249
298
86
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Family trip for first timers to NY. Positives, next to subway station and great Diner for breakfasts. Negatives, hotel v tired, rooms v small, terrible noisy aircon, no views, carpets etc tatty.
Thought as on Broadway would be central, however Broadway is longest road ever, and only point of hotel is to return to sleep.
Hence cannot pop back for change to go out again, as too far away from everywhere want to go.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your review of our property. We are located in the Central Park area so I understand your views. I think the best asset we have is that we are across from the Metro and only 2 stops to times Square, 5 minutes. Many guests want to be within striking distance from the attractions but not have to deal with the constant noise and busy atmosphere of the attractions. We are the hotel for you! We boast some of the best local, not tourist trap restaurants in the city.
If any of our guests ever have an issue with the aircon, Please let us know as we can fix or change this within minutes. We wish you well in your travels and if you ever want, we have many hotels within the Empire Hotel Group that are located in the Times Square area.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

A very good value! I was raised on the Upper West Side which is where this hotel is located so I have that built in attachment but the location, the neighborhood, the convenience and access and the cleanliness, friendliness and quality of the rooms make this an easy hotel for me to recommend.

Room Tip: Away from Broadway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your review! we look forward to your return to us.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Location is perfect - across the metro stop 96th street, lines 1, 2, and 3. There are a lot of restaurants and grocery stores around. Our room (superior double, #311) was located on the opposite side of the Broadway Ave, so it was quite. The room was clean, with a private bathroom, and in a very good condition. There is a big fridge, microwave, coffee maker as well as complimentary coffee. It's air conditioned. There is a storage if you need to leave your luggage ($4 - small and $5 - big). Central Park is a walking distance from this hotel The only complain is that the bed was not comfortable and it squeaks whenever you move. We also saw two big bugs in the bathroom. No free Wifi.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your review of our property and I am happy that all seemed well. If any guest ever has an issue with the bed creaking or comfortability, please let us know as we will look right into
it. I will personally apologize if you saw any bug at all as this is quite rare with us however, it is the change of spring to summer and sometimes with the open windows we do occasionally see one. We are extremely proactive with this and if we see one, we immediately take the room out of order for fumigation. I look forward to your return to us in the future.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

One Subway stop to our hotel and convenient location to Central Park and other attractions made this a good bet for our recent family stay. Room was large, quiet (no discernible street noise) if a bit sparsely furnished. Our room did include a bathroom and I believe was billed as a "junior suite", though the decor does not live up to that billing. Mini fridge is a convenient addition to reduce restaurant trip expenses. A/C worked well but was noisy. Bed very comfortable. Staff was pretty hands off, but that's New York for you. Watch out for the additional room charge to use the wi-fi; an unnecessary inconvenience in my opinion.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for your review and I see one issue that stands out and that is the hands off staff. This should not be chalked up New York style. We strive to stand out in customer service and I apologize if we did not. Please rest assured we will be mentioning this to our staff. It seems like you were with us during one of our storms in January and our staff were surely inundated with snow issues however each guest deserves attention and if one of our guests feel that our staff was not welcoming, we have failed. I surely hope you decide to come back to us in the future and give the Hotel Newton that second chance

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I stayed here in January this year, forgot to write a review on the place. I arrived during the January snowfall and it took me around four hours to get to the hotel from Newark Airport (I got the bus and got trapped in the snow on 5th Ave) but if i'd checked out the directions before i'd left home I could have probably made the trip in around a quarter of that time as it's very easy to get to from Newark Airport using the train and the subway, which I did on the return home. Subway station is less than a minute's walk from the hotel. Can't fault the hotel at all, has everything you need plus an excellent location for getting around New York. The rooms are nice and clean and extremely good value for money for the price I paid, around £50 per night in January I think, and that was for a double room with a private bathroom. Nice place, friendly staff and nice neighborhood - would recommend for future visits.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you so much for the review! We hope to see you soon again! tip to all prospective travelers, January and February are the best bang for the buck months to come visit us!

Emilio Morales
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This is an interesting old hotel. If you are familiar, with NY and enjoy the UWS, not a bad deal. Be aware that this is a shared bath hotel, so make sure you read in great detail when booking on travel sites. The shared bathroom was fine, very clean and never saw anyone else in the hallway. That being said, I thought I had a private room when I booked the hotel. The room was quiet, air conditioning was very good and the bed was great. The really spooky part of the hotel is the lift! Do not take this if you find yourself in a group of four or five, it was broken when I stayed there and was groaning with a crowd. By yourself, its pretty fast. The best places close by are Zabars and Barney Greengrass...super classic UWS delis. Subway is super close and the central park and Hudson River parkway are also near by.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for your review and I completely agree with you. I urge all guests to read all before booking. Our only room type with shared bath is the Standard Shared bath. We are really specific on this with all websites. We demand that all websites keep the actual name as Standard shared bath as we never want our guests to be surprised after arriving to us. We also put it into all descriptions with the reasoning but we always recommend reading the descriptions of the room as it will always be outlined there

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Newton

Address: 2528 Broadway, Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City, NY 10025
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #287 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Newton 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Nine-story Hotel located on the Upper West Side, convenient to Columbia University, theaters, museums & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Newton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.