We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Newton Hotel NYC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Newton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Newton to your Saves list
Hotel Newton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2528 Broadway, Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City, NY 10025 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #291 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Newton Hotel NYC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I have stayed at the Newton several times over the past 12+ years and my feeling is that it is a gem! Located on the upper west side, there is a neighborhood feeling, unlike the chaos of midtown. An added bonus is that the #1 subway runs straight down Broadway, allowing you to reach any destination quickly. I am a woman of a certain age, but take the subway everywhere alone, day or night. The hotel is small, rooms are smallish, but since I'm there only to sleep, on the go constantly, this is not an issue for me. The one time I encountered a problem was an extremely hot August day and the elevator was not working. I was on the sixth floor and they do not have a service elevator (or so they said) so I had to climb up and down the six flights. There are many choices nearby for dining - breakfast, lunch and dinner. Right across the street is a marvelous venue called Symphony Space with wonderful multicultural programs. I would highly recommend it and it is relatively cheap! Autumn is my season of choice in Manhattan, but I do get there two or three times a year (I live in Massachusetts). You cannot beat the Newton for the price and surroundings. Try it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our property and we look forward to many more visits to come! We are working on putting in a second elevator and hope that all goes through very soon. We have plans approved and are just waiting for permits.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    522
    156
    47
    35
See reviews for
248
298
86
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Note: This is a share bath room hotel.
The batch room was always clean and tidy nice bath room setting
The room size is average but nicely set up
Older style and cosy that why we picked it.
Air conditioning was a bit noisy but was ok to sleep with.
Location suit us best because of the Upper Central Park we want to spend the time to walk to down town less than 15 minutes walk to the Reservoir.
Easy to get to from the airport by the Uptown A,C or E train and change to 1,2,3 at 42nd St and get off at 96th St just a short walk toward 95th street,
No Free WiFi $4.5 a day for two devices

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for your review and helpful tips for our guests. I am happy that all went well. Please be aware that the Hotel Newton is not a shared bath hotel. We only have 10 rooms that are shared bath while every other room has private bathrooms. If our guests are booking online, the only room that is a shared bath is the Standard Shared Bath, all Superior and Deluxe rooms are private bath.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The staff was very friendly, there is a great little diner right next door and its convenient to the subway station right across the street. I should also mention that there are some great restaurants within walking distance on both Broadway and Amsterdam Ave. On the downside... the room was small, the elevator broke down and the air conditioner in the room was so loud I'm certain it was keeping people awake 3 rooms down from mine. In any case, the price was reasonable (for NYC) and the place was very clean. Unless I had to be closer to Times Square or the Javit's Center, I would likely stay here again.

Room Tip: I stayed on a queen room on the 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for your review and let me personally apologize for the elevator issue while you were here. We do the best we can with these issues but it happens with elevators. Regarding the AC, we do use noise control AC units and in rooms, you will hear some noise as it is a closed room however if you feel the noise is unusually loud, please always contact our Front desk Manager. If it is a issue with the unit itself, we will replace it immediately. Please contact me when reserving your next stay and reference this review as I would like to offer you a comp upgrade because of our elevator issue. We look forward to your return to us.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

First time in NYC (from Los Angeles) and I could not have made a better choice of lodging for my family and I. This is my first review of anything, but after our positive experience I had to give a review. I was looking for a hotel away from the crazy tourist areas of midtown and the Hotel Newton is in a great neighborhood in the Upper West Side. We frequented the local restaurants, cafes and diners in the area and were very pleased with the quality and price. Central Park is a 10-15 minute walk and the 1-2-3 subway station is directly across the street. Just a great area.

The hotel front desk were friendly, helpful, provided some good 'insider tips' and made certain to give us some insight on the subway system. We were allowed to check in at 11am, without issue, since the room was available. This was a pleasant surprise. They arranged a private car service for our very early morning flight out of JFK back to LAX - the driver was punctual (was actually waiting for us) and the flat rate charged was reasonable. Thanks Justin for arranging this!

The hotel is a bit outdated, I knew this when I booked the room (I was not expecting luxury), but it is well kept and it was above all else, comfortable. We stayed in a Deluxe Junior Suite on the 6th floor and I was surprised at how big the room was - 2 queen beds, a dresser, a desk and night stand in the bedroom and 3 chairs, a small table and wet bar with mini fridge (which came in handy) in the parlor with more than enough room to move around. (We had 4 suitcases and they all fit in the closet) My wife and I and our 2 kids were very comfortable in the room. The bathroom was adequate size. The beds were very comfortable - we slept like babies. We heard no street noise from our room. The AC window unit was quiet, not silent, but quiet enough which allowed us to sleep through the night in a cool room.

The one elevator in the hotel is slow, but who cares! We just took the stairs down from the 6th floor the times we did not want to wait. The hotel has no pool, gym or restaurant, but we did not travel to NYC to waste time in a pool or gym and there are so many places to eat in the area around the hotel. So these minor issues were non-issues for us.

Overall a great hotel, without a lot of frills and amenities, but a comfortable, unpretentious place where you can get a good nights rest.

We plan on returning to NYC in the future and we will definitely be staying at the Hotel Newton.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for your review of our property! We look forward to your next stay with us!

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Good: Wonderful location right next to the 96th street subway. I love the convenience of the subway and having the 1-2-3 train right outside your door is great for getting around Manhattan. I also love the upper west side, so the Hotel Newton is an affordable option for staying there.

The rooms are typical NYC small, yet they are clean and well kept. They do have air conditioning, but you might have to ask for it. I believe the window units are removed for winter and reinstalled when it warms up. Our first night was really warm and they installed a unit in the second night.

The not so good: We booked our Queen Suite months in advance on the hotel's web site. Having an entertaining area was very important to us, as we were visiting our son. We arrived mid afternoon and they, without mention, placed us in a tiny standard room. The staff said the hotel was over-booked, so we had to endure two nights in a very tiny room that had no air conditioning and was located right next to some very loud machinery. Hot and loud does not make for restful nights.

We were finally moved to a double room on the ninth floor, overlooking Broadway, with air conditioning. While it wasn't the Queen Suite we reserved, it was a nice, comfortable room.

Advice: Make sure you get what you paid for. I'm not sure if over-booking is their common practice, so I would call just prior to arrival to confirm you are coming.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for your review of our property and I am happy that all worked out in the end. We are not a property that overbooks however every hotel has instances with reservations mishaps. I agree that it is a great idea to confirm your reservation before coming in. Let me personally apologize for the mishap and it seems like you were upgrade to our Deluxe Queen after the 2 days. However, that does not make up for the 2 days that you stayed in a room that you did not reserve. Please contact me the next time you are travelling to the city and I will make sure that your reservations are handled correctly. I thank you for your patience with the matter and also for pointing out the positive aspects of the stay.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm desert ca
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I know this review won't do much good, After all, there are several Trip Advisor stickers next to the narrow front entrance, but I will plunge ahead for whatever it's worth. I've never paid so much for a room, and it was crummy, but I wanted to be near Columbia.
Here's the list: the room was tiny; there was not one inch of drawer space; the mattresses creaked; the air conditioner was needed on 60-70 degree days, and it was noisy; the fan went on with the bathroom light; the room key lost its magenetism

Room Tip: Ask for a dresser and your own toilet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
I thank you for reviewing our property and let me correct a statement. Our customer reviews mean the world to us! We use Trip Advisor in an effort to perfect the guest experience. We understand that Trip Advisor can be subjective however we trust that our prospective guests have the same understanding. We have a room category, the Standard Single which runs below all room types as it is a very small room. We have the actual picture of the room on our website and on any website that sells this room so that there is no confusion. We don't put pictures of showrooms on our website as it gives a false impression of what our guests will receive. If our guest ever had an issue with the bed creaking, we would hope that you would let our front desk know right away as we can rectify the situation immediately and if we cannot, we will move you. Your experience in our property should be a comfortable one and creaky beds would not be comfortable. The light and fan switch is the same for the restroom and I don't quite know what we could do about that but I don't see it as an issue. Regarding room keys, all magnetic keys sometimes lose magnetism because of metal detectors in stores etc. We always tell our guests if they find themselves on the floor with the key not working, please use a house phone on every floor and we will send someone to get you. I hope this was useful and hope you give the Hotel Newton a second chance. In the future, please try our Superior or Deluxe brand of room as they are much larger. I wish you well in your future travels

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights last week.

I found it very nice for the price we paid ( around half the price of the hotels in Mid town).

The double room on the 8th floor was small but perfectly formed. It had a microwave and a fridge.
Considering the proximity to a major up town link like Broadway our room was really quiet.

Just a small caveat... when booking your room make sure you require your facilities en-suite as some rooms have to share a bathroom.

The hotel is quite close to Central Park , around a 5-7 minutes walk.

The tour bus stop (GRAY LINE) is outside the hotel and is fantastic value for money, there is also subway station (96th St.) just outside the hotel which will whisk you to Mid or Down town quite quickly. So it is very convenient for everything.
As far as eating is concerned there are loads of places within a short walk, I found the Manhattan Grille just two doors away on the left ,or the Corner Cafe (Good breakfasts here) a 50 yard walk to the right ( it is a pity the this one serves its meals on Polystyrene plates with plastic knives and forks) but they were both very adequate.

The A/C unit was a window-mounted one and as a consequence was a bit noisy but it was so efficient you could turn it off after 30 minutes.
The staff were very attentive and helpfull and freely offered good advice when required.
Overall a very good experience in a city that can be so indifferent to you it borders on rudeness.
If I were ever to travel to NYC again I would not hesitate to book The Hotel Newton.

Room Tip: A room on a high floor at the back of the hotel if you like it quiet. Make sure you book an en-suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for your review and helpful and useful tips for our prospective guests. We look forward to your returning to us soon

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Revenue and Reservations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Newton

Address: 2528 Broadway, Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City, NY 10025
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #291 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Newton 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Nine-story Hotel located on the Upper West Side, convenient to Columbia University, theaters, museums & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Newton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.