We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Deal NYCITY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Newton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Newton to your Saves list
Hotel Newton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2528 Broadway, Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City, NY 10025 (Upper West Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #285 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Deal NYCITY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Good size room, right at the 96th st. subway station makes this a great spot for exploring uptown or downtown, Lg lockers to store stuff for you late departure for just $5 . friendly staff -nice shower - the hotel has everything you need and the staff were very helpful. A good value for NYC.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your recent review and we look forward to your return to us soon!

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    586
    175
    53
    36
See reviews for
285
341
98
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Very convenient to all points of NYC via subway, in a safe neighborhood featuring interesting restaurants. The room itself was clean and comfortable. Some furnishings a little dated, but for the price, you will not do any better! We'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Well situated,easy access from any kind of transportation, small but clean rooms;
What else would you like to have for a decent price in Manhattan?
You can get what you need either on Broadway, Columbus or Amsterdam just a block away.
This part of upper broadway has upgrade so much in the last 10 years.

Room Tip: With no view, you will sleep in quietness with the rooms on the back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

It is the fifth year we stay at this hotel.
The welcome and the support of all the stuff and especially at the reception desk is more than great.
We would like especially to thank Mr.Charles for his support and being so helpful and kind.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Location was unbeatable. Room was clean and comfortable. There were heaps of drawers and a closet that you could walk into in our room so that you could put things away. Price was good.
We enjoyed two nights at the Hotel Newton as a family of 4. It was clean, comfortable and well located. We had a room with a window to the street on the 6th floor and were surprised that there was no noise from the street at all. The location was perfect with some great places to eat nearby, a fruit shop (breakfast taken care of) across the road on the next block and best of all only a few steps away from the entrance to 96th street Subway station. The staff were helpful with maps on arrival and with storing our luggage on the last day.
Definitely ticked all the boxes for us and helped us to LOVE New York!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I went to this hotel with my wife and the hotel, staff, location and price is amazing.
The hotel is of a few steps from Starbucks (with free internet), the 96th subway station, 24hrs drugstores and restaurants etc
The only point that is not favorable is the cost of internet, in my opinion, it should be free for all guests.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in December. The price was very reasonable but the were left disappointed in other aspects.

Firstly, after paying nearly $200 a night, I feel wifi should be included in the price, also, if you pay for wifi at 11am, you only get one hour as it resets at midday so you need to pay again.

Secondly, this is not a cheap hotel. The room had not toilet and we needed to share a bathroom with other guests.

The most worrying factor was the air conditioning. The rooms are so small that they really heat up, but the air con sounds like a jumbo jet taking off. So the options are, try to sleep in a sauna or try to sleep next to a busy airport runway!

This affected our sleep and thus we were not in the best form sight seeing.
Please keep this in mind. Go somewhere else and enjoy your trip.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our property. I am so sorry if the stay was not as expected. We are a property that ranges about $50 to $100 below the city rates at most times. You had come in at the busiest time of year. The city rate was an average of $352 or so. Our rooms with shared bath were at $200 and the rooms with private at $250 to $274, still about $100 below the average rate of the city. If you ever have issues with the AC, please let us know as we can change them immediately. We do purchase quiet ac units but of course, there is the normal ac sound to them. If you are willing to give the Hotel Newton a second chance, please feel free to contact me personally.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#265 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,202 reviews
Upper West Side
Park 79 Hotel
Park 79 Hotel
#349 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,051 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#179 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#380 of 464 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#213 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,591 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#302 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Newton

Address: 2528 Broadway, Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City, NY 10025
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #285 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Newton 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Nine-story Hotel located on the Upper West Side, convenient to Columbia University, theaters, museums & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Otel, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Newton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.