We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing if you expect Hotel parking” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Newton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Newton to your Saves list
Hotel Newton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2528 Broadway, Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City, NY 10025 (Upper West Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #283 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Minneapolis
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointing if you expect Hotel parking”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was nice enough & in good location. However don't expect much help from this hotel with parking. We were surprised because we had called ahead of time - we were told that we could temporarily park in front of the hotel, someone would help us unload our luggage, & we could park in the garage around the corner. Well, when we arrived at 7pm - there was no one to help with luggage, the front desk gave us a poorly labeled map for the parking garage, and then this garage turned us away because they were full. So we drove around in circles for almost an hour in a stressful frustrating attempt to try to find another garage to park our car. After being turned away from 2 other full garages, we came back to the 1st garage and had to spend almost 10 minutes to essentially beg for them to find a parking spot for us. The only good news was that they finally relented and there was a discounted parking rate since we were staying at the hotel - but little consolation for a stressful unpleasant experience.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your response and I am sorry if the parking situation was in any way hard to navigate. We, along with all other hotels in the area have to get agreements with a garage as none of us have our own parking. We have taken the extra step of having an agreement 2 garages in case one is sold out. It is impossible to reserve parking in the city before hand and we do all in our power to help our guests with this however we can never guarantee parking as every hotel in the city is in the same situation. In the future, we would always contact the garages if they told you that they were full in an effort to help which sometimes does. We would never want you circling for 2 hours and our front desk would never know this unless you call us when it is happening. We always have bellmen or Houseman available to come help you with luggage so I was a bit confused by this. In the future, simply come into the property if the doorman is not outside and ask for assistance and if you are having an issue with parking, please call us directly and we will do everything in our power to help you. We know our guests majority of the time don't know the area so why put yourself through 2 hours of looking for parking without contacting us and letting us tell you where other garages are? We are here to help!

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    558
    165
    50
    37
See reviews for
270
321
92
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nossegem, Belgium
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Very good location in safe area in Upperwest. Lots of restaurants in the area, 2 min walk from metrostation 96str. Only 2 blocks from Central Park. Friendly and very helpfull hotelstaff, clean & comfortable rooms. Wireless internet unfortunately not free (4.95$/day). Ideal for short stay (3-4 nights).

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property and I am so happy that your stay was a success. We hope to see you soon

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

IF you don't mind basic amenities, IF you don't mind generic rooms, IF you want a decent location at an affordable price, Hotel Newton may be a good choice. It is located close to Central Park, has some decent, family-type restaurants right nearby, and is next to the subway. Having said that, the hotel is basic. Avoid Room 208 at all costs -- way small, dark, and a horrible air conditioning unit that is so loud you cannot hear the TV. Don't stay here if you need to use air conditioning. The bedding is so-so, not the more luxurious stuff that we are seeing everywhere else. The good news is that the hotel is quiet and well-located in a neighborhood, so we felt comfortable and safe. And it is very clean.

Room Tip: Doesn't seem like any rooms, unless high up would be anything but dim. You might want to inquire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. We have purchased quiet level AC units however many persons are not used to sleeping with Window ac units and their normal noise level. All AC units are new and have the normal sounds. If a guest ever feels that the sound is much worse than it should be, we will immediately look into it and if there is an issue, we can change it immediately. There should never be a guest that has to stay with us in the summer who has to keep an AC off. It is unheard of and we would never want our guest to feel that way. However, we can only help if we know of the problem.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had a brilliant experience here. The staff were excellent and helpful, the hotel situated really close to the subway, great eateries and shopping in the neighbourhood Only downside was a separate cost for the WiFi. Rooms were a little small but only needed to sleep then out shopping and looking around again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

What a great choice through TripAdvisor. The location is great and the competitive pricing.Front desk reception staff are very friendly and always welcome you. The evening time hotel manager is very active and walk down to individuals asking if you are happy with the services. I just love this place and want to thank tripadvisor helping me finding this awesome place with no time.

Room Tip: Call beforehand to and confirm your reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Great location, just across the road from the subway and has lovely restaurants close by. Reception staff are very friendly. Rooms are on the smaller size, but for the price & location, completely within reason. Rooms are very clean, and kept that way. We have two small children that would make a bit of a mess, and every day when we returned our room was spotless!! Would stay here again & recommend for those wanting to explore the city easily.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is a basic place, well located across an express subway stop (1, 2 and 3 lines), with some rooms on the noisy side and some odd smells, but clean. Take earplugs just in case. Rooms are small, services limited and in my room the a/c was blowing directly onto the bed. Paid WiFi - didn't use it, so I cannot comment on it. Better to go across the street to Starbucks. Plenty of restaurants and commerce around.

Given it's NYC and the price, this hotel's pricing is probably about right.

Make sure you're clear about what type of room you're booking - the cheap ones are with shared baths. Certainly not everyone's thing...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Newton

Address: 2528 Broadway, Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City, NY 10025
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #283 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Newton 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Nine-story Hotel located on the Upper West Side, convenient to Columbia University, theaters, museums & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Newton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.