We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New York Prize” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Newton

Save Saved
You added Hotel Newton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Newton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2528 Broadway, Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City, NY 10025 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #273 of 452 hotels in New York City
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“New York Prize”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I spent a lot of time researching for accommodation that was reasonably priced in NY ( which can be an oxymoron when travelling in July!) and came across this Hotel. We were not disappointed. It was a stones throw to the metro and a 5 -10 minute walk to the West side of the Lake in Central Park. We enjoyed the neighbourhood with it's superettes stuffed full of everything you could think of from wine & beer to olives and fruit. The room was on the 7th floor and of course, this is NY, the view was of the neighbouring high rises with a little glimpse of the sky BUT the air conditioning was a godsend and as we were not overlooking Broadway we had no street noise whatsoever. Charging approx. $ 5 for 24 hours for the Wi-Fi was a bit steep considering we could not get it from our room and had to come on down to the lobby for connection, but that aside, I would definitely go back here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your review and so happy all went well! In the future, if you have wifi issues, see our Manager and the front desk as you shouldn't have to pay for service that doesn't work! Thank you so much and we will see you soon

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    281
    496
    147
    44
    34
See reviews for
232
279
83
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I booked this hotel on a whim through Expedia mainly because it was on sale and the 2 and 3 express lines were right outside the door. I've stayed in New York before and UWS is probably the best place to stay. Right on Broadway with many outlets outside open until late!

There was a problem with the booking, or rather miscommunication between myself and Expedia (before we arrived)which Emilio was quick to help attempt to resolve via email.

Every member of staff I spoke to was very friendly and helpful and really made us feel welcome.

The room we were allocated was a Queen deluxe with private bathrooms. (for four of us) in room 404. We were advised this room was recently renovated. We expected it to be quite small, but it surprised us. The size was big for NYC. It was definitely noticeable that the room was recently renovated too!

Linen and towels were changed daily and the beds made too. The room was spotless every day!

The lift is a bit slow, as mentioned in other reviews, but the stairs weren't a problem and I didn't really see that as an issue.

The A/C was also a little loud, but didn't warrant any complaints to the desk, after a days sight seeing the noise was the least of our worries.

We had a private bathroom which was also kept spotless by the maids, with toiletries replenished daily.

The only 'problem' found was the $4.95 charge for Wi-Fi. However this wasn't a surprise and it was clearly noted on their website so we already were aware of this beforehand.

Overall it is an excellent location to stay in New York, with excellent staff and service. I would definitely stay at the Hotel Newton again without even hesitating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you so much and I am so happy that we lived up to your expectations! We hope that means we will see you again soon!

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The hotel is located right in front of the subway station, which is an express station as well, offering a quick access to Times Square and to downtown. The central park is also a couple of blocks away. The area is safe and primarily residential. The hotel staff was helpful and hospitable. Our suite room was decently furnished and was also very large, providing a comfortable stay for 4 days. Wi-fi is payable though, and it is not valid for 24hours but from noon to noon (which means you have to pay for an extra day at the bottom line if you need continuous access) - penny pinching solution. Our overall experience was positive though, good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Location couldn't be better. Literally 2 mins from the under ground. From there it's 15 minutes or so to Times Square.
Front desk very friendly, helpful and informative.
Old hotel so has great character but obviously not all the facilities of newer hotels. As this was in NewYork and we spent most of our time out in the city this wasn't an issue.
Place was clean and prices good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during our trip to NY in June 2011.
Our check-in went without a hitch - we landed from South Africa at 06h40 so our room was not ready and of course we wanted to start exploring - no problem ! They provide us access to a top floor bathroom area to freshen up and when we came down - they managed to have a room ready for us - Fantastic!
The room was small, but we were never in it - except to sleep - so it was absolutely fine and VERY clean.
We did some shopping for snacks at the store across the street and store this in our mini fridge.
The location of this hotel is why we chose it - opposite 96th street Metro station and about 1/2 hour walk to Central Park!
If you need convenience of location (close to metro), have a budget, super clean accommodations and friendly staff - this hotel is the one for you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Mother and daughter travelling from Oz.Our room was small compared to other places but we expected this in Ny. Nice clean hotel close to Central Park and Subway station, staff helpful with directions to anywhere we wanted to go.
Stayed 11 nights

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Newton even though we were in NYC during the hottest week. Our room was small but the AC worked very well. Hope to stay again at the Newton when we return in the spring.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your review and wow, it was hot!!! we look forward to your return during a more pleasant weather!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Newton

Address: 2528 Broadway, Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City, NY 10025
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #273 of 452 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Newton 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Nine-story Hotel located on the Upper West Side, convenient to Columbia University, theaters, museums & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Newton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.