We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent rooms close to the subway and Central Park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Newton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Newton to your Saves list
Hotel Newton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2528 Broadway, Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City, NY 10025 (Upper West Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #284 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
415 reviews 415 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Decent rooms close to the subway and Central Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The hotel is located right in front of the subway station, which is an express station as well, offering a quick access to Times Square and to downtown. The central park is also a couple of blocks away. The area is safe and primarily residential. The hotel staff was helpful and hospitable. Our suite room was decently furnished and was also very large, providing a comfortable stay for 4 days. Wi-fi is payable though, and it is not valid for 24hours but from noon to noon (which means you have to pay for an extra day at the bottom line if you need continuous access) - penny pinching solution. Our overall experience was positive though, good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    559
    165
    50
    37
See reviews for
270
322
92
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Location couldn't be better. Literally 2 mins from the under ground. From there it's 15 minutes or so to Times Square.
Front desk very friendly, helpful and informative.
Old hotel so has great character but obviously not all the facilities of newer hotels. As this was in NewYork and we spent most of our time out in the city this wasn't an issue.
Place was clean and prices good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during our trip to NY in June 2011.
Our check-in went without a hitch - we landed from South Africa at 06h40 so our room was not ready and of course we wanted to start exploring - no problem ! They provide us access to a top floor bathroom area to freshen up and when we came down - they managed to have a room ready for us - Fantastic!
The room was small, but we were never in it - except to sleep - so it was absolutely fine and VERY clean.
We did some shopping for snacks at the store across the street and store this in our mini fridge.
The location of this hotel is why we chose it - opposite 96th street Metro station and about 1/2 hour walk to Central Park!
If you need convenience of location (close to metro), have a budget, super clean accommodations and friendly staff - this hotel is the one for you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Mother and daughter travelling from Oz.Our room was small compared to other places but we expected this in Ny. Nice clean hotel close to Central Park and Subway station, staff helpful with directions to anywhere we wanted to go.
Stayed 11 nights

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Newton even though we were in NYC during the hottest week. Our room was small but the AC worked very well. Hope to stay again at the Newton when we return in the spring.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your review and wow, it was hot!!! we look forward to your return during a more pleasant weather!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We recently took a whirlwind two day trip to NYC and stayed at Hotel Newton. While the building was older, everything was clean and well appointed. Staff was very nice. When we arrived there was a little mix up regarding the type of room we had booked but it was quickly resolved. Then we were upgraded to a queen suite instead of a simple two queen room. The manager didn't even mention it. We only realized it when we got to the room and saw the fridge and microwave, etc. Of course there was no upcharge. Just an upgrade. : )

The beds were comfortable, water pressure was good. Bathroom was small but fine. TV was flat screen, a little small, but fine too. Internet was $4.95 for two devices.

We weren't in the room much at all, but when we were, it was quiet and comfortable. I'd recommend this place to anyone who needs a reasonably priced place to stay in the upper west side. It was right across the street from the subway and around the corner from the Hertz parking lot. Starbucks across the street and a diner next door. A quick walk to Central Park.

Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We found that the rooms, though small, were nicely decorated.
The bathroom was particularly well designed and decorated. In an effort to get our boarding passes printed for the return trip, we found that the front desk personnel were a bit lethargic.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your review and I totally agree as the renovations of the bathrooms came out gorgeous! I am sorry if the front desk were not as receptive about the printing of boarding passes. We do have a business center in the lobby for this. We try not to print passes at the front desk as most persons need this done and we cannot do it for all because of timing. We hope you understand and look forward to your next stay with us.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Newton

Address: 2528 Broadway, Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City, NY 10025
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #284 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Newton 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Nine-story Hotel located on the Upper West Side, convenient to Columbia University, theaters, museums & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Newton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.