We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Newton

Save Saved
You added Hotel Newton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Newton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2528 Broadway, Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City, NY 10025 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #240 of 446 hotels in New York City
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Location couldn't be better. Literally 2 mins from the under ground. From there it's 15 minutes or so to Times Square.
Front desk very friendly, helpful and informative.
Old hotel so has great character but obviously not all the facilities of newer hotels. As this was in NewYork and we spent most of our time out in the city this wasn't an issue.
Place was clean and prices good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    328
    556
    158
    45
    32
See reviews for
216
257
77
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during our trip to NY in June 2011.
Our check-in went without a hitch - we landed from South Africa at 06h40 so our room was not ready and of course we wanted to start exploring - no problem ! They provide us access to a top floor bathroom area to freshen up and when we came down - they managed to have a room ready for us - Fantastic!
The room was small, but we were never in it - except to sleep - so it was absolutely fine and VERY clean.
We did some shopping for snacks at the store across the street and store this in our mini fridge.
The location of this hotel is why we chose it - opposite 96th street Metro station and about 1/2 hour walk to Central Park!
If you need convenience of location (close to metro), have a budget, super clean accommodations and friendly staff - this hotel is the one for you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Mother and daughter travelling from Oz.Our room was small compared to other places but we expected this in Ny. Nice clean hotel close to Central Park and Subway station, staff helpful with directions to anywhere we wanted to go.
Stayed 11 nights

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Newton even though we were in NYC during the hottest week. Our room was small but the AC worked very well. Hope to stay again at the Newton when we return in the spring.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your review and wow, it was hot!!! we look forward to your return during a more pleasant weather!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We recently took a whirlwind two day trip to NYC and stayed at Hotel Newton. While the building was older, everything was clean and well appointed. Staff was very nice. When we arrived there was a little mix up regarding the type of room we had booked but it was quickly resolved. Then we were upgraded to a queen suite instead of a simple two queen room. The manager didn't even mention it. We only realized it when we got to the room and saw the fridge and microwave, etc. Of course there was no upcharge. Just an upgrade. : )

The beds were comfortable, water pressure was good. Bathroom was small but fine. TV was flat screen, a little small, but fine too. Internet was $4.95 for two devices.

We weren't in the room much at all, but when we were, it was quiet and comfortable. I'd recommend this place to anyone who needs a reasonably priced place to stay in the upper west side. It was right across the street from the subway and around the corner from the Hertz parking lot. Starbucks across the street and a diner next door. A quick walk to Central Park.

Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We found that the rooms, though small, were nicely decorated.
The bathroom was particularly well designed and decorated. In an effort to get our boarding passes printed for the return trip, we found that the front desk personnel were a bit lethargic.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your review and I totally agree as the renovations of the bathrooms came out gorgeous! I am sorry if the front desk were not as receptive about the printing of boarding passes. We do have a business center in the lobby for this. We try not to print passes at the front desk as most persons need this done and we cannot do it for all because of timing. We hope you understand and look forward to your next stay with us.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Out first visit to NYC and wanted somewhere central, safe and not too pricey for our 8 nights. We're very glad we picked Hotel Newton. Being a little further out from Times Square meant it was quiet at night, (particularly with a room away from the main street). Cannot complain about noisy old A/C for the price. Room was comfy, with ensuite, and with fridge/microwave we could self-cater occasionally. With subway train station immediately accross the road and bus stops around the corner we very quickly got around and about to sightseeing and all the key spots. A supermarket only a couple of minutes walk away is open 24/7. The Diner next door was really good for breakfasts or dinners. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. All in all we had a good stay, would readily return and confidently recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your review and we will hold you to your promise of returning to us!

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Newton

Also Known As:
Hotel Newton New York
Newton Hotel New York
Newton Hotel
Address: 2528 Broadway, Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City, NY 10025
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#178 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Newton 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Nine-story Hotel located on the Upper West Side, convenient to Columbia University, theaters, museums & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Newton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.