We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, clean, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Newton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Newton to your Saves list
Hotel Newton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2528 Broadway, Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City, NY 10025 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #285 of 455 Hotels in New York City
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Convenient, clean, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This low-key hotel is an ideal choice for anyone visiting the Upper West Side. It is just steps from the 96th street subway station. There are 3 Starbucks in easy walking distance, along with several diners and bakeries. There is a 24-hour drug store a few steps away. The hotel itself is clean, rooms are small without being claustraphobic, and the staff is pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: As the only elevator is a bit slow, lower-floor rooms offer the opportunity to walk stairs for quick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    506
    152
    47
    34
See reviews for
238
287
85
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I visit NYC 2-3 times per year and I usually stay here. There are several advantages to staying at this property. It is on the upper west side so being mainly residential it is more quiet than midtown locations. It is also cheaper for the same reason. The hotel is next to the 96th street station which is an express stop. It makes getting around a breeze. The biggest advantage to this location for me again is that it is a residential area so for those of us who bring our vehicle to NYC, parking on the street is usually very doable and will save you a ton over parking in a lot. There are a lot of restaurants and small shops in the area that cater mostly to local people so they aren't touristy. Access to Central Park is excellent as well. Just a few blocks away.

The hotel is generally quiet, the rooms are clean and well equipped however they are very small. The only reason I didn't give full marks to this property is the service which can be pretty spotty.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Having arrived at the Hotel Newton after a long transatlantic flight, I was please to find both friendly desk staff and a clean, well-appointed room. Very comfortable bed, nice bathroom, fridge, coffee maker, microwave and a good tv were all welcome bonuses during my two-night stay.

The location is also great - it's a half a block stumble to the 96th St subway station on the 1/2/3 line, and is a stop for the express 1 train for those wanting to cut out a few minutes on their journey to lower Manhattan. Also a decent location for travelling to the Yankees games as there are a few different combinations of lines/transfers to take. Plenty of restaurants and convenience stores nearby too.

The only thing which stops the hotel getting 5* was the slightly noisy A/C, so when it came to sleeping time the A/C had to go off and the windows open to still have a habitable room.

All in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, co down
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I spent 3 nights at Hotel Newton during my trip to New York in June 2013.
It was very nice hotel with a fridge and microwave which was handy. It was clean and pretty spacious. It also had a small area with a sofa in as well. This area was very handy as we have to kids and they were able to go to sleep while we sat in this area.

The only down-side was our room was right outside two sets of double doors. This did keep us awake, as they kept banging when people were walking through. After the first night, my husband ended up wedging one of the doors open, and this seemed to work.

The hotel reception staff were excellent at providing direcitons for us and booking a taxi for us to travel back to JFK. The Hotel was very near to Central Park and this was handy as well. It was also right beside the subway. The ice-cream shop next door- Tasti D lite was also very nice. The ice-cream was delicious there.

Room Tip: I recommend the room with the two double beds, fridge microwave and small sofa area. We had our own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I spent 4 nights at the Newton hotel during a long trip in the US (August 2009). I choose it since both the price and the reviews were tempting: never regretted the choice.
Nice position (charming upper west side), clean and good looking rooms.
Maybe not a romantic or glamourous hotel...but if you need a comfortable place to stay in New York, I reccommend the Newton..

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to your arrival to us.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Far North Coast, NSW
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Good location of hotel as it is opposite the subway (express stop), so you are only a short trip away from Times Square, Central park etc. Reception is not warm or welcoming.
The room was spacious but old and dark. 2 small windows look over an alleyway probably only a metre wide. Bathroom had been renovated in the past few years but is tiny (and we are not big people!) You nearly have to sit on the toilet to shut the door or stand in the bathtub!
Has a bar fridge and microwave BUT NO KETTLE. You cannot even request a kettle, so no tea making at this hotel. That is a first worldwide for us. They have an ice machine near the lift.
You have to pay $5 a day for WiFi which in this day and age is a cheap shot, but it worked well. The hotel is overpriced for the standard of the rooms. They would possibly raise their approval rating if the linen was replaced. The sheets were so thin you could see through them on the bed. Likewise the towels were see-through. The air-con was noisy and leaked when it rained, (which we reported). We didn't report the plumbing noises which woke us whenever someone nearby flushed a toilet or had a shower....no point, they can't fix old plumbing without a major renovation (and as I said above the bathroom had recently been done.) So we slept with earplugs in which helped.
There was no outside street noise or inter-room noise apart from the plumbing.
This hotel would be ok for an overnight stay, but 2 nights or more is too many.

Room Tip: Choose a lower floor so you don't have to wait ages for the lift (stairs are right beside lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. I was a bit confused by some points and wanted to bring them up in this public forum. You had mentioned that there was no kettle in the room but every room in the Hotel Newton comes equipped with a coffeemaker which is pretty standard here in the States. You can heat water through the coffeemaker. A tea kettle is a bit rare in most hotels. You could also use the microwave for heating of water if needed. We have one ice machine by the lift on the second floor in an enclosed space so that the nice isn't overbearing as many persons do not like to be near ice machines but every hotel needs them. Regarding the towels, we do not carry towels that are see through in any way and never have. We had one comment about towels and their thin quality 5 months ago and completely changed our towel company as we value our guests and want them to be honest with us. I will immediately look into our sheets to see if there is room for improvement on that front. I have also looked into the leaky aircon and see no complaints the entire month of June about this. If there were ANY issue with the aircon, we would have immediately, regardless of the hour, changed it for a brand new one. We value our customer comments, and as I have said before, our customers have given us great tips in the past to make our property better for future guests. However this review is not indicative of the Hotel Newton and actually seems like it is for an entirely different property. I wish you well in your travels and am sorry if your stay with us was not a success.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Revenue and Reservations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Hotel is very conveniently situated near the subway . That's the biggest plus point . We were returned from the Cruise at 11pm but we had no problem as the metro was close by. The rooms are not very big . It has a micro-wave and Fridge. Very clean . The only minus point was that the heating was very high and we could not adjust it despite the directions given ,so we put on the AC to counter the heat. Central Park is very close . There are a lot of eating joints nearby.

Room Tip: Do not take a room with a shared bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. In the future, if heating is ever a problem, please call our staff and let them handle it. We believe that when you stay with us, you should be completely comfortable as you are in your own home. We hope to see you soon.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Newton

Address: 2528 Broadway, Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City, NY 10025
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #285 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Newton 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Nine-story Hotel located on the Upper West Side, convenient to Columbia University, theaters, museums & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Newton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.