We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Newton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Newton to your Saves list
Hotel Newton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2528 Broadway, Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City, NY 10025 (Upper West Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #286 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Guwahati, India
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Budget Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Hotel is very conveniently situated near the subway . That's the biggest plus point . We were returned from the Cruise at 11pm but we had no problem as the metro was close by. The rooms are not very big . It has a micro-wave and Fridge. Very clean . The only minus point was that the heating was very high and we could not adjust it despite the directions given ,so we put on the AC to counter the heat. Central Park is very close . There are a lot of eating joints nearby.

Room Tip: Do not take a room with a shared bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. In the future, if heating is ever a problem, please call our staff and let them handle it. We believe that when you stay with us, you should be completely comfortable as you are in your own home. We hope to see you soon.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    558
    165
    50
    37
See reviews for
270
321
92
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My mum stayed in this hotel with her friend during the disaster snowstorm in New York when all the planes were cancelled.

She was suppose to arrive on Friday, but her plane was cancelled and changed for Sunday, since she has already booked everything. I had to help her call the hotel and ask for consideration. Newton hotel showed high level of service, understood that it wasn't her fault for not arriving on Friday and gave her permission to arrive later, but we had to call Expedia and change the existing booking. Expedia changed my booking, called back hotel to ask for permission to do that and they even returned me money for one night I was missing! That was a nice surprise!

Hotel was old, but very clean. Our booking was with shared bathroom, but then we have arrived we asked for upgrade. We had to pay around 500$ to do that, but our room was perfect with bathroom, all the facilities, tea/coffee maker, real fridge, microwave. Everything was so clean! Internet is not free unfortunately, we had to pay 5$ a day to use it.

Location is in a close proximity to central park, many retail clothing stores and restaurants close by, very close to subway.

Room Tip: Please don't chose room with shared bath since bathroom is very small and just one room for one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your review and am so pleased that all was a success at such a trying time! We look forward to your return to us!

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We spent 4 nights here in a Junior Suite. Room was a nice size to fit us and all our bags.
Staff are very friendly and helpful and being so close to the subway was great.
Only things I didn't like was the very noisy air conditioner which made it hard for me to sleep and it took ages to get hot water for my shower. But these things wouldn't stop me from staying again as we didn't really spend much time in the hotel anyway.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Everything was great! The rooms are small but that's what we expected in Manhattan since living place as such is super expensive in NYC. The room was extremely clean and nice, equipped with everything necessary for a comfortable stay. The staff was very helpful and friendly and the area is great: right next to great restaurants and cafes, the subway by the door, but no crazy tourist crowds of midtown area. Best location, best value for the money! There is also a little place "Manhattan Diner" two doors to the left from the entrance that serves great breakfast. They are very friendly and fast, the food is great, and not at all expensive, and you meet some really nice new yorkers there. Definitely will stay there again!

Room Tip: If you don't want a shared bathroom, make sure you book a room with a private bathroom. Also rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you very soon back with us!

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stayed here while visiting my daughter at Columbia University. The location was perfect and I could easily take a pleasant walk to campus, passing many small shops and bakeries along the way. It was so easy to hop on the subway since there is a large station right in front of the hotel. In fact, it was a bit difficult to locate the hotel at first because there is only a small door on the street. You must enter and walk to the reception area at the end of the hall.

My room was quite compact but had plenty of room for the essentials and a large closet. The bathroom was not spacious but had enough room for one person. Although the hotel does not have its own breakfast, I could go to the Starbucks directly across the street (with free wifi) or to the cafe a couple of doors to the north. To me, a New York hotel is a place to sleep and the Newton serves nicely for this purpose. It was clean, quiet and the staff were nice. The surrounding neighborhood felt reasonably safe, especially during the day. There were a couple of places to get frozen yogurt/snacks within the same block.

Room Tip: Request aroom on a lower floor to use the stairs instead of the single elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My room was small (and would not have accommodated my husband and myself) but as a

single traveller was adequate. It was very clean, the facilities were as described and it was

extremely close to a very good subway network.The staff were friendly and helpful and if or

when I return to New York I will certainly try to book this hotel; value for money and ease of

access to downtown make this a number 1 choice...

Room Tip: If on your own and small I recommend Room 714. Compact, but has all facilities and is Quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This location probably survives due to the alck of competition in the Upper West Side. "Their " restaurant belongs to friends of the owner according to staff and is located 2 doors away wiht neither physical connection to the hotel or the abvilit to order a glass of wine at night. The "suite" simply isn't - it is a two bed room with an open arch into an adjacent area barely 20 meters square. It has perhaps teh slowest elevator in Manhattan - and only one of those. If location is your only issue - go around the corner. A Day's Inn related hotel is on West 94th - it has suites and betetr amenities.

Room Tip: Go high for quiet but it'll be along wait fro the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. I am very saddened hearing your review but I feel that there are some misunderstandings. We never advertise our property as having a 2 bedroom suite, in fact, the actual name of the suite is a Deluxe Jr. Suite and if you look on our website, the picture clearly shows that it is not 2 rooms. As I have mentioned in other rooms, we don't have show rooms on our website, we show you the actual rooms to avoid any misrepresentation. We want to be as honest as possible. We never advertise as having our own restaurant and always advertise as having room service from the restaurant next door to us and yes, they are friends of ours and treat our guest as such so I feel that this would be an advantage for our guests, not a disadvantage. I do wish you well in your future travels and I respect Trip Advisor as a site where we all, hotels and guests can voice our opinions of our stays and thank them for letting hotels now have the chance to comment on reviews fairly.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Newton

Address: 2528 Broadway, Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City, NY 10025
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #286 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Newton 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Nine-story Hotel located on the Upper West Side, convenient to Columbia University, theaters, museums & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Newton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.