We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Newton

Save Saved
You added Hotel Newton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Newton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2528 Broadway, Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City, NY 10025 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #283 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Whitby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Situated in Upper West Side, this hotel has restaurants and shops on the doorstep, is only a few blocks from |Central Park and is very near a subway station. The hotel has storage boxes off reception and a luggage store, The staff were very helpful. Some of the rooms are small but there is so much to do in NY that this isn't too much of a problem. We had breakfast every day at the excellent City Diner which is left down Broadway for a few blocks and across the road on a corner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and I am happy your stay was a pleasant one and I agree, City Diner is a great place to eat! We will see you soon

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    500
    149
    46
    34
See reviews for
232
283
85
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband, sister, mom and I stayed here for long weekend and family celebration. From the moment we arrived the staff made us feel at home, making every detail of the weekend easy and efficient. I wish I knew the name of the desk staffer (he seemed to be there 24 hours a day) as he was patient, friendly and helpful. Prices are reasonable for NYC. The rooms are basic, on the small side, simply furnished but clean and comfortable. It's a great location, easy to grab a taxi or jump on the subway to anywhere. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a private bath. Apparently some rooms share baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I really feel our staff sets us apart from most hotels and that is the reason we maintain a high customer service rating. We look forward to your next stay with us

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed here at the end of January with a friend on our visit to New York. Staff were very helpful as we were both on Staff (Standby) tickets and didn't arrive at the pre-booked time. We were upgraded to a Junior Suite on checkin which was perfect, plently of amenities in the room; coffee maker, fridge etc. View from our room however was of a backstreet, didn't bother us though as we were leaving early and arriving late. Only problem we had was the light switches seemed to charge us statically to the point the duvet was sparking we we got into bed. Had to resort to using magazines or gloves to switch lights on/off! All part of the fun though and had some great fun shocking each other! Staff were very knowledgeable about the attractions and when we checked out, about the cheapest way and easiest way to get to New Jersey with luggage (Cab then PATH train). Location was also great, across the road from 96th Street Station. Upper West Side is a great area, only 20 minutes of the Subway from Midtown/Times Square area and didn't once feel unsafe whilst walking around. As it's not in the centre of the tourist area's the prices are very reasonable and much cheaper than anything else we looked at. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am going to look into that static problem. I have never had it but I know with carpeting, it is sometimes an issue. We look forward to your next stay with us

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We started staying at the Hotel Newton when our daughter was a freshman at Columbia. We spend a little extra money and get a room with 2 queen beds. It worked out well if our daughter also wanted to sleep there. It is very convienent to the school and the subway stop at 96th street is on the corner, a half a block down. Mr. Morales, the hotel manager, has been there as long as we've been staying there and he is wonderful. So is Charles, who has also been there for years. We are not your typical Columbia parents, meaning we don't have a ton of disposible income, but if you look for times of the year when the prices are lower, you can't beat the Hotel Newton in price, size of room, and even though it's in the Upper West Side, convienience. We take the number 2 or 3, express train, and we are anywhere we want to go in 15 minutes. The neighborhood is way less crowded than midtown and there is a Starbucks, Dunkin Donuts, Gotham Wine Shop and a Duanne Read pharmacy, that has anything you need, all within a block away.The less expensive times of the year are as follows: January(after New Years Eve), February, March, July and August, but not in late August when the college kids are coming back, early October(not during parent weekend), and early November(except when NYC Marathon takes place). Even during times when things are going on at the school, it's still cheaper than any nice hotel in midtown or downtown.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with 2 queen beds and with windows that face Broadway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and we have so many Columbia parents that stay with us over the 4 years that their sons and daughters are in school. They really become part of our extended family! It is a sad day for us when the students finally graduate as it usually marks the end of their visits with us. We hope that you remember us when in New York!

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here in March to visit Columbia, Barnard, and other NYC colleges. Hotel Newton staff are very helpful; rooms are basic but quite comfortable, and the location really can't be beat. Away from the hubbub but very convenient to many attractions via subway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Perfect hotel for exploring new York, subway across road for getting all over Manhattan but lovely walk to midtown through central park, staff great and rooms perfect, also some nice restaurants nearby

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My family and I were very happy with the hotel and the friendly and helpful customer service we received. The Hotel Newton will be our first choice when we visit the city again. We've stayed at Lucerne, Millburn, and other hotels in Manhattan; however, the service and nicely remodeled room made the difference. The front desk staff, doormen, housekeeping staff, and everyone else in the hotel impressed us (especially after my young daughter got food poisoning after eating out and got sick -- they were compassionate and genuinely helpful). The Manhattan Diner next door has a great menu and is affordable; also, you can order takeout.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Newton

Address: 2528 Broadway, Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City, NY 10025
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #283 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Newton 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Nine-story Hotel located on the Upper West Side, convenient to Columbia University, theaters, museums & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Newton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.