We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great staff, the room was static!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Newton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Newton to your Saves list
Hotel Newton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2528 Broadway, Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City, NY 10025 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #285 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location, great staff, the room was static!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed here at the end of January with a friend on our visit to New York. Staff were very helpful as we were both on Staff (Standby) tickets and didn't arrive at the pre-booked time. We were upgraded to a Junior Suite on checkin which was perfect, plently of amenities in the room; coffee maker, fridge etc. View from our room however was of a backstreet, didn't bother us though as we were leaving early and arriving late. Only problem we had was the light switches seemed to charge us statically to the point the duvet was sparking we we got into bed. Had to resort to using magazines or gloves to switch lights on/off! All part of the fun though and had some great fun shocking each other! Staff were very knowledgeable about the attractions and when we checked out, about the cheapest way and easiest way to get to New Jersey with luggage (Cab then PATH train). Location was also great, across the road from 96th Street Station. Upper West Side is a great area, only 20 minutes of the Subway from Midtown/Times Square area and didn't once feel unsafe whilst walking around. As it's not in the centre of the tourist area's the prices are very reasonable and much cheaper than anything else we looked at. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am going to look into that static problem. I have never had it but I know with carpeting, it is sometimes an issue. We look forward to your next stay with us

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    522
    156
    47
    35
See reviews for
249
298
86
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We started staying at the Hotel Newton when our daughter was a freshman at Columbia. We spend a little extra money and get a room with 2 queen beds. It worked out well if our daughter also wanted to sleep there. It is very convienent to the school and the subway stop at 96th street is on the corner, a half a block down. Mr. Morales, the hotel manager, has been there as long as we've been staying there and he is wonderful. So is Charles, who has also been there for years. We are not your typical Columbia parents, meaning we don't have a ton of disposible income, but if you look for times of the year when the prices are lower, you can't beat the Hotel Newton in price, size of room, and even though it's in the Upper West Side, convienience. We take the number 2 or 3, express train, and we are anywhere we want to go in 15 minutes. The neighborhood is way less crowded than midtown and there is a Starbucks, Dunkin Donuts, Gotham Wine Shop and a Duanne Read pharmacy, that has anything you need, all within a block away.The less expensive times of the year are as follows: January(after New Years Eve), February, March, July and August, but not in late August when the college kids are coming back, early October(not during parent weekend), and early November(except when NYC Marathon takes place). Even during times when things are going on at the school, it's still cheaper than any nice hotel in midtown or downtown.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with 2 queen beds and with windows that face Broadway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and we have so many Columbia parents that stay with us over the 4 years that their sons and daughters are in school. They really become part of our extended family! It is a sad day for us when the students finally graduate as it usually marks the end of their visits with us. We hope that you remember us when in New York!

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here in March to visit Columbia, Barnard, and other NYC colleges. Hotel Newton staff are very helpful; rooms are basic but quite comfortable, and the location really can't be beat. Away from the hubbub but very convenient to many attractions via subway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Perfect hotel for exploring new York, subway across road for getting all over Manhattan but lovely walk to midtown through central park, staff great and rooms perfect, also some nice restaurants nearby

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My family and I were very happy with the hotel and the friendly and helpful customer service we received. The Hotel Newton will be our first choice when we visit the city again. We've stayed at Lucerne, Millburn, and other hotels in Manhattan; however, the service and nicely remodeled room made the difference. The front desk staff, doormen, housekeeping staff, and everyone else in the hotel impressed us (especially after my young daughter got food poisoning after eating out and got sick -- they were compassionate and genuinely helpful). The Manhattan Diner next door has a great menu and is affordable; also, you can order takeout.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The area is great and the cleaning is exellent. We had a small room, only possible to open the little window a bit - and the heating in the room was very high, and not possible to turn off. We asked every day if it was possible to get another room, but were told that it was the same in all rooms, as it is the hot water running through the pipes inside the rooms. A pity, as it otherwise would have been a nice hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Pleasant neighbourhood. Only a short walk to Central Park. Great location opposite a subway station which made for easy access to downtown New York. Rooms were small but functional and nicely furnished. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Newton

Address: 2528 Broadway, Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City, NY 10025
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #285 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Newton 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Nine-story Hotel located on the Upper West Side, convenient to Columbia University, theaters, museums & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Newton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.