We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Newton

Save Saved
You added Hotel Newton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Newton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2528 Broadway, Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City, NY 10025 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #285 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Huddersfield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Perfect hotel for exploring new York, subway across road for getting all over Manhattan but lovely walk to midtown through central park, staff great and rooms perfect, also some nice restaurants nearby

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    500
    149
    46
    34
See reviews for
232
283
85
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Niskayuna, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My family and I were very happy with the hotel and the friendly and helpful customer service we received. The Hotel Newton will be our first choice when we visit the city again. We've stayed at Lucerne, Millburn, and other hotels in Manhattan; however, the service and nicely remodeled room made the difference. The front desk staff, doormen, housekeeping staff, and everyone else in the hotel impressed us (especially after my young daughter got food poisoning after eating out and got sick -- they were compassionate and genuinely helpful). The Manhattan Diner next door has a great menu and is affordable; also, you can order takeout.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The area is great and the cleaning is exellent. We had a small room, only possible to open the little window a bit - and the heating in the room was very high, and not possible to turn off. We asked every day if it was possible to get another room, but were told that it was the same in all rooms, as it is the hot water running through the pipes inside the rooms. A pity, as it otherwise would have been a nice hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Pleasant neighbourhood. Only a short walk to Central Park. Great location opposite a subway station which made for easy access to downtown New York. Rooms were small but functional and nicely furnished. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manaus, AM
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Upper West Side is a cool place, some quiet and distant from Middletown and Lower Manhattan, perfect to stay, Newton Hotel is a great hotel, excellent benefit, near of 96st Station. Rooms are nice, comfortable, quiet and clean. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I am a regular visitor to NYC and pretty much already stay in midtown Manhattan. On my recent visit I decided to mix it up and stay in the Upper West side for a few days at the end of the visit. I selected this hotel due to good reviews and it was well priced. From the minute I walked to the front door and service was friendly and I was deleted to get an early checkin at around 10am. The hotel is a short walk to my favourite park in the world, Central Park and I have been been that deep up into the Park previously which was great. The subway stop is just across the road, their is a late night diner next door. The room was clean and bed comfortable. This hotel ticks all the boxes I look for.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed here because of the positive reviews posted here. Our visit was for two nights. When we pulled up to the front of the hotel, the doorman was waiting outside and cheerfully greeted us. He assisted us with our luggage, and since our room wasn't ready, he stored our luggage while we went sightseeing. Very convenient location, right next to Tasti-d-lite, the Manhattan Diner, and the express subway stop, and bus stop. We stayed in a junior suite, with two queen beds, a sitting area, two tvs, a kitchenette, a full sized bathroom with a shower. It was well worth the extra money. Some rooms share a bathroom, so be sure to ask. Since there were four people in our party, we got a rollaway cot where my teenage daughter slept comfortably. This was an additional cost. Our room on the 8th floor was very quiet, and we could not hear any outside or inside noise at all. No breakfast, but there is a Manhattan Diner two doors down. But we brought our own breakfast. Wifi isn't free, so we didn't bother, but my daughter managed to get her "fix" at the museum, where they offered free wifi. Convenient to the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the American Natural History Museum.

Room Tip: Wifi isn't free In our room, we had an iHome Be sure to ask if you are sharing a bathroom with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Newton

Address: 2528 Broadway, Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City, NY 10025
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #285 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Newton 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Nine-story Hotel located on the Upper West Side, convenient to Columbia University, theaters, museums & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Newton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.